1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. SparkyJJO

    SparkyJJO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    So none of your machines are getting work now?

    What projects are you set to work on?
     
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    do i have to add more work ion our team page?

    i just got 2 threads outta 8 running again

    and the 2nd machine finally got one

    but no signs of any more work.
     
  3. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Retry Network Communications in Advanced in the manager

    Or go to Project and hit update
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    it keeps saying "Communication deferred"
     
  5. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    it always does...I don't think they have new projects though... I'm not recieving any...
     
  6. SparkyJJO

    SparkyJJO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Well crap I'm going to have to check my boxes when I get back.
     
  7. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    My E5410 rig has more than 12 tasks remaining.
    My NAS rig has 4 extra units. It's enough for it since it's a single-core.
    My i7 920 unit has 6 extra units.

    It seems fine to me.
     
  8. Hicks

    Hicks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I run HFC, HCC, DDDT, & the clean energy & am getting work from all of them.(well not the clean eneergy right now).

    If you go into boinc, preferences, network usage & set your additional work buffer to 5 days or so you should get plenty of work & never run out.

    Now if you guys just leave boinc alone, it will straighten itself out(usually). But I would set the work buffer to 5 days. All my rigs run 10 day buffers.

    I also checked the WCG forums & there seems to be no problems right now. I will keep on eye on it.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    that did it. :eek: i have like 40 tasks now
     
  10. SparkyJJO

    SparkyJJO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I run a 3 day buffer.

    Glad it is working now.
     
  11. 123bob

    123bob Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    286 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    All my rigs have a normal amount. I run a 3 day buffer.
     
  12. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    [​IMG]
     
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I want the rest:D
     
  14. 123bob

    123bob Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    286 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    In the course of checking machines out for the above issue, I found Farm-11 to be down. Looks like a HD right now but it seems to be behaving very slowly booting a USB DVD op sys disc. Might be something more. Mem or Mobo. It's got Patriots on an MSI Neo-F....

    I'll probably blow the CMOS out after I run Memtest....

    Goes to show that you can lose HW anytime doing this....Good to have spares in the junk pile.

    Bob
     
  15. Hicks

    Hicks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  16. Hicks

    Hicks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    No you cant have any...all you want to do is(insert American Pie scene here);) :laugh:


    :p j/k
     
  17. RAMMIE New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    If you run as service it goes even when nobody is logged on.
     
  18. Hicks

    Hicks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yup! I thought I had it in my start folder...Im the only one on this rig. It has been running for 13 days w/o a reboot. Dont know why it rebooted though...need to dig into it when i get home.

    All my other rigs run it as a service...dont know why I didnt on this one.
     
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  20. RAMMIE New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    CyberDruid says thanks.
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i need to get better at this..
     
  22. RAMMIE New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
  23. 123bob

    123bob Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    286 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Fits, You're doing fine.....:toast:

    The team page you linked, the overall team rankings, shows our current, correct team rank in relation to other teams.

    The top line on the individual team stats page always seems to be behind on overall team rank. So you can keep using the overall team rankings page to report the placement of the overall team if you want. As Rammie points out, the individual team stats page does show our accurate "opportunities" list....So, we would usually be one behind the first other team listed on that page in "opportunities".

    I never noticed this page placement stats difference on DC-Stats before coming here. XS is stuck at a static 3rd place. We don't see moving for a while.

    Bob

    BTW, Farm-11 is getting a new HD as we speak....It will be back up in a bit.

    EDIT: Hehe, if this is confusing, ignore it. I'm not sure I understand what I said myself.....:eek::laugh:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  24. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    WharrrrrrGarbl
     
  25. RAMMIE New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    You should get out and about once in a while!
    It's easier to get other people interested in the projects.Look how the interest at TPU is taking off.Myself will be staying until top 100 if the other old-time members of TPU keep contributing so they can get their recognition and own subforum.Remember in the end it all goes in the same pot.
     
    Paulieg and Fitseries3 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

[Ion]

Share This Page