1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will this CPU Bottleneck this GPU???

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hoax32, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    So right now Im in the middle of building a "Gaming-Rig" :laugh: .....for older games like GTA: SA, Wolfenstein, CoD2 and that king of stuff....anyways.

    The CPU that I am planing on using is a AMD Athlon-XP 3000+ (2.17GHz, 512KB, FSB333)
    Thanks to the great Motherboard I will have plenty of option to OC!
    The graphics card that will be put in it, is a Radeon X1650 Pro.
    Will a 3000+ bottleneck it ALOT with 2GB DDR RAM and 7200RPM HDD in XP?

    If you need more hardware info, ask me! :toast:
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,941 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    not at all I dont think. as far as the X1650 goes, its not exactly a total beast by any standards.

    your performance will still be pretty sub par - even though you have a 7200rpm HDD, that alone wont help much at all as the drive is more then likely IDE so the hard drive itself will be bottlenecked.... Rest is ok though, pitty about that 333FSB. 400 would have been better
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
  3. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Thanks for the quick reply!
    Well this is probably one of the greatest socket 462 boards out there!
    It has PATA/133 (which is the latest and last IDE version - also the fastest)
    According to wiki:
    "The theoretical burst throughput of SATA 1.5 Gbit/s is similar to that of PATA/133"

    Well I am going to pump up the RAM to MAX so im not tooo worried....
    Used to have a ThinkPad T20 with a 4200RPM IDE/100 :laugh:
    If I can take THAT then I think that I can take this lol.
     
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,917 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Try to OC the FSB to 400, and the lower multipliers on the CPU should be unlocked. May have just been my factory unlocked Barton 2500+, I am not sure. If you can get the FSB/MEM at 400 1:1 it should be good. I doubt an X1650 will be bottlenecked considering these systems were running Radeon 9800 Pros and such in that era. I'd say overclock both the CPU and the card, but if your CPU has unlocked lower multipliers and the board supports FSB 400 out of the box, then lower the multi, get to 400 (so your AGP/PCI are at 66/33) and then use the multi if you want to OC.
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    What was the title of the book again? :laugh:

    Out of the Box, the board only supports up to 333FSB.
    AGP is 8x and 2 RAM slots with 1GB Max per slot.
     
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,917 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    AMD K7 was one of my last favorite AMD platforms. I've owned many K7 boards (nForce2 400 IGP, KT266A, KT400, KT600, KT880) and had a lot of fun with my pre-0339 Barton 2500+ (the magical factory unlocked one that everyone wanted).

    If you're stuck at 333, well, see what you can get out of it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Say - is the X1650Pro more powerful than a 9800Pro?
    Also can a X1650Pro run Cod 5: WaW?

    :toast:
     
  8. Xenon267

    Xenon267 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The parts should be all fine and depending on what you are program you are running will determine the bottleneck. Let us know once you have built it and see what issues you run into.
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
  9. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    I have a 3000+ on a NF7-S and a x1650PRO and it works just fine (but have an old 5400rpm drive). No problems and no bottleneck I can notice. Have fun tweaking the old beast! :)
    Also, although the board might have ATA133, you hard drives might not support it. Almost all late IDE HDDs were ATA100.

    A little, but not by much. And CoD 5 lists a x1600 as minimum requirements, so it will, with some eye-candy on.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page