1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Using TV speakers with a PC

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hat, May 24, 2010.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    My mom's, er... friend... is planning on getting a TV and hooking it up to his computer. It will essentially be a big monitor for his computer. He wants to use the stereo setup he already has hooked up to his TV (using the composite red/white hookup) with this setup. I don't know how to go about doing this... suggestions?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Let your "friend" know to look for a TV with VGA and 2.5mm Audio In.
     
    hat says thanks.
  3. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    If he has a stereo connected to the TV why bother using the TV speaker's at all? i would use the stereo for the PC audio and the display as a display...

    Easiest thing is i think is with HDMI out from GFX to HDMI in on the diaplay
     
    hat says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,191
    Does the TV have a HDMI input?
     
    hat says thanks.
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    He wants HDMI, not VGA.

    He's trying to use a stereo set (composite red/white) with the compurter.

    He doesn't have the TV yet. He wouldn't be trying to use the speakers built in to the tv, but the stereo set he already has.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,191
    HDMI from the graphics card to the TV, then the composite cables from the audio out on the TV to the stereo. Simple as that.
     
    hat says thanks.
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    What receiver is he using and what are his audio out's on the PC?
     
    hat says thanks.
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    What if the HDMI channel doesn't have audio inputs on that same channel?

    No idea, to be honest. He's got a sound blaster live card and some onboard audio, that's all I know.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,191
    How would that be? HDMI is a standard that carries the signal.
     
    hat says thanks.
  10. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    This is probably the easiest solution based on what we know.

    Of course if he has an older card he can do the Svideo out or TVout i think? IIRC TVout is over component RGB? I could be wrong....

    He could then pass the audio to the receiver via RCA's
     
  11. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Being that HDMI carries both audio and video, chances are that the TV will not have the option to have separate video and audio inputs. You will have to go through a receiver. And a receiver with HDMI processing is $$$.

    Depends if the video card injects audio in the HDMI line. Older Nvidia had a cable the connects the spdif headers to the video card. Older ATI had a built-in sound card.
     
    hat says thanks.
  12. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Gah this is all so confusing to me :banghead:

    I've never done anything like this before
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    817 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    You will get it figured out, don't worry about it. Once you have the equipment and connections in front of you it will make a lot more sense. Erocker was exactly right about what you need to do.
     
    hat says thanks.
  15. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Jack out > RCA in. Single cable.

    [​IMG]

    It's very simple.
     
    hat says thanks.
  16. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    It would be much easier if we know what TV model and what video card your friend has.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page