1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Watercooling loop order Mini ITX?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Live OR Die, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Hey

    This is my 1st loop I've done before and would like some feed back on the way im looking at setting up my loop thanks.

    Heres my 1st layout the will there be any problem running the loop though the GPU 1st rather than the CPU doing it this way just make it easier for the tubing.

    [​IMG]
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,483 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    could get a pump res combo to eliminate some of that tubing, and at that point you could rotate the rad so the fittings are above the pump/res.

    sorry for the mess of this image, but I edited the loop in green if you went with the combo...
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  3. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    I did have a look at a few of the combo units but i have really limited space below the GPU around 45mm, The pump i went with was a Laing DDC 3.25 12V 18W Pump which is around 42mm, The res sits on the out side of the case so i thought it mite save some room inside.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,483 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    Is this for the BitFenix?
  5. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,483 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    Yeah he just needs to give up the bays to do that. Plenty of room to get things done once the bays are removed!
  7. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    will need to mod something for hdd. ssds can be mounted to walls easy
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,483 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    oh yeah but you can find a 2.5" spinner to sit next to the SSD on the wall easily enough.
  9. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Sorry this is for a M1 Ncase the BitFenix was my old case.

    The layout i posted is a side on view.


    Heres a parts list if it helps.

    1x EK Coolstream PE 240mm Radiator
    1x EK-FB ASUS M6I - Acetal+Nickel
    1x EK-DDC 3.2 PWM (12V PWM pump)
    1x EK Full Cover VGA Block EK-FC780 GTX Ti Acetal Nickel
    1x EK Full Cover VGA EK-FC GTX 780 Ti Backplate Black
    1x M1 NCase Reservoir
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    they have pretty good examples at their site http://www.ncases.com/

    edit: i dont think you realy need that mb waterblook.
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,483 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    Oh wow, that looks complicated as hell to do a loop in!

    Also on site it looks like they are using the Swiftech H220, so the pump and res are irrelevant.
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    My 1st plan was to use a Swiftech Apogee Drive II which is a pump/block but after mounting it to the impact it created to many problems there was no real direct root i could run the tubing just because it only sat on the board the one way also it stuck out so far, The examples on there site don't help my loop set up at all :p that's why im here asking :) .


    The layout i posted was the best way i come up with, I'm open to any ideas all the above parts are on order so ill have them in a week or so.
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,483 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    I'm just wondering how you make all the connections without a ton of extra tubing. Just does not seem very conducive for a loop.
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    The tubing used will be less than a normal build like a ATX build and from what i understand theres no extra tubing than one would normally use? Sorry im new to watercooling so have no real idea LOL.

    Where the components are places is really the only place they can be placed so there fixed open to tubing layouts.

    I don't think this route would work better ? any one with feedback please reply thanks in advance.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,648 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    You are overthinking it. While it may be a little counterintuitive, order of components does not really matter because the water moves so fast that it all reaches the same temp ("equalibrium") pretty quickly regardless. Or at least the difference is so nominal you won't notice. So yeah use whatever allows you to route tubing the easiest and best looking.

    The only other major consideration when it comes to what part should go where is gravity in terms of ease of filling and draining. If, for example, you fill via your reservoir and it's the lowest component then you will have to tip the case to get water throughout the loop when filling. It is very important to make sure there is water in the pump when it is powered on. Looks like your pump will be lowest so thats cool...
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  16. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    res-->pump-->water blocks in whatever order is easier to connect them-->rad-->res.
    you may also try to put pump outside below res.
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,648 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    Props for tackling a mini-itx build for your first loop too.
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Thanks for the tips man i was worried there for awhile.

    The Res sits over the holes on the case made for watercooling so theres no way to put the pump out side.
  19. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    put res above holes. and pump below. use angle fittings to pass throught holes.
    or use this extender and any of those tops and attach pump to res. this phobya offer a lot of configurations but it is 30$. then you can use angle fitting to direct tube to holes in case. still you will have to mount res above holes.
    edit: something like this
    Tes2t.jpg
    you will need extender and angle fitting to finsh loop back to res.

    other possibility is to use longer extender and to place pump inside case. then go to mb water blocks --> vga-->rad-->res. but first mount parts in case and then try if you will have enough space to fit pump between rad and wall. and you still will need custom pump top
    Tes2.jpg
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    The Res is made to use the 92mm fan mount on the rear of the case so it cant be moved also sits flush on the case, But it does have 6 ports but having the pump on the out side there no way to mount it and it could easily get broken i rather it inside not sticking out.


    [​IMG]
  21. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    well you have to make bracket so you can move it above holes. i can find only picture of res you have quoted and no info on dimensions of it.
    with phobya top you can also make it like this. Tes2n.jpg
    but before you buy you have to check if you pump doesnt block other hole of the res.
    does res have dedicated in and out or you can swap it 180deg
  22. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    You can't move it up though thats the thing :p

    [​IMG]
  23. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    GMT +2
    bullshits
    ofc you can. just make adapter palte paint it and you are good to go
  24. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    LOL it will cover the power plug :p
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,483 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,997
    There are 90 degree power cords. Still seems like a lot of work though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page