1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7, possible to transfer to new system build?....

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by omslemming, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. omslemming New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    40 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey there, im pretty close to having all the components for my new system so ill start the build soon, only issue I have is Ive heard even though I currently have windows 7 and its an official copy got the keys etc that the copy you have is tied to the motherboard so for my new machine I will basically have to buy a new copy of windows which seems stupid to me.

    However Ive also heard if you phone microsoft you can sometimes get the license key transferred over, is this the case and has anyone got any info on this? id rather not shell out another 120 quid when im already running the os on my old system and have all the discs and licence already.
     
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Just install it on the new system. If its been more then 90 days it will activate fine. If its been less then 90 days you will have to use the automated activation service. Takes about 10 minutes at the most and you don't have to talk to anyone but a machine. Just be sure when they ask "How many computers is this windows installed on" you reply "One". It will then give you a new activation code and you are good to go!

    I do it all the time.
     
  3. omslemming New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    40 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So I can take my old windows discs, install it from that with the old verification code and itll work fine? its been well over 90 days this machines about 2 years old lol
     
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,968 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,842
    +1 to what TMM said- I have also done this many times with no issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    This is good to know. I have always upgraded my os when I upgraded my cpu which is every few years, so never had a need for this.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    No problem. I do it all the time.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page