1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TRENDnet Launches First to Market 500Mbps Powerline Adapter with Bonus Outlet

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 13, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,242 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    TRENDnet, a best-in-class wired and wireless networking hardware brand, today announces the availability of the first to market 500Mbps Powerline AV Adapter Kit with Bonus Outlet, model TPL-402E2K. The kit comes with two 500 Mbps adapters that feature a built in electrical outlet and embedded power saving technology.

    The 500Mbps Powerline AV Adapter Kit with Bonus Outlet creates a secure high speed building-wide network from any electrical outlet. Consumers won't lose the use of an outlet when the adapter is plugged in -as an additional electrical socket is built into the front of the adapter. Connect one adapter to your network, and plug the second adapter into any outlet on your electrical system for instant high speed network access. Connect adapters quickly using the convenient one-touch connect button. Install up to sixteen Powerline adapters in different rooms for building-wide networking.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Green power saving technology reduces power consumption by up to 70% in standby mode-resulting in significant power savings as this product is always plugged in. Products such as coffee makers, washing machines, microwaves, vacuums, and other household appliances create electrical power spikes. An advanced electrical noise filter maintains high performance signal strength, thereby significantly boosting performance. LED displays convey device status for easy power management and troubleshooting.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The 500Mbps Powerline AV Adapter Kit with Bonus Outlet, model TPL-402E2K, comes with a three year limited warranty and is currently shipping to all online and retail partners.

    The MSRP for the TPL-402E2K is US $179.99.
  2. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    635 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    very useful but pricy
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,479 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,304
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I wonder what the "real life" bandwidth is? A review in the future would be good!
  4. WarraWarra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    268 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,159 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Wall plug is not new. However, this is the first time I see that you can still draw power off that socket.
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    My friend has powerline networking and he has to turn off nearly everything in his house to get a decent connection. Turn off a few lights and things were better.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Alv

    Alv

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
  8. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Definately agree with this... if supposedly it takes shielded twisted pairs (CAT5e, etc.) for those types of speeds then how does a single, non-shielded copper wire that is usually spliced together using twist caps capable?
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,718 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,865
    CAT5e isn't shielded. That is what the U in UTP stands for, unshielded.:toast:

    My 500Mb/s kit performs very well, slower than gigabit but faster than 100Mb/s ethernet and way faster than anything wireless.
    1c3d0g and 95Viper say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,224
    those don't have the bonus outlet though. reading comprehension and all. :rolleyes:

    500 Mbps is on the PHY layer. with the robust MAC layer you are talking around 250Mbps under the best conditions. Closer to 100-200 Mbps real world. as newtekie stated, much faster than wireless and far more reliable.
    1c3d0g and 95Viper say thanks.
  11. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Did you read the reviews on the Belkin? Horrible.
  12. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,224
    if you go with PLC you wanna stick with the models that have homplug AV specs and/or ieee 1901 standards. just fyi.
  13. wrathchild_67

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    233 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Tell him to plug the powerline adapters into a regular extension cord that is plugged directly into the power outlet. It should make a world of difference and it's a very cheap solution.
  14. Alv

    Alv

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Well, I don't know what you mean by bonus outlet, but the ones I posted have an outlet so you plug the adapter to the wall, and then you can plug anything to the adapter.

    From the product description:

    "Thanks to the integrated electrical socket, no existing power outlet goes to waste! You can connect terminal devices and even power strips directly to the adapter"

    [​IMG]
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    The overhead is not nearly 50%....

    However they work better and worse in different situations, depends on the quality of your cable, how tight the bends are, if you have static in your line, fuse type, transformer type, do you have noisy AC appliances, that's the annoying when doing anything over your power lines. These are all designed around having new premium wire in what would be considered a good and to code way of installed if they even take it that far.

    I have used them previously and they didn't fare too bad, I was able to play games over the network and it was faster than my internet connection, that's all I was worried about.

    So they have a GREAT market.
  16. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,224
    the overhead is indeed right near 50%. advertised speeds are on the PHY layer. in PLC, as in wifi, the MAC layer always cuts the bandwidth down 50%.
  17. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    In my opinion TRENDnet is putting out routers and network devices with quality that rivals Cisco, and is as good if not better than NET Gear and D-LINK, for prices that almost always put their competition to shame, I would really like to see TPU do a review of this product!
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Aw so false advertisement in the least of things.. :toast:
    Didn't think they were low enough to rate like that.

    Wont buy simply do to that fact... Probably no TRENDnet device.

    I have a serious hatred for corporations misleading the general public and getting away with it.

    I think I was thinking the TCP/IP overhead, that's far under 50%.
  19. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,224
    oh, for sure it is a bit misleading, but all companies do it, not just trendnet. if you read the fine print you will see that they always talk about "theoretical" speeds rather than real world speeds. in the real world it is almost impossible to say what speeds will be because like wifi, there are an incredible amount of variables that impact speed. your 54mbps wifi at best can get 23 mbps and you know for sure you aint hitting that speed. but still they say 54mbps. so anyway, i do think they need to be a little more upfront about it, but i dont think it will really happen. the best thing is to educate yourself.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page