1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water Cooling, Loop and power advice needed!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Israar, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    481 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Hey, as some of you may know I've been wanting to water cool my system for a while now, I'm finally ordering my parts bit by bit, but I have a loop in mind and a slight power problem in my mind that needs clearing up hehe!

    Right, lets start with the loop, my idea for the loop is to go like this;

    PUMP >> RADIATOR >> CPU BLOCK >> RADIATOR >> GPU BLOCK >> RADIATOR >> RESERVOIR >> PUMP

    To make things clear there, I start with the pump Swiftech MCP655 12v DC Pump, from there I go to my first of three radiators Black Ice Xtreme III Triple 120mm Radiator into the CPU Block Copper TDX Block for Athlon64 754/939/940. From here I travel to the second of three radiators Black Ice Xtreme II Dual 120mm Radiator to the GPU Block Danger Den Acetal MAZE4 GPU. After exiting the GPU block we are then taken to the last of the three radiators Black Ice Xtreme 120mm Radiator then heading off finally to my reservoir D-TEK Bay-Reservoir- Dual 5 1/4"- Clear. Then as you gathered, we go back to the start with my pump!

    Quite a long trip I know, but, it gets the water cooled quite efficiently doesn't it?

    Other things that will be included with the loop rig, is a seperate tower case to hold my radiators, pump, etc... Hose Clamps (Jubilee clips), Tygon Tubing (1/2" ID and 11/16" OD), 6 Delta 120x38mm TFB1212GHE Extreme High Speed (220 CFM).

    Now I'd like an opinion or two if not more on my loop idea ;)

    As for the power problem, I am wondering if there is a program/application that tells you the current consumption of your PSU in your computer and how much is free to use, if not, would my single PSU in my system run my current computer setup AS WELL as the new water cooling loop I am going to implement in my system? If not, am I able to use a seperate PSU to run the water cooling on it's own supply and keep my current PSU in my system untouched by the water cooling setup? If in this case, would I need a motherboard to get the PSU working the water cooling loop or not? If not, would I need to mod the new PSU in some way to make it run the loop and if so how and what would I do to go about it?

    I hope this is all good enough and enough information for you lot to evaluate and respond as I really want to know as much as possible while doing this, so I can benefit from the learning curve as I'm a rank newbie in water cooling :p

    Thanks for your time, have a good day!

    --Lee
     
  2. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    First, in my opinion there's absolutely no need of three(oh my god)......radiators. You won't drop the temps much, just think for a second: you have a room temperature at about ~20-25'C the loop won't run cooler then 20'C even if you have 3 radiators. I won't mention the other factors. 3 radiators means lots of water in your loop......that doesn't mean necessary better perfomance. Third, the water cooling system is quite solution, if you hear 65.0 dBA fan x 6 at full speeds.....oh god, you'll need a separate room for your water sig. I have to say that one 3x120 extreme black ice is enough for an excellent water system(even if you use GPU and chipset water blocks).

    Here's online PSU calculator that can tell you the current consumption of your components. You haven't mention what PSU do you have? Common water coolings(as yours) won't need second PSU to work. If you have second power supply you'll complicate all the system, now you'll have to think how to power on the 2 PSU's at the same time and turn them off. Why do you need second PSU when there're 220V pumps. ;)
     
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    well the loop seems kinda long with that radiator in the middle but it shouldnt be a problem if your pump can push it through fast...but with your graphics card and that processor the radiator in the middle isnt a bad idea....you do have a good fan on each radiator right like a 120mm? as for the psu it should be fine the biggest problem would be the pump but i do beleive those plug into an outlet anyway not your psu soo actually tahts pretty good as long as your pump can push the water at a good rate through those radiators or else youll have slow/sitting water on those blocks=bad.....and as long as theirs a good fan on those radiators i dont see a problem with that set up.
     
  4. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    theres things called "in-line radiators" go get some
     
  5. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    481 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Cheers for the input, lol, I was thinking of three so that the overall temperatures don't rise too much for when it goes into the reservoir at the end, and my room temp is usually about 25-30C sometimes higher.

    Also, checked that PSU consumption thing, and it said about 398W, I have a 525W Hyper Type-R, you can check my PSU in the system specs in my profile to the left :p

    For the noise, it doesn't bother me... I can just null it out, easy really.

    Was thinking about the second PSU, as you allowed me to have the link to check my consumption I doubt I'd need it, and I was basically asking about the 2nd PSU because I didn't know whether it would be better having a seperate PSU to run the water cooling itself 24/7 than have it ran off one in use, but doesn't matter :)

    I know the specs of the MCP655 here:

    Max Discharge: ~317 GPH (1200 LPH)
    Connection Size: 1/2" Barbs
    Max Pressure: 50 PSI (3.5 BAR)
    Temps range: 32F to 140F (0C to 60C)
    Impeller Housing material: Noryl (R) -- This is Nylon if I'm right.

    So, you think it's powerful enough to pump it around the whole 3 radiators or not, as I am getting a price on the next two rads, more tubing, the pump and some more hose clamps, so if I REALLY don't need the two radiators then I may not order them and change the order, if not I'll not order the single and just order the double rad and have it after the CPU and GPU :)

    --Lee
     
  6. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    481 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    ???

    The way I was thinking about it was to split the rads so it cools the overall flow, by rights it should keep the loop cooler having rads before and after the "hot spots" (CPU and GPU), rather than have in-line rads before the "hot-spots".

    --Lee
     
  7. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page