1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Urgent HELP - Powercolor 4850 Not posting, cooler not spinning, one red light ON.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Tkult, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!

    I have a huge problem.

    My powercolor HD4850 has this problems:


    First time i plugged the card, there was some kind of little smoke at the end of the card where is the power cable connector, somewhere there, fan was spinning all fine, i turned the PC off.

    The PSU was a thermaltake 750W , tried other cards and works perfect... so isnt the PSU.

    But now:

    - No smoke or anything else similar
    - Doesnt Post, no image at all.
    - Fan doesnt spin
    - The D1601 light Stays ON, the other doesnt.
    - I touch the card and isnt hot at all, it is like is not doing anything just the led diode is on.


    Ok, now what i did to figure this out... i researched, and the D1601 light means overheating protection, so that is why the card just doesnt turns ¨on¨ , and there is no heat at all, even with fan no spining. The card just protects itself from being turned on.


    So what i did, is trying to get the card really cold at my freezer, using the anti static bag that cames with it, of course, like 10 minutes at freezer.

    Ok, later i plugged the card, and the red D1601 light wasnt on anymore, just the 2 lights came on for like a second, like at every not faulty 4850.

    I touched the part where the voltage regulators are, and it was very very hot!!!, not the same case when the D1601 led stays on, that is COLD.

    But the fan wasnt spinning either, and no signal.


    What happens here?

    Is there any way to fix this, i know ppl from my place that repairs Vga´s , motherboards, at electric stage, like replacing transistors, capacitors, voltage regulators, etc.

    I hope they can fix this, i dont know what the error is, i guessed one of the voltage regulators is dead, and thats why the overheating?


    Maybe some of you knows more about this kind of errors... thanks!!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2009
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  3. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no it never booted cuz the first time i got that little smoke, but the cooler was spinning, and everything fine (not the smoke lol)

    Now like i said is like the card is being protected from some kind of overheating, maybe at the voltage regulators, i guessed if i replace them with new ones, the card should work?

    There is NO signals of something burned on the PCB... not even one capacitor, anything...


    Why it didnt turn on the D1601 red light, when was cold? that is the weird thing...
     
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    So you have never had it booted, but when it did it smoked?

    I'd say it was DOA, and time for RMA :ohwell:
     
  5. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What is DOA? no chance of repairs at electric stage? guessing is the voltage regulators?

    I have no warranty :|

    It never booted cuz it had that litle smoke, first time the card was plugged in. Is a new card, actually i dont know if it booted or not cuz i turned the PC off right away.

    Now there is no smoke.
     
  6. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If a card is DEAD, that red diode shouldnt be on, nothing will work i guess... when is cold, the diode isnt on, something is happening, why the fan isnt spinning i have no idea either.
     
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    DOA = Dead on Arrival
    So either faulty from manufacture or damaged in transit.

    If its new you should have a warranty?
     
  8. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh, well, wasnt dead first time, cooler was spinning all fine like i said, i just got that little smoke, and turned the PC off.

    later no smoke at all, red diode turned on... the protection from overheating system of the card.

    When is cold , diode doesnt turns on, it stays off, like at every no faulty card.

    But fan isnt spinning !!! why fan doesnt works?

    Maybe is my Power Cord connector? that doesnt ¨FIT¨

    What happens if i dont plug the power connector? Fan spins or not?
     
  9. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    forgot to mention, i dont have warranty or RMA here in my country for it, i dont have anything for use it as warranty, i only have the card :S

    thats why i want to know if it is possible to repair this kind of problems, at electric stage, a technician?
     
  10. AliRaza

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    just go to the shop and tell them wtf is this it doesnt work... bt frst check it on any other pc it may wrk.. second check ur psu wrings maybe 1 of them got burnt of so might not be supplying power to all six or eight pins tht u have.... hope this helps
     
  11. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, that why im wondering what happens when you dont plug the power cable at this powercolor 4850...

    fan spins with no power cable 6 pin?

    the diode stays on like this?

