1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why wont my laptop clock down?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by catnipkiller, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    when i run p95 or a really hot game it wont keep it self at a lower clock it keeps jumping up to 95 deg+ so i dont think this laptop will last much longer.
    is there a program to keep my laptop from trying to use turbo core? I have tryed to take it off in bios but its not in there.
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    You can cheat by lowering the multi by 3-5 so that when it turbo up, you get what you want.
  3. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    have u tried limiting the max clock through control panel? "hardware and sound"=>"power options"=>advanced something
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,405 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    ^ on a laptop the only way you can do it is by CP>Power Options>Processor Power Management>Maximum Processor State.

    Try playing with the value till you get it too cool down.
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,692 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Location:
    Oregon
    Have you tried to take it apart and clean out the HS
  6. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    hey sup

    try speedswichxp works wonders on intel an amd

    you allso may need amd cpu drivers to make it work [i cant remember if intel has a speed step driver]
  7. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    242 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Romania
    One word: ThrottleStop. It can switch off turbo or run cpu at a fixed multiplier.
  8. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    934 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    403
    [​IMG]

    There's even a nice TPU version available. Just add TechPowerUp=1 to the ThrottleStop.INI file if you want to show off your favorite website.

    http://www.techinferno.com/downloads/

    This is a handy tool for Intel Core 2 or Core i, including Sandy Bridge, based laptops or desktops.
  9. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    173 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    not to hijack the thread, but you say it works with amd's as well?

    humm
  10. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    934 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    403
    Sorry, RealTemp and ThrottleStop are only for Intel Core 2 and Core i CPUs.
  11. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    update when playing rift my laptop fired lol. So its getting fixed atm. I did try to force clock it lower but it still turbo into the fires of gaming hell. Hoping they give me my money back or a laptop just like it.
  12. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    if its under warranty they should give you another like it. I'm guessing they messed up on the cooling with yours to begin with.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page