1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

upgrades...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by p_o_s_pc, May 11, 2008.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    This time i am almost 100% sure i am going to upgrade...
    What i have now look in the system specs

    What i am looking to get
    GPU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102719
    RAM
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227139
    OR
    GPU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150278
    RAM
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220241
    OR
    GPU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814129101
    RAM
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211281

    I game at 1280x1024 like to have everything maxed out. I WILL be overclocking.I am mostly after high benchmark scores (3dmark 01,03,05,06 etc) and fast Super PI and Wprime times.I also like smooth game play 30+FPS is always nice to me... as you can tell i don't have to have the highest FPS. Feel free to mix the different things and to recommend other things but try to keep it as close to $200 as you can. Thanks :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    GPU: Get a used 3870 once the 4870s come out. You'll be able to get one for probably $110-130.

    RAM: I've heard good things about Patriot. Haven't tried them myself. OCZ is quality stuff, but the chips they use usually don't OC that well. A-DATA, eh...haven't heard a whole lot about them. For an overclocking kit of 2x1GB DDR2, I would recommend:


    Good luck! :toast:
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I forgot that i don't want anything used. I want all new.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Ah, well that changes things...

    I'd pay the extra $10 and get this 3870:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814103050

    The single slot cooling on a few cards you listed makes me nervous. This cooler is also very quiet, although it neglects to contact one of the RAM chips, yet it will still do a much better job cooling your entire card versus a single slot cooler.

    Like I said earlier, once the 4870s are out, these should drop even further in price.
     
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Well, I had some of the patriot ram before and it didn't like volts at all, I killed the stick. I would go with the first set, the 3870 is a great card and the ram is good too.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    how much volts did you put into the ram?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    2.2V and poof. It's sad too because they were rated for 2.4.
     
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thanks... I don't think i will be getting them then. If they can't even take the voltage they are rated for..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    One thing I will say about OCZ, is that their RMA process is great. I had one of my two sticks of OCZ Gold DDR give me errors in memtest, I sent them both back and they send me brand new ones without a hassle. It was a very pleasant RMA process.
     
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    set 1 fo sho
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    My patriot ram can actually go a little above what its rated for, around 2.25 or so before it fails to post. Only $20 a stick now on newegg (I added over time). Solid as a rock, but its value ram, so I can't get it much higher than 900mhz stable. I would go w/ some of the g.skills they got on newegg, but I think any of those would do ya good.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page