1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will this system run....

Discussion in 'Games' started by Charper2013, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
  2. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I would say medium on 1280x1024. Depends on how much you can oc it i think. I would bet any money on it.
     
  3. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I think before you OC(cause i know alot of people love to do it :laugh: ) you should keep everything at stock and try your games out. I never played TF2 or LFD, but COD4, you should be able to play at 1280x1024 high/extra settings and get 30-50fps.

    You should also upgrade to 4GB and use XP Pro :) As for your Video card, thats pretty good. I might end up buying one for my secondary computer in the PCI bus if i see.
     
  4. Vagike New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    89 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    i played TF2, and L4D on my old 7950GX2 @ 1440x900 full-bore with no problems... so i would think you should have no problems....

    COD4 is in a totally different league.

    COD:WaW certainly puts my dual 3870X2s through their paces.
     
  5. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,609 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    507
    high on team fortress
    medium on left 4 dead
    medium on cod4
     
  6. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    At a low res I say yes, the Source engine isn't that heavy on Hardware. But COD4 you will have to lower the textures and maybe AA.
     
  7. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345



    Low/medium settings 1024x768. 1280x1024 low/medium perhaps with a healthy CPU over clock. There is no guarantee that you will get a good stable over clock, its just luck sometimes. If this is a new build I'd discourage you from proceeding because the 8600 GT is dated and you can pick up faster cards for cheaper also its 1 GB of ram isn't going to help its performance. The AMD Athlon BE-2350 is extremely weak at stock, if your over clock isn't successful you'll be left with a less than pleasant CPU for today's standards.


    The Foxconn M61PMV motherboard in your link isn't great, it only has 2 dimm slots that will make upgrading to ram to say 8 or 16 GBs in the future difficult.

    scrape $300 together and put together a Athlon X2 6400, 8 GB DDR 6400, and a ATI 4830!

    Sapphire ATI 4830 $94.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102803

    Kingston 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 $17.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134797 (buy 4 of these)

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz $89.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103228

    ASRock A780FullHD AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard $64.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...ck A780FullHD AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD (Supports 16 GBs of ram and has 4 dimm slots, positive it has AM3 support via bios update but double check)

    So that's:

    £94.99 + £89.99 + £64.99 + £17.99x 4 = £321.93

    That is enough to keep you playing any game you want at very high settings for 2 years

    Edit:

    If you've got XP 32-bit or Vista 32-bit opposed to the 64-bit version take off 2 memory sticks and that brings your total to £285.95
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  8. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    I think you should be able to play them all on medium at the higher resolution, and probably high for TF2
     
  9. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,257 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    USA
    i would just go for a 9800 there not that much more for a 512MB
     
  10. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,257 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    USA
  11. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  12. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    705
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I have a EVGA 8800 GT Superclocked for $95 shipped!! Same as the 9800 gt.. check my items for sale link in my sig!!
     
  13. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    You should be fine. I was playing all those on a far less inferior machine.
     
  14. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    Max Textures for all, medium everything else for TF2 and L4D, I would set everything else low on cod4 if you play it online alot.
     
  15. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
  16. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    The short answer is yes it would run.

    But the long answer is that I doubt it will be trust worthy enough. "Bestec" isn't a well known name in the computing industry, and 300w seems a little low for a PSU of today's expectations. Look for a reputable branded PSU, at least 500w, good amps, efficient at removing heat etc.


    Looks like you took our advice a little by ditching that AMD Athlon BE-2350 for the Athlon 5000+, I hope you've ditched that Foxconn motherboard too. I'm still not sure about that 8600 GT. See post #7
     
  17. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    On that system, COD 4 can definetely be run, Left 4 Dead might get low framerates in some situations though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page