1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will this power supply work with this case?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by bostonbuddy, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    "60w external powersupply won't be enough"! For what?

    Any details you have on the 60W power adaptor they are using would be helpful

    nb: wait to see what other members say

    http://www.apextechusa.com/products.asp?pID=157

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2011
  3. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    so what would I have to get to put in a more powerful external psu?
    want to build an i3 mini itx htpc
     
  4. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    The external transformer you see included with the case is (probably) just a single voltage transformer. It doesn't do the actual work; that's for the internal power supply you can see in the additional photos.

    Long story short, I don't think you can easily.
    120v AC goes to the external transformer which probably goes to 12v or 19v DC. There's an PSU inside that case that takes the DC voltage from the transformer and converts it in to your standard 3.3v, 5v, and 12v needed by the computer. It's that internal PSU that needs to be beefed up, not the external transformer.

    You might want to look for a different case or a different processor.
     
    Law-II says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    the MI-110 would resolve you issues for power but is larger

    http://www.apextechusa.com/products.asp?pID=213

    atb

    Law-II
     
  6. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    think the 35w i3+4gigs ram+mobo+hdd+cd drive(only when installing windows) would be able to run off of 60w?
    Also could a 3.5in hdd be able to fit in a 5.25 slim bay w/ the 3.5-5.25 brackets?
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    With integrated graphics, yes it is possible.

    It won't fit.
     
  8. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    dang, i really want a 3.5hdd, have found much better lifespan w/ them, plus their cheaper:p
    may hafta go w/ this case
    http://www.apextechusa.com/products.asp?pID=115
    beefier psu and has a 3.5 bay, really want to go w/ as small a form factor tho as possible for this build, and the smaller case is perfect,if only it had a 3.5 bay instead of a 2.5 and 5.25 slim
     
  9. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
  10. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    that is a good design I just like the finish of the apex ones better. I'm a sucker for shiny metal.
     
  11. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    also looked at LianLi ones, but similar issues w/ the smaller cases offering no 3.5 bay.
    If I could find a tiny one w/ no 5.25 or 2.5 bays and just one 3.5 w/ a polished metal finish I'd be all over it.
     
  12. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    Even if it did fit it be a bad idea. On boot might trip it and secondly even if it did running it maxed out is a bad idea anyways.

    He be better of finding what wattage the system actual takes and doubling it. And with a bit more searching like [H] \ JonnyGuru reviews he could find one that runs best at 50% PSU usage.
     
  14. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page