1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VMWare help; bridged networking

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Hybrid_theory, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    I have a SuSE host built on an IBM chassis. It has a bond interface for failover. It has an IP address of 10.10.138.196. SM 255.255.255.128. DG 10.10.138.129. I can ping this machine no problem. On this I have a virtual machine of SuSE. It has the same mask and gateway with an IP of 10.10.138.197. It can ping the host (196) and the host can ping it. However, it cannot ping the default gateway .129. It recieves an unreachable message from it's own virtual interface. I have setup bridged networking from the start with no luck.

    I tried changing the DG on the guest to .196. I setup default routes, and specific routes to 10.10.138.129 on both the guest and the host with no luck. I have spoken to some collegues and they're not sure either. I need this available so it can be used for a variety of apps.

    I posted on Vmware forums, no useful assistance yet. THought I'd try my favourite boards.
  2. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    sounds like an NAT issue, like the router to modem thingy about getting to the modem interface. if thats the case then i think youd need to make a second bridge
  3. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    It's not supposed to use NAT, there is a NAT mode. I use that and I can communicate with a gateway. But then I can't reach the VM from the outside.
  4. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    to bridge between the client and host it should need to have a NAT somewhere right?
  5. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    I'm not sure the exact details into how bridged works. For NAT or Host Only Mode, It creates a virtual NIC for your virtual machines to connect to. In Bridged it tries to go right to the physical NIC so the machine can be usable on the network.
  6. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    You're right. Bridge assigns another IP on the host's adapter for each VM.

    Unfortunately I've only worked with Server on Windows hosts and ESXi (no host, just hypervisor) so I'm not going to be much help here. Can only guess and say, check your host settings? Perhaps it's blocking in/out traffic on that IP? (which is why you only get local pings).

    My Windows host's also have bonded NIC's, so I don't think that's the case. Though, my experience with linux is limited, so I can't say for sure.
  7. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    someone on the vmware forums ended up knowing what was wrong after looking at some output. I had the default setting for what nic to use for the bridged network which was eth0. It needed to be bond0.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page