1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is this ip?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by beautypc, Apr 15, 2012.

  1. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    pool-96-240-10-253.nwrknj.fios.verizon.net

    my pc is connecting to it via 96.240.10.253

    wtf is it
  2. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    You should not share thet.
    its only host name of your IP. :) dont worry.
    You got static IP , thets will change soon anyway.


    IP: 96.240.10.253
    Decimal: 1626344189
    Hostname: pool-96-240-10-253.nwrknj.fios.verizon.net
    ISP: Verizon Internet Services
    Organization: Verizon Internet Services
    Services: None detected
    Type: Broadband
    Assignment: Static IP
    Blacklist:
    Geolocation Information

    Country: United States
    State/Region: New Jersey
    City: Summit
    Latitude: 40.7139
    Longitude: -74.3689
    Area Code: 908
    Postal Code: 07901
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
    beautypc says thanks.
  3. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what is it?
  4. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it's not my ip, i dont use verizon i use comcast
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,554 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,065
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I can ping it LOL
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i dont even use verizon, wtf is it?
  7. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Warning: OSScan results may be unreliable because we could not find at least 1 open and 1 closed port

    Device type: general purpose|proxy server|WAP|firewall

    Running (JUST GUESSING): Linux 2.6.X (89%), Riverbed embedded (89%), ZoneAlarm embedded (89%), Cisco Linux 2.6.X (86%)

    Aggressive OS guesses: Linux 2.6.9 (CentOS 4.4) (89%), Linux 2.6.9 - 2.6.27 (89%), Riverbed Steelhead 200 proxy server (89%), ZoneAlarm Z100G WAP (89%), Linux 2.6.9 (89%), Linux 2.6.28 (87%), Linux 2.6.30 (87%), Linux 2.6.22.1-32.fc6 (x86, SMP) (86%), Linux 2.6.11 (86%), Linux 2.6.18 (86%)

    No exact OS matches for host (test conditions non-ideal).

    Uptime guess: 1.251 days (since Sat Apr 14 08:50:59 2012)



    and


    PORT STATE SERVICE VERSION

    4567/tcp open http Actiontec TR069 remote access
  8. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ? define what you're saying, please?
  9. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    I've said enough, just giving you a trail to lead off of. Can't be of much help on public forum. Sorry.
    beautypc says thanks.
  10. Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    can a pc be attacked with virus by accessing the ip address?
  11. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    well.. yes

    for OP
    comcast may borrow the last connection from verison.
    Vendor says thanks.
  12. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    netstat does not show the connection.. i only see it when i use wireshark
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Do you have a wireless router?
    If so, are you using a phone to access the wireless that uses Verizon's services?
  14. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes a wireless router..

    i dont use verizon but roomate might use it.. ive actually gotten a little further and found his other router is connected to the network somewhere...

    the main pc i use doesnt show this connection but another box I use for nothing important does...
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    The verizon ip is an endpoint, so it has nothing to do with who your ISP is (in this case comcast).
    It would be odd for it to show up on the other computer unless you are sending traffic through it (shared e-net connection, as a bridge or router), or unless you have it monitoring a stand-alone router.
  16. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
  17. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have 2 computers connected together via ethernet
  18. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    okay thanks.. nice to know.

    thanks for the input
  19. beautypc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok i blocked it in comodo and it hasnt effected me at all so far as i know.. actually things seem a bit better on the response time of loading webpages , could be placebo.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page