1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading a month old PC?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by WaXT, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Is it necessary? :laugh: I just bought this thing and it is a Li'l beast indeed. Everygame I slap on it can run smooth @high settings (some can run @maxed):rockout:. And I'm not quite contented with my mid-range card(well, maybe 97% contented).

    BUT....if you would suggest me to upgrade ANYTHING in my rig, what would it be? (and what would I upgrade it to) :)

    See my specs.
    Card OCed to 930MHz / 1330MHz
    CPU not OCed (but as soon as I get my h70 I will overclock it to 4.2GHz)
     
  2. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    909 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    nothing needed yet if all your games are working fine
     
  3. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Fast reply. But it takes like 7 seconds to start a game and load some software. While it takes less than a second after I bought it that night.
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Pickup an ssd maybe? A dedicated sound card? Blu ray burner? I see you are on a 15" Lcd, so new monitor maybe?
     
    WaXT says thanks.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    i would suggest monitor and the second 5770, for potential upgrades.


    as for game loading times, that stuff varies so much... could just be extra programs running, fragmentation, etc.

    I run all my games off a dedicated hard drive, so i rarely have loading issues.
     
    WaXT says thanks.
  6. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    What is a solid state drive? and what does it do? (lol sorry:eek::shadedshu)

    What sound card do you recommend? (I also have been wanting a good sound card)

    for what is the blu ray burner?

    And yes, I was planning for a monitor upgrade, but I don't think it is going to work out with the card. as I have said, I can run all smooth @high settings, by that, I get 40+fps. So I thought if I upgrade my monitor to let's say a 20" , it would increase the games resolution, which then also increases the activity of the card. and I bet it would be 30fps+ if I switch to 20. So I would upgrade card first, then monitor. :D
     
  7. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Fargmentation, maybe. but extra programs running, idk. I mean I have 6GB RAM and should be fast enough. How do you defrag a disk? Besides Window's defragment tool.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    by using third party defrag programs.

    6GB of ram means squat, if the programs are accesing your HD.

    Hard drives can only really do one thing at a time (they just do them relatively fast), so multiple programs doing multiple things at once is bound to slow things down.
     
  9. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Well I am not a multitasker, I only always run 2 programs at a time. A browser and a game. Except now, I'm not playing a game.
     
  10. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    What does an SSD do ??
     
  11. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    i wouldnt do crossfire on that gd55
     
  12. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    It's a hard drive, just with no moving parts. They're noticeably faster and run much cooler, but have crappy capacity (atm) and are expensive.

    OT: Get a new monitor, 15" makes me sadface.
     
    WaXT says thanks.
  13. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Why not?
     
  14. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
  15. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    I think so too. If I get more room space here, I would buy atleast a 20" :p
     
  16. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    it has 2 x PCIex16 slots
    wait, I'm sorry what does that mean then? (2.0 16 & 1.0 4)
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    that they arent 16x slots, ones 16x and ones 4x
     
  18. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    929 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I think a SSD would be a nice upgrade, and definitely a new & bigger LCD (at least a 22")... Cheers
     
    WaXT says thanks.
  19. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    but it says in the box it has 2 x PCI E 16x slots

    and on the brochure i bought it can crossfire (sorry guys but i don't get it.. :/) what's the diff?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    they fit a 16x card, but they arent wired up electrically for 16x worth of badnwdith.

    it can do crossfire, but as stated, that second slot has 1/4 the bandwidth it should, for full performance.
     
  21. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    the second slot perform 1/4 of the bandwidth? So it is a fail?
     
  22. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    So doing a crossfire would be senseless on my board?
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    please use the edit button, instead of making more posts.

    and yes, 4 is a quarter of 16, so its got less bandwidth. crossfire will work, just not to its maximum benefit.

    While conventional wisdom says its a bad idea to run crossfire in such a situation, i've done it before and will say that you WILL be fine with 5770's - anything faster however, would not be worth it.
     
    WaXT says thanks.
  24. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Thanks! So I would not crossfire it, but I would upgrade my card to something better. Another question, can I use NVIDIA card for this board? Because I currently am using ATI. Just wondering.
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    yes. nvidia cards will run fine (just not in SLI)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page