1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win7 wants to run Prime95 on startup - Why?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Sasqui, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,390
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    On startup, first thing that appears on my desktop is this:
    [​IMG]
    What's up with that? It seems to conicide with me installing the free version of PDF995 but I'm not sure.
     
  2. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    In Prime95 under options, there is a "Start at Logon" option.

    If that is checked, unselect it. Not sure why anyone would want to do that.

    Also check your Startup group under "All Programs" to see if it got put in there. Again don't why that would be.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Prime95 isn't just a stress testing program. It is actually one of the earliest distributed computing project. It was originally designed and released for people to run in the background of their computers like F@H and WCG and all it did was try to find Mersenne prime numbers.

    That is why it has the option to run at startup, it's primary function is actually not stress testing.

    Also, Autoruns is a great program to find every startup program that runs on your system. It is far more powerful than MSConfig, I use it all the time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    ^ this


    and its always a good idea to goto start->run->msconfig and select only necessary startup applications from the startup tab.

    this improves boot times greatly.
    the names in the startup items are pretty easy to identify and figure out.

    ++> the microsoft one is for windows gadgets.

    i like to keep the minimum at startup.
    1. gadgets
    2. wifi control
    3. logitech mouse control
    4. anti virus


    ALso, this will override the settings in the applications. even if an application is startup enabled, if you disable it from msconfig, it will not start automatically at startup
     
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,390
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Bingo, thanks.

    I'm laughing, as I cannot find the "run" option in the start menu on Win7. Used it all the time in XP.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Win7(and maybe Vista) didn't have the "run" option in the start menu be default. You have to go into Taskbar and Start Menu Properties and check the box to add "run" to the start menu. Or just hit Win+R.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,585 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,214
    You can type most stuff directly in the search bar. Just hit start on your keyboard, type msconfig and hit enter. This goes for most stuff you usually launched with Run.
     
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Wait until you try to find it in Win 8 ! lol

    So tell us again why you don't want to run prime95 all the time? :laugh:
     
  9. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,689
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Right click taskbar, Select "Start Menu" tab, Click the "Customize..." button, scroll down until you find "Run command" and check it. :toast: you can always press "[​IMG] + R" as well :toast:
     
    de.das.dude and Sasqui say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,390
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Nice. It wasn't easy to find, even with those instructions

    [​IMG]

    Haven't experienced that horror so far! LOL And yea, no Prime95 running while I'm trying to do stuff.
     
  11. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,689
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, I would be lost with out the "run" command or command prompt in windows.. lol
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It's not bad at all. I'm getting quite used to it. Once you realize that the start menu is just a full screen UI instead of a menu it's easy to use. Actually easier to find stuff if you have it pinned to the start page as you can group things how you want, and it's the same two mouse clicks to get to it.
     
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,390
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    The number of startup programs, includng QuickTime, was just reduced from 11 to 6 :)

    Eventally, I'll be installing Win8 on an old 250GB HDD I have. I want to explore!!!
     
  14. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    947 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,585 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,214
    Or you can use the search box instead.. Seriously, just worked my way through this list for verification and the vast majority works. The exception is the ones with two words, like "control mouse" or "control folders". The rest behaves just the same if you type it in the search box and hit enter. The shell commands works too.
     
  16. irlandezul

    irlandezul

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Most of them works in win 8 also .
     
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    you can use the search box instead or press "windows key + r" anywhere
     
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,689
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yep, search works great. I use it a lot, but I'm set in my ways and have to have run on the start list.. hehehe I'm starting to us shortcut keys like "[​IMG] + R".. It's a life saver in windows 8. Here is a list of new ones in Windows 8. :toast:

    Windows 8
    1. "[​IMG]+C" - opens the charms.
    2. "[​IMG]+F" - opens file search screen to search for computer files.
    3. "[​IMG]+I" - opens Settings sidebar, where app-specific settings, network options and shutdown button is located.
    4. "[​IMG]+Q" - opens app search screen to search for app shortcuts and executable files. Does not work in settings search or file search screens.
    5. "[​IMG]+W" - opens setting search screen to search for Control Panel applets.
    6. "[​IMG]+X" - to open a menu of advanced system functions. Replaced shortcut to the Windows Mobility Center introduced in Windows Vista.
    7. "[​IMG]+SPACEBAR" - to change input method. Replaced a previous shortcut introduced in Windows 7.
    8. "[​IMG]+Prt Scr" - to save current Print Screen to a "Screenshots" folder under the "Pictures" library. All screenshots are saved as PNG files.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,390
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Lucky Charms? LOL

    If there isn't one already, you should start a thread of useful Win8 commands and tips!
     
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,220 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Says the Linux guy... :laugh: :toast:
     
  21. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    It's all in the Windows 8 Clubhouse.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  22. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,689
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    We have a club house. :toast:

    Lost in Windows!... lol :toast: Good catch! :toast: I'm a command line kind of guy.. hehehe I prefer Unix over Linux in a work environment. ;) I try to verse myself in anything computer related. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page