1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

"Way too low of a budget" build.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by mdnelson09, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. mdnelson09

    mdnelson09

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    254 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Will a core i3 2105 run with Gskill 1866 sniper ram?

    I picked up the EVGA Z68 FTW motherboard from newegg for $60 after MIR which was a pretty good deal since I was looking for something to build after my last loss. A long story short, i had to start over from nothing after a few personal losses and I could only afford the i3 2105.

    I read a few threads online about 1600mhz dropping down to 1333 to support the cpu, but will 1866 be able to clock that low, or should i consider using my extra (cheep) 2x2gb 1333 sticks i bought last year for testing?
     
  2. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,891 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    it should work :)

    just follow the proper timings for 1333 MHz. they should be given on the box, or you can get it from the SPD tab on CPU-Z
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    All depends on the binning of the chip. My wife's 2120 had no issues going up to 2133 cl11/1866 cl9.
     
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,891 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    he is downclocking.
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    He shouldn't need to down clock. I ran a I3 2120 at 1600Mhz Cas 8 with no issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. mdnelson09

    mdnelson09

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    254 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Thanks everyone!
    Basically im curious if it will automatically drop down to 1333 (or in some cases, 1600) or if i will have posting issues beacuse of the low end cpu. *the z68 ftw says it supports 1866 without OC, i didnt know if that had anything to do with the clocking issues i might encounter.

    Also, what type of overclocking options do i have on the 2105? Ive read you can only get like 200-400 mhz out of them.
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Don't even worry about oc, pretty much non-existent. It really does depend on the binning of the chip though, so can't tell you. What you are doing when raising ram IS overclocking it's IMC.

    Who is? What would be the effectiveness of that? Wouldn't do anything, it would just hinder the chip.
     
  9. mdnelson09

    mdnelson09

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    254 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Minnesota
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    mdnelson09 says thanks.
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    Since its not a K series chip, afaik the only overclocking you can do is via the base clock. If you are lucky you might be able to add 10-20mhz to the base clock without crashing the system though Im not quite sure how much of an OC that would give you.
     
  12. mdnelson09

    mdnelson09

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    254 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Understandable, I had a i5 2300, then upgraded to a 2500k and had a chance to play with both. The i3 i have coming is just a place holder until i can afford a 2500k or maybe a 26/2700k.

    Just trying to make the best out of a shitty situation. :p
     
  13. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    The i3 is that horrible on overclocking? I never realized. I have never had a chip that I couldn't over clock atleast 20%.
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Really the i3 chips aren't horrid, just put to shame by the Core i5/7 chips.

    @3870x2

    Not necessarily the cores holding these 2nd/3rd gen Core chips back, it's the architecture behind them, hence why if you're an enthusiast they are a "dream come true". Base clock overclocking is truly very very slim to null.
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Chips are locked to OC, can only increase multi by 4. "K" chips are the only unlocked multi chips.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    And those chips that you can raise the multi are only the ones with Turbo.
     
    cadaveca and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Oh, this chip does not? Good catch, then! ;)
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page