1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what is this?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by freeboy, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    In the n bench utility I see I have a video card, duh , with memory.. stating 514015KB of free memory. Is that a 512 meg card?
  2. J0N

    J0N New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    448 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    1000kb is a MB yes. So that is roughly a 512mb card, probably bigger though, becasue of its use? Make sense?
  3. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    OK, I thought so, but I bought a 256 card, paid for a 256 card and the box states 256.. pretty sweet!
  4. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Is there a way to veryfy this on the card?
  5. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Sure, just post what's printed on a memory chip.
  6. v-zero Guest

    No, 1024kb is a mb...
  7. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    This guy has a 501.9677734375MB card. I admit, I suck at maths. :(
  8. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    ok, it did say free memory, so u have some boing used in addition, so it looks like either a 512 or the next one, although I have not seen a HIS card with more than 512.. interesting. I really do not wish to take out the card from the system and inspect it, plus that huge Artic cool3 system may block visability.. do any other diagnostic tools refer to video mem other than Nbench?
  9. J0N

    J0N New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    448 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Its easier to times 512 by 1000, than by 1024.
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    If you are in XP, go to display settings, setting tab -> advanced button -> "adaptor" tab in advanced dialog will show you memory size, though this may not actually read the amount of memory, but what the BIOS says... not totally sure.
  11. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    intersting, The c3 huge heatsink and fan block any actual viewing, there is a small label that lists 256, and the box etc, also the above test in the system properties showed 256.. is the reading in N Bench accurate ? I would not be surprised if HIS had a bunch of these and dumped them as a cheaper product.. I certainly am not complaining.. Do I need to do anything to activate them?
  12. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    BTW - what card is it?
  13. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    The card is an HIS xpro1950 c3 the one with the huge heatsink cooler comes overclocked from the factory.

    Attached Files:

    • vids.GIF
      vids.GIF
      File size:
      79.2 KB
      Views:
      120
  14. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    HIS makes good shit, IMO. Other than a bios mod or hacked drivers I don't know, racking my brain... here's an interesting read

    "Video Card Memory Analysis: 256MB vs. 512MB ", perhaps there's some clue:

    http://www.pureoverclock.com/article33.html
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Have you run 3DMark05 or 06? They spit out some detailed info.
  16. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    dl the free version now, tu
  17. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    ->
    No. The most recent version of N-Bench is dated in the year 2004, thus it has no idea about how to deal with X1950Pro.
    You have a 256MB card.
  18. v-zero Guest

    Yes, and it's easier to assume Newtonian gravitational dynamics apply to gravitational distortion caused by a black hole rather than using Einstein's interpretation - but it's also WRONG!
  19. El Mariachi New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    North American Empire
    did einstein like boobies?
  20. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    lol. :laugh: I'm sure he did.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page