1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Two Dead Motherboards

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by thee neonlightning, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. thee neonlightning

    thee neonlightning New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland , with forest wolves ...
    Today my new p5q deluxe arrived to replace my p5n-t which had recently died. What happened was over time it started crashing more and more frequently until it no longer POSTed. There were no beeps what so ever so I presumed the worst, that it died. Anyway after fitting the new motherboard I get the same problem no post whatsoever although everything spins up properly.

    DrPepper recently tested the power supply and the GPU in his pc and they worked fine and I cannot think what is wrong. I read a guide here suggesting that no beeps was the sign of a dead mobo. What do you think is wrong and what do you recommend ?
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Have you tested your memory?
  3. fenurch

    fenurch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    667 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    If it's the exactly same problem, then one of the pieces of hardware has died. If it's not PSU,GPU or motherboard then it's possibly memory or HDD (dunno how it could cause that but it's the only other piece of hardware.) And well, just check your CPU to be on the safe side.
  4. thee neonlightning

    thee neonlightning New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland , with forest wolves ...
    Tried other ram and it doesn't beep and even without ram no beep.
  5. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    It could possibly be your motherboard, but I would try it with a different CPU first. Or maybe, reset the CMOS and/or check the clear CMOS jumper and make sure it isn't set to clear. I think they ship motherboards with that jumper set to clear to conserve the battery, but I could be wrong.
  6. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    No beep can be the video card. Make sure to test another 1.
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,333 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,558
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Just a thought...you have no beeps a boot...did you connect a speaker to the four pin connector on the momma board. Just asking.

    Pull the battery and disconnect psu, reinstall after a few minutes, then connect psu and turn on.

    Got a feeling it is mem or cpu. Has to be something common to all boards.
  8. Sir_Real

    Sir_Real New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Lincoln England
    Try disconnecting everything apart from wots needed to get the mobo & gpu powered up. It maybe a cd drive or something. I once had probs with a pc crashing & shutting down turned out to be the LCD clock/CPU temp gauge. Once i unpluged the power to that prob gone !
  9. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    sounds like you have a VERY bad luck with that new board or something else died.

    could be kinda difficult to spot the problem due to you have to own various HW. but It's the only way.

    a died CPU/RAM can cause zero beeps. so you must discard your CPU/RAM/Vid Card before blaming the mobo again.

    If you OC your system there are high chances that some of that HW reaches it's lifespan.
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Ok i've tried his motherboard in my pc and it still doesn't post whatsoever. It seems like its DOA.
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Tried different CPU/RAM too?

    Either that or something is shorting and killing his mobos.
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Used my cpu and RAM and psu and gpu and HDD's

    I think its bad luck because his other mobo worked fine for a few months.
  13. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    could there possibly be a small water leak?
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Possibility with the first motherboard but impossible with the p5q because it was on an air cooler.
  15. fenurch

    fenurch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    667 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Hmm, RMA then.
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    My first thought would be some other piece of hardware caused it but
    I had 3 bad boards (one after the other) once from ASUS so its possible I guess.
    thee neonlightning says thanks.
  17. fenurch

    fenurch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    667 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Did you just RMA them all the time?

    I had a bad Asus board once and because of it I lost my 1st one as well. :cry:
  18. thee neonlightning

    thee neonlightning New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland , with forest wolves ...
    so far i look over and as Dr pepper said , i believe it to be a DOA. I made a thread about 2 weeks ago asking for help on strange developing problems with my P5NT deluxe . The sound would die at random. The internet would cut at the port and crashes on the bios were not uncommon. This lead me to buy the P5Q. tests on all devices were carried out , they were fine.

    bad luck the final solution?
  19. thee neonlightning

    thee neonlightning New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland , with forest wolves ...
    wow , i know how you feel!
  20. Dahaka

    Dahaka New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Maybe the problem is between the monitor and the chair lol.

    will you test all your parts in another pc? maybe some hardware is killing your MB.
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I put the pc together and I've never killed any of my own or anyone elses hardware. I tested most of the stuff in his pc except cpu and they all worked fine. I didn't test his cpu because mine didn't work in either of his dead mobo's.
  22. thee neonlightning

    thee neonlightning New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Scotland , with forest wolves ...
    thanks for that, makes me feel great!
  23. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I would definitely test his CPU. (but in a "extra" mobo so it dosent kill yours)
  24. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Haven't got a third motherboard between the two of us.
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Oced the Q6600 much? because they OC so well... it's so tempting isn't it? :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page