    Dunno
     
  12. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    What are your system specs?

    Can your PSU handle it?
     
  13. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The psu is a thermal take 750W , yes it can handle it lol...

    isnt the psu, it works with any other card...

    maybe is the card PCIE connector? no one knows what happens when you dont plug the power connector at these powercolor 4850 reference?

    I dont have any warning either at monitor screen about pluggin the power cable, that i remember it happened with some other cards when i forgot to plug it.


    My hopes are 2:

    It is the power connector, i guess easy to repair

    or

    It is some voltage regulator, guess it can be replaced too by technician...
     
  14. AliRaza

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    just try ur card out first with some other pc and hopeit works cuz if it dont and the person dosent take it back frm whr u bought it then thts allota money dwn the drain...Anyway whr u frm?
     
  15. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im from argentina, i tested the card at other system, same thing happens.

    Hope some technician can fix this... the motherboards sometimes have this problems and they can repair them, motherboards and Vga´s are similar i guess at electric stages.

    Still no one knows what happens with no power 6pin cable plugged lol, if fan doesnt spins, could be the power connector.

    When it was really cold (freezer part), the diode wasnt on, the voltage regulator section was hot, so it was ON... card isnt dead i guess, is some error.
     
  16. AliRaza

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    well then shud go to the store whr u bought it frm and tell him to take it bak or fix it... by the way how come it does not come with the freakin warranty? i dnt get it
     
  17. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hehe, cuz i bought it from a guy that sells hardware, as a RMA videocard, dunno why he doesnt offer warranty, i bought it cheap, guessing it can be fixed someway... a technician costs me only 25 bux for any repairs done to the card, so if it can be repaired, it is cheap vga :D
     
  18. AliRaza

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    hmm ur luc well then go get it fixed
     
  19. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,863 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Hmm maybe that card was broke from the time he sold it to you? Do you have a receipt or proof of purchase from him?

    Well I don't ever buy something from a person who doesn't offer any kind of warranty unless I really know that person or trust him.
     
  20. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i know the guy, the card wasnt broke, it was a RMA card, hehe, it was returned cuz this happened to the guy that first time bought it...

    i bought it from the guy that sold it, because im hoping a technician can fix it, cuz isnt dead, there is somekind of electric problem i guess...

    voltage regulators , power connector, those can be repaired and replaced easily...


    If is some other problem, like GPU is DEAD, well that case cant do anything, but cant be that!!!! (i hope)



    Still no one knows what happens when power cable isnt plugged in??? fan spins?
     
  21. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,863 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Sorry if I don't understand you clearly but, you bought the card from a guy whom RMA'd it already? And it did not work for him?

    Did the card work out for the guy who sold you this, after he had RMA'd it?

    Sorry if I didn't clearly understood you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2009
  22. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok,

    lets say u know a guy that sells hardware.

    That guy sold this card to some customer, that customer returned it to the guy, explaining the problems... little smoke, etc.

    I bought it from this guy to see if something can be repaired...

    Dunno why fan isnt spinning either, that is why i ask what happens to these cards when power cable isnt plugged...
     
  23. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,863 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Well then the card is broken, reading that the previous guy who used it had a lil smoke problem, something burnt. Did you check the card to see some marks of any kind? I'm sorry am not able to help further in figuring this one out. As I see it the card is probably broken anyway. We'll see what others have to say. Sorry mon.

    Btw, have you and the person you got it from tested it out on his shop/place?
     
  24. Tkult New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well, i dont see anything burned, thats the weird thing!

    I guess is something that is not working correctly , the voltage regulators, the power connector, cuz if a card is dead, i guess wont even turn the red diode, and when is cold why it isnt on?

    Fan doesnt spins, other thing can be the problem too, the fan connector? if are those, a technician repairs it, like in less than an hour...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page