1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

water cooling, single loop, double pump

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by shadapar, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. shadapar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    grand rapids, mi
    Basically just that: water cooling, single loop, double pump. it'll work, but will it work right?

    (and why I want to do it this way is hard to explain, I'm modding the heck out of an older server case, and basically I have a giant reservoir and no space for a second reservoir in a separate loop, unless I rethink how the entire build will look)

    Basically I'm envisioning the flow going one of two ways:

    #1) reservoir, pump#1, radiator #1 (3x120mm), CPU block, pump#2, radiator #2 (2x120mm), gpus, reservoir

    #2)reservoir, pump#1, radiator #1 (3x120mm), CPU block, radiator, gpus, pump#2 (2x120mm), reservoir

    radiator #1 has to be mounted at the top of the case, above the reservoir, I'm planning on putting radiator #2 toward the front of the lower section.

    pics may help explain.

    the original
    http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/ind...ndID=9889174&albumID=2649450&imageID=60386426
    circa 2001, 1.3Ghz athlon with early danger den cooling kit.

    this should give a rough idea of over all case size
    http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/ind...ndID=9889174&albumID=2649450&imageID=60386110

    new reservoir
    http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/ind...ndID=9889174&albumID=2649450&imageID=60386367

    rough fitting (LOTS of work yet to do)
    http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/ind...ndID=9889174&albumID=2649450&imageID=60386394

    I had intended to stack two but if I do the radiator won't fit.
    http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/ind...ndID=9889174&albumID=2649450&imageID=60386403

    Thoughts on the cooling loop for best effect without redoing the design to much? for example I don't want the reservoirs or radiators externally mounted. Also has anyone tried cooling coils in water cooling setups yet? and if yes, how'd they work?

    input much appreciated.
  2. aspire

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    289 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    As long as both pumps are identical your fine.

    If they are different, don't use both in a single loop.

    You could always go the route of a t-line with a dual loop setup if you don't have room for a second reservoir.
  3. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,946 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Whats the point of doing a single loop. Why not just do two loops, one for the cpu and one for the gpus. Seems like it would be less of a hassle.
  4. shadapar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    grand rapids, mi
    sweet aspire, looks like you're using the swifttech pumps i've had my eye on too. I've also been looking at the aquastream pumps as well, I thought the USB interface would be sweet. also, thanks for the advice on the T loop, I had that thought, but wasn't sure the reservoir could feed both through a single line.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page