1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what router brand do you use?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by remixedcat, Apr 24, 2012.

?

what router brand do you use?

  1. NETGEAR

    17.1%
  2. AMPED WIRELESS!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Cisco Linksys

    25.6%
  4. Cisco

    3.7%
  5. TP-Link

    4.9%
  6. D-Link

    23.2%
  7. Juniper

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Zyxel

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  9. HP

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  10. Brocade

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  11. Rosewill

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  12. Asus

    7.3%
  13. Buffalo

    2.4%
  14. Other (Please specify)

    15.9%
  1. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    what router brand do you use?
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,957 (9.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,437
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,297 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,713
    Neatgear atm. WNR2000 to be precise. Got it for €2 at a flea market and it's working flawlessly.
     
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,912 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,569
    Location:
    IA, USA
    D-Link DGL-4500...one of the first 802.11n routers to come out. Had a Linksys WRT600N before that--it was crap (couldn't even handle Unreal Tournament III online) and got returned for refund.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'm using an old D-Link DSL-2640R. Really need a decent router. I should be connecting at 7Mbit but I'm lucky if I get 5.

    :(

    Stupid crappy router/ISP.
     
  6. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,229 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    642
    Location:
    Switzerland
    D-Link DGL-4300 Gamer Lounge... Nothing special, multiplayer games are constantly moving on multiple ports, and unable to set and make sure those ports are in use ... It serves no purpose
     
  7. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    I currently have a NETGEAR WGR614.... 6 years of operations... has been great!
     
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,912 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,569
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I used GameFuel to set port 80 to highest priority and torrent ports to minimum. Since 80 should use the least and torrents use most, it leaves plenty of room for all games to maneuver.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,612 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,895
    Location:
    Florida
    Had a netgear that cool looking black one with like 8 internal antennas? What a piece of trash disconnected all the time.. I then had a linksys 310N and then bricked it and got a linksys E2000 great routers. Dd-wrt runs like a dream on it.
     
  10. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Conceptronic C54BRS4A 1st Gen (Atheros chip).
    Bought in 2007. Still kicks arse! :rockout:
    LAN performance could be better, though :ohwell:, but I can't complain about the wireless department...especially ever since I got a 5dBi antenna. :)
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,087 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,087
    No multiple choices? :(

    Guess I'll go with Linksys since that what I have the most of, but I have a few Buffalo and ASUS models too.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,129 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    The one that was sent to me by my ISP: HUAWEI EchoLife HG532, if i wanted i can swap it out if but it's worked great for the home. It was the first router i had seen with a USB connection for sharing peripherals on your network.
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,168 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Definitely Netgear here, thats the one ive had the least trouble with in reliability even after firmware updates
     
  14. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    model please...
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,168 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,297 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,713
    "Because in manshiun is so big i need several routers.":cry:
     
  17. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,677 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Now Running a Netgear WNR3500v2/U/L running DD-WRT v24-sp2 has worked flawlessly since I hooked it up about 2 years ago.

    Before that it was Dlink DGL-4300 which was horrible couldn't even log into xbox live with two separate accounts and systems, with 1 connected NAT was always strict regardless of port forwarding and UPnP was broken.
    Extremely disappointing for a "Gaming Router" especially considering it was $140.

    Had 2 linksys routers previously both burnt up.
     
  18. Yin

    Yin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Linksys WRT610N
    Decent router
    Wireless sometimes acts up though.
    I haven't been able to get Wake on Lan working on it yet, but to be fair I haven't tried much.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,019 (11.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,319
    fail that you only get one choice.


    Netgear, two TP links, and a dynalink.
     
  20. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,644 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,762
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Got Verizon Fios; so, they gave me an Actiontec. Works, no complaints here.
     
  21. jgrahl

    jgrahl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Monroe, Michigan
    D-Link DIR-855 works as good as i expect it to.
     
  22. Rhyseh

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Cisco 1801 - great router! Wouldn't reccommend it for anyone who doesn't work in the industry as they are quite complex to configure for someone who has only worked inside GUI's. I have a Billion 7800N that I use as a repeater. It's a solid router and has some nice features. Would reccommend it to anyone who wants a great router with some enthusiast features.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012
  23. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,494 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    A [linux] server in place of a router.

    [​IMG]










    Ok, I am, in fact, serious. =]
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,815 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    US
    Linksys WRT54G with Tomato
     
  25. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Using ASUS WL500GP with OpenWRT.
    Will have to switch to some DGT VDSL anyway but I will keep the linux box for some fun.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page