1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is needed to play WoW.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by newtekie1, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,063 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,122
    I know this is an odd question, but I don't really play it. I have a friend that is looking to play WoW(he has some other friends that play it and want to get him playing it too). However, his current computer is a P4 with RD-RAM...:shadedshu

    So he needs a totally new computer, the problem is he doesn't really have a whole lot of money. So I'm wondering if the HD 4250 would be enough to handle WoW, or if something more powerful is required.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,934 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    With what proc? With that video card and a decently clocked dual core he could play it on fair with 30ish fps. I'm willing to sell a 4650, It runs kinda cool and can play it on ultra with 30fps.
     
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    build an AMD APU system, overclock it with a cheapo board and 4gigs DDR3 1866 ram and he should be fine, then its still upgradable later,

    and for $140 it solves the quadcore + gpu situation

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/A8-3850_Fusion_GPU_Performance/9.html

    DX11 ultra quality
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Overclocking performance tested with Unigine Heaven
    [​IMG]


    To top it off a cheap as dirt 6670 paired with the onboard GPU + overclocking would make Wow runnable at max settings 1080p without issue.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  4. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    Recommended Specifications

    Windows® System Vista64/Windows 7 OS:

    - Dual-core processor, such as the Intel Pentium D or AMD Athlon 64 X2
    - 2 GB RAM
    - 256 MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600 or ATI Radeon™ HD 2600 or better
    - Multi-button mouse with scroll-wheel
     
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    [​IMG]

    ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X...
    Xigmatek ASGARD II B/B CPC-T45UC-U01 Black / Black...
    G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 S...
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Oper...
    Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...
    Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...

    add in a cooler and maybe a 6670 for asymetric Xfire and there ya go

    6670 + Coolermaster hyper 212+ = $650 for a quadcore that you can take to 3.5ghz with gpu power enough to Run Wow maxed in DX11

    or skip the cooler drop in a 5770 and call it a day, should come out to the same price in the end.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  6. Jamborhgini313

    Jamborhgini313 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    get a decent duo core and something mid range with dx11 compabilities
     
  7. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,422 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    recommended doesn't always mean that's what will run max settings. (like games that have "ultra" settings, the rec. is usually for "high")

    as for an apu system... i found it'd be cheaper to get a slightly cheaper am3+ mobo, a phenom II 4x, and a 6750/6770. (when adding a 6670 to the apu system)
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
    More than 25k PPD
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    eitherway and overclocked A8 3850 AMD will play wow maxed at 720p with ease, if he needs more power swap in a better gpu
    \
    the above system with a 6790 will come in at $700 on the nose.

    but id just take the APU build with the integrated GPU, who knows if he will EVEN STICK to playing WOW

    but if he wants real gaming performance an Intel based right with a 6850 / GTX 460 is pretty much going to be bang for buck on investment.
     
  9. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
  10. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    thats not a bad find but Ibuypower tends to be pretty shit in terms of reliability, for some reason half there machines seem to key world seem to be DOA or just die after a short time.
     
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,422 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    some deals quit running, but still saved $60

    [​IMG]

    about $590usd. either way, apu or that build, they're both good options.
     

    Attached Files:

    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  12. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    487 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    do not buy amd cpu for playing wow, any of the newer intel dual cores will be so much better
     
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    yet they require a GPU which ups the system cost,

    cheapest system is what we were going for untill we get a concrete budget.
     
  14. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,422 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    i think a good option would be to scour the TPU FS threads.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  15. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    487 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    $560 just need to pick case or use old one
    this should play wow nicely
    [​IMG]

    what most are saying about 4350 etc gets 30 fps ulta[makes me lol], sure if you are in the middle of nowhere on your own questing in a emtpy zone with camera zoom right in, soon as you get into a place with people like a city or battleground your fps will go to shit not to mention a 25man raid what will cripple your fps.
    ps amd cpu are really terrible for WoW, would not recommend buying one if you are building a pc for wow.

    edit i must have misread memory and put a single 4g stick replace with this 2x2g kit
    CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333...
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
    FordGT90Concept and repman244 say thanks.
  16. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Depends on res. I'm only @1680x1050 with an HD 5770 and Phenom II@4.2 and it's smooth everywhere, even in heavily populated areas and thats on DX 11 Ultra settings with AA.

    It's also the only game currently installed on my SSD and it's so nice to have practically no loading pauses/hitching.
     
  17. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oregon
    I would suggest

    CPU
    Core 2 Duo or better. No Pentium D or Intel dual Core
    AMD Phenom II or better

    GPU
    AMD 5700 or better No not a 4200
    Nvidia 250 or beter

    At least 2Gb Ram

    If your starting from scratch might is well by a 1155 socket board
    The Intel i3 2100 is only about $115


    bbmarley quote is spot on and would run Wow lyka Boss
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  18. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Just to interject, I have played Wow with an i5 2500k setup and it was beneficial to framerates but my game experience was really not drastically different to the one I have now.
     
  19. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    487 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    until recently i had a 955BE now playing on a 2500k i do notice the difference, most games your cpu does not matter as much but wow is not one of them.
     
  20. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Intel core i5, wow doesn't like amd cpu's the game runs better on intel
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  21. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    As bbmarley said, go with a SB CPU (an i3 will be enough, the game only runs on 2 cores AFAIK)
     
  22. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,422 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    More than 25k PPD
  23. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Agreed, I'm just saying that at my res it really wasn't a night and day difference. That said, if building a new system, you would be stupid to ignore a nice budget sandy bridge build because they rock!!

    EDIT - I love Toms reviews LOL, notice how the AMD setup is actually getting higher frames @ 2560x1600 than it did at 1920x1080.....quality :)
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a buddy that plays WOW on a Pentium D 805 with a 7600GT 256MB DDR3 card and 2GB DDR2 667, with no issues.
     
    yogurt_21, WhiteLotus and LifeOnMars say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,551 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    People do realise that this is for WoW right...

    It really isn't a demanding game, an i5 is way too much overkill... for this game.

    Brandon here is right. You could probably pick a computer up like that for next to nothing.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page