• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Using Toshiba high end TV as computer monitor via HDMI?

Hermes

I don't like little screens. I am totally fed up with my iphone5 and even my 7.7 inche Samsung tablet. Then one day someone told me I could hook up my devices to a TV and enjoy a non-miniature viewing world. I was blown away with the comfort and visibility. Why would anyone not want this as an alternative? Well, I quickly learned who - me, as an author I don't want to have to move my eyes an epic distance when checking my typing. Movies or youtube are something diffferent than creating content. I don't know if I will even be able to create Word Press content with this system. But, anyway...

My plan is to use a good 40" TV set up on the wall less than 2 meters (7 feet) in front of me and give my aging eyes a rest. I have a 5 year old laptop (SONY Vaio) that I will replace soon with a SSD one. In my limited experience I have had only success using a device (iphone) with a TV connected by HDMI.

Yet I read warnings that there could be problems. Whaat problems? Isn't all I have to do is show up at the second-hand dealer's with my laptop, plug it in with my HDMI and see if it works?

The model is 3-4 years old I am told:
40PU200em
LED

I don't know if it has the fancy USB featurebout in its reviews and specs. Doing my due diligence now in preparation to going back to the shop. Price is USD128. I am in small town Malaysia

When the dealer set it up with his source it looked pretty darned good to me.

My only hesitation is the huge amount of sideways real estate and whether I would be paying for space I can't use. I mean it seems really distorted shape for a TV. Movies aren't that ratio are they? Youtube isn't. Why would anyone want such a strange ratio?