1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Thanks for the advice, I'd make it. Power consumption has become too large. Over the past month, my bill has increased by 3 times. For me it's not a problem, but the signal.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,732 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok all my crunchers + a 560TI have been moved over to F@H! the 2600K @ 4.5ghz shows its getting over 40K PPD!!! the 560TI only getting around 28K PPD
     
    Daimus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I find it funny and dissapointing that my 460 gets a lil more ppd then the 250's I use to have.
     
    Daimus says thanks.
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,961 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,787
    Mine has gone up a bit too. May run higher clocks in the Winter and use the extra power and heat to save on the heating bill :D
     
    Daimus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    ok. I tried looking up on how to oc this board. Not much luck. Theres a easytune6 program for here but for some reason it won't install. I'll try again after next reboot and see if I can get it on here. May mess with it some. I read that it does work but not as much as doing it manually through bios.

    If anyone have any exp with gigabyte and award bios. PM to guide me or point me in some direction online where I can find how to push this thing some.

    Thanks
     
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I wouldn't install easytune 6 unless you like cpu throttling. I had it installed on my x6 and every couple days the cpu would be running at 2.3 ghz. I went into the bios and static set all the peramiters and it didn't change a thing. After uninstalling Esytune everything went back to normal. I also disabled cool and quiet in the bios but easytune over rided the settings.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    If I remember right I don't think cool n quiet is on. I sure don't want throttling. Only I did was up my ram from 1333 to 1600 since my ram is stated 1600. I tried to mess with M.I.T. iirc but that didn't do anything but lockup. I know I need to make changes to other like NB but I'm not sure what all I want to mess with now in what order. I'm running a 945be so not sure how far it'll go stable.
     
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,911 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I never like to use those POS motherboard OC utilities. :p

    If you have a pain in the ass Phenom/Phenom II based motherboard that won't let you undervolt (such as my Foxconn A7DA-S), you should try out PhenomMsrTweaker. It's the only way I can run a mobile 45w Phenom II X4 X920 quad core @ 2.2GHz in my 35w laptop (replaced a PII X4 P920 1.7GHz).

    It's not an OCing program in any way. Rather, it lets you set multis, volts and P-states and can apply them at startup as well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,961 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,787
    Need to hunt around a bit in a gigabyte BIOS to find all of the settings but they should all be there but... I don't think the 945 is a BE? Check in CPUZ or the CPU part#

    Also, PII's memory controllers run better at lower latency than higher Mhz (try 1333 @ cas8 rather 1600 @ cas9)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Norton is right about the memory. You can go alot farther if you step the memory down to 1333. At 1600 there is not much if any difference on a PhII as speed goes.







    Congrats Norton you are a four star cruncher too. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Thanks. I'll step them back down at next restart.

    Here's a screenie to show all that I got. Any thought or opinions on what I can do to it. Lookin to get more out of it for crunchin.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2012
  12. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,961 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,787
    :eek: How did that get there??? Won't last long :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Did you just put that system together or reinstalled wcg on it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    This is the one that just went together this wkend. So yea wcg is new on here also.
     
  15. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Oh hell man you need to give it about a week to throttle up. All new builds for some reason need to throttle up on the crunching part. I noticed you usually hit full speed after you turn in anywhere from 100 to 150 results. Atleast thats how it's been on all my recent builds. If you notice the graph on my numbers except for today (x6 was down for 6 hrs) since the 11th my numbers have been climbing everyday and thats due to the 555 throttling up since it's build. I should be at full speed by tomorrow. It takes just about a week for the system to hit full crunching speed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Any configures I should use like on the cpu use, or anything I should adjust. I want to get the most out of it but I also use it. My other rig is maxed out and its moving along quite nicely, faster then my wife's lappy.

    whats with the stars? i don't remember. You guys got 4 and I've been sitting at 2 for a really, really long time.
     
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have my system set at 95% cpu which seems to help with heat some.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,961 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,787
    The stars are based on 7 day avg ppd. I think 4 stars is for over 7,500 ppd but I don't remember the level #'s for each star (there used to be a link in twilyth's sig that I used to use :()

    You seem to be running a little hot- probably normal if crunching/folding but I would back off on the multiplier or check your cooling.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    The cpu's under an h50. I thought that was a lil high also as air was getting me around 43c. Funny how going water adds 10c. My old cooler did have some as5 under it but I ran out on last rig so I had to dig throw old coolers and find some tim which was kinda old but got me going. I should have waited on rig but I was too darn anxious to build again lol.
     
  20. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,961 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,787
    You're not going to last long w/o proper TIM on that chip... go get some AS5 and/or back it down to at least 2.8Ghz (WCG <80% or off)

    X4 945's are C2 revisions and they run hot anyway- don't help it run hotter!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,732 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I was gonna post these pictures yesterday but got busy and forgot. Its alittle rigged up ATM but once I find a good case for it, then I will be set!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Chicken Patty and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,961 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,787
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,732 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have no other place to put them, we have two bed rooms and a sun room (which has not AC) so the living room next to my HTPC is about the best I can do for now. Also the router is here so I can hard wire each one in. I have two wireless card if I decide to use in another room. I am seeing what I get sell here soon so I can pickup that NZXT Source case for the 2600K
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I know what you can sell. the 1055t LOL
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,732 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL HAHAHA It still has some crunching to do here before I let it go.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (3 members and 2 guests)

ChristTheGreat, thebluebumblebee, james888

Share This Page