1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what CPU will overclock higher?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by p_o_s_pc, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I am looking for an AMD CPU to replace my X2 4600+ (it shit its self) I can spend $100 on a CPU and i want something that will get 3+ghz check my specs so you know what im using if that will help.

    I was looking at the following:
    4050E
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103257

    opty1210
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819105015

    5000 BE
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103194

    If there is any other CPU you would recommend that is 100 or bellow feel free. (NOT going Intel)
    thanks :toast:

    I don't want to go above 1.4v to get 3ghz.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,051
    With the unlocked multiplier, the 5000+ BE is your chip.;)
     
  3. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    Yeah go for the 5000+ BE, I've get 3ghz on air. But with water you can get up to 3.4ghz.
     
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what kind of voltage do you have to give it to get 3ghz?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i'd get a 5000 black edition. currently have mine stacked naked underneath an ultra120 extreme, idles at 28 load's at 40c tops and went to 3.0Ghz on stock voltage, and hit 3.5 @ 1.475. If my mem would do the work i could probably be stable at about 3.58 or so. but 3.45 is plenty, this chip will not dissappoint you.
     
  6. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    i'm just using stock voltage at 3ghz.

    [​IMG]
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  7. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    1,37V for 3GHz with 4400+ ;)
     
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    looks like the 5000 BE I am going to order a CPU in about 15min so speak now.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    cool, your ready to go then!!:toast:
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    ok.. Im just going to get the 5000 BE and not wait.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    good choice you'll be very happy with it, it's a nice cpu
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i am still having a hard time clicking order because i still want the 4050E...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Think about opened multiplier :rolleyes:
     
  16. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    you'll be happer with the 5000+, trust me. And if your not. Just send it back. :D
     
    Kei says thanks.
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    just got the 5000+BE ordered... Like you said i can send it back :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Congrats p o s, awesome chip for the price. I can say you will be very pleased. Did you already get the Gigabyte board? Also, you never commented on the vid card bios I sent you.
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have had this board... Why do you ask?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh for some reason I thought you were running an ECS 6100 before. Hmmm, mind goes with age they say. :rolleyes:
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    nope. never would i get an ECS board. I like my Gigabyte haven't had a problem other then the chipset running hot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Mmk, was just asking. You planning on switching out your RAM as well? You know its pretty cheap now.
     
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I know it is cheap but i just spent $150 on my computer and i have a new GF that is older so for now im not going to but soon i hope.:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Good choice on the 5K BE. If you already ordered it and using it never mind. I bought a OEM 5600+ and it rules.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103771

    The above is retail, but just give an idea. The 1MB cache per core really helps. And it runs decent cool too. Check my sig for the current speed. I hit 3.45 once. booted into windows but was not stable. Currently at 3.25Ghz @ 1.4V. It goes to 58/55C on both cores with full load using the Antec sh.. But i might change it to AS5 or MX-2 later. The 5K BE at the same speed will be tad slower in most applications.

    Just my 2 cents.
     
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I already ordered the 5000 BE. but thanks :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page