1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Velociraptor Raid 0 results!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by kwikgta, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Just installed four 500gig raptors in raid 0 into my rig. I'm very impressed with the outcome.

    Attached Files:

    adulaamin says thanks.
  2. anonymous6366

    anonymous6366

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Damn son haha
  3. Xenturion

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    *In Before the Ragers Arrive*

    In all seriousness, I always wanted to do something similar. Very cool.
  4. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,757 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    892
    Nice speeds. Kinda odd your cpu usuage is so low, but still cool.

    Keep a fan on those raptors they get hot.
  5. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    I used four 36gb raptors in raid 0 a few years back for an os drive, and while they were quite hot/loud, i loved them.

    You have a way better setup, with all the goods and almost none of the cons!
  6. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks a lot guys. I'm just not into the whole SSD thing as far as size/cost and I wanted to be different. I do have a 140mm fan blowing across the drives. I may pick up 2 more velociraptors and run all 6 in raid just for shits and giggles. I will also say they are a lot quieter than the old raptors I had years ago.
  7. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I wonder how fast the array would run on an Intel controller or a dedicated enterprise level card. If I remember correctly, a RAID 5 build I did with an Areca 1210 and 4x 500GB WD Blacks did around 340 max/180 min MB/s. Looks like your setup pretty much doubled those.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Why not use the money on the 2 more you want to buy for a SSD for the OS and use the 2 you have in raid for data storage. The access times on SSd's are much faster along with the iops.
  9. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Your setup is cool, and while i did enjoyed mine in the days, try to put it in front of ssd doesn't make much sense. Unless you factor in $/gb, the ssd will run circles around any hard drive, even if you raid many of them. I was not really into it until last year, the 70$ vertex 2 50gb i bought back then just blew me away.

    If you try a sata 3 ssd, you will never come back to raid for os drive.
  10. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    I want to do something like that but with 300GB VelociRaptors and in RAID10
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,362
    i'd have to agree with the SSD side of the fence here. yes you get less storage space, but at least you're not not limited by having all the drives operating as one.


    sure you've got medium-speed and decent capacity... but try doing two file transfers at once and it'll choke like any mechanical drive setup. it cant multitask.
  12. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I've been thinking the same thing, but truth is that I don't know anything about them as far as which one to get.
  13. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,309 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    AZ
    yeah atm 2 of these in raid 0 would be cheaper and faster overall.

    Mushkin Enhanced Callisto Deluxe MKNSSDCL480GB-DX ...

    half the capacity sure, but more consistent speed across the board.

    the egg lists the 500gb vraptors at 150 a piece, so 600$ for 4.
  14. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I bought them fron a vendor on ebay for $105 each.
  15. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Very nice. A good amount of space and performance considering what you paid for them.


    On PCH, I'd guess another ~100MB/s.
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    1 drive fails, your done. All the money your spending would get you a beefy SSD with faster access time. Just sayin.
    EarthDog says thanks.
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Nothing wrong with a little raid action I had 4 36GB raptors in raid 0 back in the day and currently rock a pair of 32GB SSD's in raid 0. As long as it works it works. Keep the stuff backed up in case a drive croaks and your good, RMA and reimage.

    Instead of getting 2 more drives however I would be getting a stand alone raid card, because AMD's raid sucks speaking from experience.
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Someone posted on YouTube some time back a raid 0 setup with multiple SSDs, something like 10 of them I think. Damn that thing was fast! Booting Windows 7 was near instantaneous and the benchmarks were off the scale.
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    windows 7 was booting instantly with my pair of SSD's in raid.
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,132 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Nice! But a single two year old SSD will beat that! :eek: :D
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
  21. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    So by that logic 1 drive fail on a SSD, your done as well.. Correct? How much does a 2TB SSD cost? ;)

    Not by size.. ;)

    Now, I'm not saying he wouldn't be better off with a SSD, but how is he going to fit all of his games on a SSD if he's like say cadaveca.. Dave's got a lot of games and maybe this guy does as well. Let's tell him how he can get around limited space on a SSD. He could buy a 2TB drive and a 120 to 240gb SSD and use SteamMover to push games he's playing now to the SSD for those faster load times. :toast: You guys offered good suggestions, but failed to see the reason in having a 4x 500gb RAID0 array, which would be speed and space not just speed. :toast: His RAID0 Array is a nice setup, but once they die then I would grab a SSD and a beefy drive. :toast:

    EDIT: Here is one of my SSD's speeds, but only 25% of your space.. lol
    OCZ 240GB RevoDrive3 x2

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    If one drive fails, I am not done. In addition to the raid 0 array that I have my operating system on, I also 6 tb's of external storeage, thus I have backups and backups for the backups. I am going to add 2 more velociraptors to the array for a total of 6. The money is well spent as I have 3 teenagers with computers I built for them, so If and when I decide to go SSD, the kids will get 2 velociraptors each for their computers, installed in raid 0. Look I know that SSD's are the latest and greatest, but I'm just having fun by daring to be different. To each his own.:)
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
  23. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,132 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    LOL at those results... that thing needs some work as you are ramping up REALLY slow. Wow. I mean my four year old OCZ Summit was faster that that on the low end, something is wrong there for sure.

    Normal speeds: http://www.funkykit.com/component/c...3-x2-240gb-pcie-ssd.html?device=xhtml&start=5

    As you can see your .5-8k are BRUTALLY slow...with the rest very slow.



    I get the point of space... and he is right, to each their own. That said, I would have bought a couple of 60GB SSD's and used intel's caching as that would still be faster than a pair of raptors, perhaps 3 even for the specific loads you mention.
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
    Aquinus and Mindweaver say thanks.
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I like my 2x 120GB Corsair Force GTs in RAID-0. They serve me pretty well.
    [​IMG]
  25. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Aww.. Yea, I had WCG running 100%.. I turned it off and here you go.. ;) A little better. :toast:

    [​IMG]

    Still I think this guys got a solid setup and good speeds with a lot of space. :toast:

    EDIT: and I had some Other stuff writing to the drive as well.... lol
    kwikgta says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page