1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

upgrade help. need some advice.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ndsdocument, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. ndsdocument

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1.My computer spec: dell optiplex 390 with core i3-2100, 6gb drr3 ram, 1td hdd, asus engt440 with 1gb ddr3, 265w psu. When i play world of tanks on medium spec, i'm get very low fps, around 30-35. Is it because of my psu? Maybe gpu is not getting enough power.
    2. Can my pc handle nvidia gtx560 ti? I'll buy powerful psu if my pc can handle it.
    Pls help me.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,781 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    ndsdocument says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ndsdocument

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My case is big. It's tower. Can my motherboard handle gtx560 ti?
     
  4. ndsdocument

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Btw. Thank you for ur reply.
     
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,071
    The low framerates are because the GT440 is not adequate for gaming. Now, of course the PSU is another problem since if you would like to get a proper GPU you'll need another PSU.
    Is your Dell a MT chassis? Then it supports full height cards which is what you might need.

    As for changing the PSU, Dell, HP and other OEM manufacturers, use proprietary power supplies that look like a standard ATX power supply, however the wires in the connectors have been switched and the voltage changed. Using a power supply not specifically made for a Dell computer can cause serious damage to your computer. At least that was the case, I am not familiar with what's going on now so others might help.

    There are better cards for the price you pay than the GTX560Ti. AMD has great deals lately. If you don't choose to change your PSU, there is the HD7750 which is roughly faster more than twice compared to the GT440.
     
    ndsdocument says thanks.
  6. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Your current GPU is not being shortchanged on power. The Nvidia 440's just suck.

    Your motherboard is not a concern because any graphics card will work on a motherboard with the proper PCIe 2.0 or 3.0 slot. With a more powerful GPU however, it will be more power hungry thus the need to upgrade the power supply.

    If you are getting a GTX 560 Ti, then as brandon said, you are going to need a better PSU with more wattage output. I believe 400 W is the minimum so you want to shoot for a 450 W to 550 w unit in my opinion. The Corsair he listed is probably the best unit available under $50 for what you need.
     
    ndsdocument says thanks.
  7. ndsdocument

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you very much. Will try out and reply.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,781 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Your motherboard SHOULD fit the case I listed but dell has been known to throw BTX motherboards in some of their newer builds but If you could give us the service tag I could take a look.
     
    ndsdocument says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. ron732

    ron732

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    235 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Here is a link to the NVidia spec sheet for the GTX 560 Ti. Looks like you will need at least a 500W PSU for the card with 384 CUDA cores and 550W for the 448.

    GeForce GTX 560 Ti Specs
     
    ndsdocument says thanks.
  10. ndsdocument

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Service tag is 4pw163x. Thank you
     
  11. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    For a 560 Ti you'll want at least a 500w PSU with 31A on the 12v rail.

    If you get some narrowed down, here's a handy chart to check amperage on many PSUs. First you want to make sure your MB's ATX power connector is non proprietary.

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=205763
     
    ndsdocument says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page