1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Using 333 Mhz and 400 Mhz DDR ram together

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by funnycide, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. funnycide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am thinking of upgrading the memory on my Dell PC running Windows XP. Currently it has a 256 MB DDR ram with 333 MHz clock speed. I am wondering if the additional memory I purchase has to be 333 MHz itself. Will I be able to use a 400 MHz DDR ram along side with the 333 MHz DDR ram?

    Funnycide
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    you can run both but the ddr400 will run as ddr333 you have to make sure that the DDR333 is in mem slot one though otherwise it wont boot
     
  3. funnycide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Good info!! Thanks you!!
     
  4. Artik2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Try adjusting a little the latencies... you will recover some performance there ;)
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    u can use ddr400 with your 333 stick, itll just default to your slower modules speed. before buying check to make sure your dell has memory timing options in its bios, that way you can adjust timings as needed to get the 333 and 400mhz stick playing nice together.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page