1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 is corrupting all of my floppies.

Discussion in 'Storage' started by blackbird307, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. blackbird307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can read floppies perfectly fine. But when I right to them, the files simply don't show up after reinserting them. Yet space is still occupied. I tried the floppy in my friends computer and he couldn't see it either. But he is using xp. I figured it was the drive, so I tried a new one. Same problem. I know I hooked them up correctly. :mad: What is going on?

    Oh and get this I tried it on a different computer, different board, same os. Guess what happens. 3 floppys that no longer work, one of them being a rare 720k. Absolutely fantastic :cry: I am suspecting it's another one of microsofts infamous driver issue. The thing is, nobody uses floppys anymore and microsoft probably couldn't care to take notice. Can someone help?

    I am trying to restore an deskpro 386 20 compaq, which needs a 720k diagnostics disk to do anything.

    Normal Floppy [​IMG]

    720k Floppy
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2010
  2. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Whats a floppy ? Can you post an image or something ?
    [​IMG]

    What do you need that 1 for ?
     
  3. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    There is a setting in Bios for type of floppy drive. Think there was 720k setting.
     
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    1. Check and make sure you are using the latest bios for your motherboard.

    2. In the bios settings, I believe under "power management setup" options, DISABLE HPET (high precision event timer) (page 52 & 53 of the manual)

    Now, try your floppy format and file copying tests.

    You can re-enable the HPET when you are finished... if, you wish to.

    :)
     
    blackbird307 and robn say thanks.
  5. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    729 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    I can't remember but isn't it possible to just format a 1.44MB floppy as a 720KB floppy? I know that's not what you're asking but it'd make those rare 720K floppies easier to find.
     
    blackbird307 says thanks.
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,043 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,951
    start using usb sticks and throw out old stuff ... 386 .. omg .. $1 on ebay will get you faster
     
  7. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    :shadedshu oh dear, why oh why?
     
  8. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Its probably corrupting all your floppies because it thinks your trying to drive rape it with some unknown floppy........disk. :laugh:
     
    blackbird307 says thanks.
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,244 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,281
    I had similar issues with an internal floppy and Win7. I have to use them once in a while to re-install Server 2003 on some servers I maintain. I had to use a USB floppy to finally get it to work properly and write the files.
     
    95Viper and blackbird307 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,939 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    @blackbird307

    Oh god, floppies! :eek: Those were sh!t in their day and often didn't work straight out of the packet. Man I hated them.

    Rather than trying to troubleshoot floppy issues on 7, I think you'd be much better off just finding an XP machine and using that. Microsoft left floppy support in 7 purely as legacy support and "Windows 8" is likely to remove all support for floppies anyway.

    Finally, why are you trying to restore such an ancient PC in the first place? Is it for a museum exhibit perhaps? This is 1980s technology and I can't think of any other use for it.
     
    blackbird307 says thanks.
  11. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    yo dawg win7 is corrupting all of my floppies.

    Thats epic funny
     
  12. robn

    robn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    180 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Not trying to be an ass blackbird, but are you *sure* they weren't just too old to write successfully? I mean reading a disk is one thing, but writing would highlight disk damage.

    Edit: Actually, after a quick check, what 95Viper said above in post #4 is apparently the answer.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2010
    95Viper and blackbird307 say thanks.
  13. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    I have a floppy drive on the machine I have connected to TV. It was part of the card reader combo when I purchased thee machine. I never use it. My main machine has no floppy I have disabled it in BIOS so I now have A as a Drive letter for my use with any of the 5 thumb drives or 4 flash cards I have. I see no need for a floppy.
     
    blackbird307 says thanks.
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,312 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    It is pretty funny if you think about it. Yo dawg whats up with Win7 and my punch cards? It don't read em yo! :laugh:

    [​IMG]
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  15. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    robn says thanks.
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Bah my 2011 Mustang won't run on WW2-era British Petrol. Another of Ford's infamous engine issues!

    For the love of God, at least explain why you still require floppies.
     
  17. robn

    robn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    180 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Hey, play nice people. He says he is trying to repair a "Compaq deskpro" 386. Could be a critical piece of equipment where he works, industrial control, or something like that. A need is a valid need.
     
    qubit and 95Viper say thanks.
  18. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Read your avatar....:laugh:
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I believe the Op would be better off not using windows 7 to do stuff with floppies cause of the newer hardware. Install VMware or MS Virtual Machine and then install DOS 6.22 WHICH IS FREE BTW! and that would be closer to your 386 than windows 7
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    ^ Great advice
     
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,541 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,382
    well i think the OP has been sufficiently trolled...
     
    garyinhere and 95Viper say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Or did the OP sufficiently troll us? :laugh:
     
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,563 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    With your overclock the bus speed could be corrupting the data. Try it at stock speeds.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    The OP, sorta, explains the reasoning.

    The trolling is not the least bit helpful.

    To those that posted usefully... You have my Thank You.:toast:

    @blackbird307> Please let us know how it is going.
    :)
     
    garyinhere and qubit say thanks.
  25. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,939 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    And blackbird307, I really do want to know what you're using that old PC for; I get really curious about stuff like this.

    Don't worry, I have plenty of old junk accumulated at my place, so I understand. :)

    Unfortunately, people are making joke comments, because floppies are so obsolete that most people don't have much knowledge about them and they were always slow and awful which attracted ridicule.

    Here's a factoid: the read speed of a HD floppy drive is just enough to stream full CD quality sound off a 1.44MB disc... of course, at just over a megabyte long, the clip would be really short. ;)

    And there's lots more geeky factoids over at Wikipedia. Really, the techy stuff is still interesting. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page