1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,129 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,503
    EXCELLENT!!!
    [​IMG]

    Thanks Bud :toast:
     

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Power just came back on, crunchers are powered up. :rockout:

    More snow expected in the next 24 hours. So I imagine the power won't be back for long.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Stay safe Radical_Edward. Snow can be a bitch when power goes out.
     
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    We have a fatty backup generator. We are set. Computers just don't get hooked up to it is all.
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Cool man.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. twilyth Guest

    Thinking about a 3930 cruncher to replace the i7-950. It's in the same room with the server and it's already getting steamy in there. The vents are shut off but the a/c is on.

    However I'd really like to get another dual hex core server. I got a good deal on the first set of chips - $600 for the pair - and I can't seem to find anything even close. I would probably only get the 3930 to maybe 4.2ghz but 2 2.4ghz xeons would do more work and probably pull less juice.

    I guess I keep checking ebay. But if anyone hears of a good deal, I'd be interested.
     
  7. twilyth Guest

    Looks like I got another set of chips.

    Should I go for the 5200 chipset or the 5000?
     
  8. twilyth Guest

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,221 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,818
    :laugh:

    Wish I knew more about those types of setups so I could give you some advice. I'm sure some of the other member's who have had that high end hardware will chime in tomorrow.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. twilyth Guest

    I'm just waiting for paypal to open so I can get access to my own fucking money to pay for the chips. They are pissing me off big time. Only 3.5 hours to go. Need more coffee and a shot of Bailey's. Thanks anyway though. :cool: :toast:
     
  11. Maelstrom

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    534 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    VA/PA
    Paypal is the bane of my existence...
     
  12. twilyth Guest

    Sooo . . . no advice? Come on pee-poo's . . . where's the love?
     
  13. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,656 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,132
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Can't see the pics bro, I'm at work. Will chime in later;)
     
  14. twilyth Guest

    No pics. I just need to know will I get better performance from a m/b with a 5200 chipset than a 5000 for 2 hex core xeons? The Asus board I have now has a 5000 chipset and doesn't seem to perform as well as the boards some of the other guys have. Thanks.

    I'm looking at this board - ASUS Z8PE-D12(ASMB4-IKVM) Dual LGA 1366 Intel 5520...

    edit: sorry its 5520 northbridge vs 5500 northbridge

    I have this board currently with 2 2.4ghz hex xeons - ASUS Z8NA-D6C Dual LGA 1366 Intel 5500 ATX Dual In...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2012
  15. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,129 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,503
    +1 to this- sorry twilyth your questions are way above what I know about this subject :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Not sure what but something is messed up with my main rig. I think my windows install is corrupted, it's time for a new install anyways, so that machine will be down tonight. :ohwell:
     
    Chicken Patty and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,129 (8.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,503
    That sucks- hope you get it back up and running soon.... (Norton goes to bookshelf for system backup drive :eek:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I have everything backed up thankfully. I always have a full backup of my system that's at worse 6 days old.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Don't think so. The CPU's will not perform any different than they currently do. SR2 is the only board you can see an improvement, due to the facility to OC. IMHO don't spend cash on new MB if yours doesn't have any problems.

    EDIT: Sorry, didn't read your earlier post, just saw that now. If you are going new motherboard for a new set of CPU's then go 5500 if it's just for some resale value later on. But won't make performance difference.

    So far as I can tell, it's just PCI-e lanes supported that is the big difference between the two:
    http://ark.intel.com/products/chipsets/36775
    http://ark.intel.com/products/chipsets/32423
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2012
  20. twilyth Guest

    Yeah, I haven't been able to figure out the difference. Both use DDR3-1333 and have same qpi rates. {shrug}

    Thanks.
     
  21. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,656 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,132
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    How so? In what terms?


    I have one word for you (more like 2 letters and a number)........SR-2:laugh:
     
  22. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
  23. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Ended up starting the reinstall on my main rig after all, I've been meaning to do it anyways. Using the P4 for my web browsing at the moment. Jeez, this thing slow compared to my main rig. :laugh:
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    I don't know how you can handle that!!!:laugh:
     
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I'm trying to install the os on my new cruncher but it's lets just say having issues with the one friggin disc I wanted to install the os from. Now it looks like it may run win 8 preview. Just because it's actually loading.



    And how the hell did Microsoft make it so I can get a blue screen during the initial boot from the install disc. Man they know how to screw with someone.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page