1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why would you flash your video card bios?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by kepler, Oct 1, 2004.

  1. kepler Guest

    just curious...i've looked around everywhere for a reason why you'd flash your video card bios, and i can't seem to find anything anywhere :p

    i have a sapphire 9600, what would be the benefits of flashing my bios?
     
  2. Thaiman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  3. Thaiman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  4. cmberry20

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    146 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Worcester, England
    Unless you glue some little wings on it, & then it becomes a miniature aeroplane!! :p
     
  5. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    i flashed mine cuz i wanted it overclocked withought having to run a 'tool' all the time.
     
  6. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I just set the 3d/2d profiles and have it minimized on startup.

    If it is always overclocked it will shorten the life of the chip.

    You sometimes will flash a 9800SE to a 9800 pro to enable the other 4 pixel pipes. No benefit to flashing a 9600 as all of them have 4 pixel pipelines.
     
  7. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    ive had pretty good luck overclocking stuff, do it right an keep it cool u wont shorten the life of it noticably. ive had an athlon +1500 running at 200 fsb 1600mhz for years, ive got a 9500 non pro running at pro speeds since it was new, overclocked in bios of course. and my mobile athlon... and my pc2100 ocz memory runnint at 3200 and 3-6-3 cas2 timings for years... if it aint overclocked...it aint good enuf! :D
     
  8. Nobru_rv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    160 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I dont think that u wont change your card for 2 years.
    U can burn it but only if u overclock too much.
    Ex.
    If u OC 9550 core to 400mhz from 250mhz and put active cooling like 9600 pro,how much will you shorten its life? 9550 core(250) = 9600 pro core.(400) rv350
    9700 core (270mhz) = 9700pro core (325mhz) r300
    9800se core (325mhz) = 9800 pro core (380mhz) r350

    However,cooling is different and u can burn your card.

    Memory is something else,but ex.

    9550 128 mb ram 2.8 samsung (default 350 mhz- bios 200 mhz) If u overclock to 350 u wont have any problem but
    9500 128 mb ram 5.0 samsung (default 200 mhz- bios 200 mhz) If u overclock to ex 230 mhz,that will shorten its life because u went more than specified by its producer,even if u go 240 without artifacts.

    Exeptions are some cards that have very bad PCB's and u cannot overclock for ex. sapphire 9800 pro with r360 core up to XT specs (412/365).I had one that had artifacts at 412 core even it is r360 chip. That is probably the worst card for OC that i had in my posession.
    BR
     
  9. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I dont have much money, and i probably WILL have this card in 2006-2007 so it is important that it lasts.


    You make a good point about how the 9800SE-9800pro and 9550-9600pro is not stressful, but when a manufacturer produces a core, generally any life shortening overclocking would take place when you push the core beyond what it is rated at on the series premier card. for example a 9600pro (rv350 core) runs at 400 mhz stock, this is the fastest stock RV350. My 9550 uses the same core, so i can run it at 400 with proper cooling without any problems. Once I push it beyond 400 i consider it overclocked, because the core is beyond its top manufacturer spec.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2004
  10. kepler Guest

    would it be fairly safe to run my 9600 at Core of 400 mhz (from 324), and memory of 240 (from 203) (480) mhz when i only play games?

    i also will be using this card for quite a while and don't want to burn it out...if it's only used on average 1 hr a day for gaming purposes, would it affect it much?

    i can't imagine it would, but haven't done much overclocking until now :)
     
  11. Nobru_rv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    160 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    9600 = 400 is safe /mem depends on your memory. If u have 5ns than u must stick with 203 mhz. iF U HAVE 4 NS then u can OC it to 250 etc etc.

    RV350 stock (9550,9600se,9600,9600pro)--- 400mhz
    Rv360 stock (9600xt)---500mhz

    But you must know that 9600 pro runs 400mhz with ACTIVE cooler not PASSIVE.
     
  12. kepler Guest

    how can i tell if i have 5ns or 4ns?

    and if i have 5ns, i shouldn't OC my memory?
     
  13. kepler Guest

    i found on the ATI-tool, it gives the memory timings...i'm guessing that 4 CLK by the memory cas latency means 4 ns?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page