1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wich System Setup is Better?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Azn Tr14dZ, Jun 5, 2006.

  1. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Setup 1: AMD
    Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    Motherboard:ECS RD480-A939 Skt 939 ATI Radeon XPRESS 200 CrossFire
    HardDrive: Western Digital Caviar 160GB S-ATA 3GB/s
    RAM: Kingston ValueRAM 1GB Dual-Channel PC-3200 RAM
    Lite-On DVD+/-RW
    Lite-On DVD-ROM

    Total Cost: $368.51

    Setup 2: Intel
    Processor: Intel Pentium D 820 2.8GHz
    Motherboard: ECS 945P-A Skt T (LGA 775)
    HardDrive: Western Digital Caviar 160GB S-ATA 3GB/s
    RAM: PQI Turbo 1024MB Dual-Channel DDR2 PC2-5400
    Lite-On DVD+/-RW
    Lite-On DVD-ROM

    Total Cost: $381.95

    Which setup is better? I'm using it for gaming and burning DVDs most of the time. Watching TV also. Which motherboard also overclocks better, that would be a plus. I would want the Pentium D to go from 2.8GHz to around 3.4-3.6GHz and the AMD 64 3000+ to go to around 2.2-2.4GHz. The harddrive is fine, I'll go RAID 0 later on, not now.

    Everything else I have, X800XL, TV/HDTV Tuners, 450 Watt Antec PSU, Super Talent ST833BK Case, Big Typhoon, everything is all good.

    Thanks for the replies, I should be buying soon for second comp.
    -Azn
  2. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    i hate to say it

    well i hate to say it even though i am a hardcore amd fan i would use the intel its the better one now if u would have had a better amd chip like an x2 3800 or better then i would say use the amd but u r pitting a dual core vs a single core to there is no comparing the 2 but for gaming u might still get better play out of the amd than that pentium d but im not sure maybe some one else maybe better to say on that and for overclocking hopefully someone can help u on that also good luck
  3. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    788 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Pentium D OC's very easily, like amd64skater said, you can not beat the Intel Dual Core for the price.
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Both are about equal. I would change that HDD for a 250GB SATA2 16mb cache model though. Thaat extra cache makes quite a bit of difference with NCQ.
  5. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    If you put the better ram in the AMD system I might go for that, but the intel probably just about edges it for me.
  6. rgrizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Go for the Intel but change from an 820 to a 920.
    This takes the processor from 90 nm to 65 nm, which = lower temps and reduced voltage.
  7. markkleb Guest

    Get the RedChrome stuff (better and cheaper)
    AMD3000+ $106/Jetway GT4 SLImobo $50/1 Gig Geil Ram $88/ 2 Hitachi Sata2 HDDs Raid0 $92

    $336 (you can always upgrade CPU)

    ECS mobos suck
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2006
  8. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    788 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    .... dont get a single core get a pentium dual core, and MARKLEB the ECS 945 Mobo kicks ass, my friend got a Pentium 805 D up to 3.5+ on it. For a budget board that is perfect. Tr14Dz go with your second setup it is perfect man.
  9. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Alright, but I might change the 820 to a 920 like you guys said. Will the 920 still be able to overclock to 3.4-3.6GHz?

    The reason why I put 820 is because I could get it for about $100, which isn't bad. I might wait though until Conroe comes out in a few months, then If they lower prices on 920 or 930, I'll get that instead. But will the ECS Motherboard support 65nm dual-cores?
  10. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Unless you're in dire need of a new computer i suggest waiting for conroe to come out. The prices of the pentium D's should drop like a rock and if you wanted to spend a bit extra you could get yourself a mid-low range conroe that would probably perform beautifuly.
  11. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Not bad but, I wanted the ECS CrossFire motherboards because later on I might get 2 X1800GTO's. I'm not really planning to get any nVidia card or SLI anytime soon.

    BTW guys, would refurbished motherboards still be good? What do they come with?
  12. markkleb Guest

    I will repeat this one more time ECS SUCKS!!!!!!!
    you may as well get a PC chips.
  13. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok then, but what about refurbished/openbox products? They good?
  14. markkleb Guest

    They are fine, I use refurb for almost all my stuff. Right now the only good crossfire boards are the expensive ones.
  15. markkleb Guest

  16. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  17. markkleb Guest

    Dam what a deal,

    Sometimes they do and sometimes they dont..
  18. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Cables are cheap anyway so...I might go with that?
  19. ataraxia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    75 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    ^agreed. also if your on a budget and want a chip ($120.99!!!!!!!!!!!) :eek: that will beat high end chips..get this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819116001 i have seen benchmarks with this cpu hitting 4.1 on air. :twitch: i would try to find out which board they went with "asus" something??

    here is one review and benchmarks
    http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/05/10/dual_41_ghz_cores/
  20. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I already said that I can get a Pentium D 820 for $100. I don't want an 805 for $20 more.
  21. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  22. markkleb Guest

    didnt you just say u didnt want a SLI? There are a lot of bad reviews with Abit.

    If ur going SLI "GET THE JETWAY GT4 SLI
    "http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813153030R

    check the reviews on the Jetway.
  23. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    yeah..but there aren't any good CF mobos at my price range. I guess I might try out SLI, but will ATI cards have problems/conflicts with SLI mobos?
  24. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok... I got it. Here's what I'm going to get, just need your guys approval:
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ -$106.00
    Jetway 939GT4-SLI-G (Openbox) -$45.99
    Corsair ValueSelect 1GB (2x512) DDR RAM PC-3200 -$79.99
    Western Digital Caviar 160GB S-ATA 3GB/s -$64.99
    Lite-On DVD+/-RW -$29.99
    Lite-On DVD-ROM -$19.99

    Total-$346.95

    Later on, I'll probably upgrade to an Athlon 64 3800+ or 4000+. Also, might add another WD 160GB for RAID 0, and 1GB more for RAM, and probably SLI, but that's later on, B-Day or X-Mas probably. Does this sound good for now though?

    Also, will my X800XL have any problems with the Jetway mobo because it has an nVidia Chipset?

    Thanks,
    -Azn
  25. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    ...is ^ good?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page