1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 what series to use ?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by djshadow, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. djshadow

    djshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So I thought about instaling a fresh version of w7 but I looked that I use home edition. I know there are few more. So what advices you can give me, what edition to use for me. 32Bit cause only 2gigs of ram's :rolleyes:

    Cheers.
     
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Stick with home premium if thats what you got. Keys are not transferrable over different editions.
     
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    pretty much what don said. I own pro and ultimate. really you dont use anything they offer as a home user so home permium is fine.
     
  4. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    +1 to Home Premium...To the average home user (like any of us TPUers are "average") there is no difference.
     
  5. djshadow

    djshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So any performanse settings are the same right? If I use the pc for gaming multimedia and benching.
     
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I doubt performance is affected... +1 to Home
     
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Home Premium x64 and two more GB or RAM ;)
     
  8. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    If there actually is a difference it wouldnt be big. and Ultimate would have worse than home premium cuz it offers more addons.

    I have Ultimate and only use the options home prem gives, just use ultimate cuz it was *cheap*
     
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Yea, if you have the budget to go with a higher version, why not just invest that into RAM? :D

    I smell unethical things in the post above me xD
     
  10. djshadow

    djshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Guys, are you seriuos talking about legal versions of OS ? :D
    I never had bought one in 11 years of computing, damn I should be shamed. :rolleyes:
     
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    I get it........ we aren't allowed to talk illegal, and I strongly discourage it btw...

    Just put ultimate 64 bit in that case, won't hurt performance, but the XP backwards compatibility is nice
     
  12. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    you can only find Ultimate were you *buy* your stuff.
     
  13. djshadow

    djshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Sry , never going to spend money for software ;)
     
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    so youll break rules instead? priority issue
     
  15. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    I would go with Windows 7 pro 64 bit

    it has the XP mode and it has remote desktop:toast:

    legal is best as the dodgy images could have anything embedded such as all your credit card purchases are being sent to the person who hacked the dodgy image for just one example!
     
  16. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This is not appropriate conversation for the TPU forums. Please stop.
     
  17. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    Piracy sux and has no place here.../unsubscribed.
     
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    DRMs and stuff hurt us, the real legit buyers because of people who pirate...

    As I said before, I strongly discourage piracy

    anyhow, the OP got his response no? this should be closed

    sorry Paulieg :p I am very sensitive to piracy lol
    v
    v
     
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Back on topic, everyone.
     
  20. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    No. DRM hurts legit buyers because the concept of DRM is flawed. Pirates will always pirate. DRM or not. DRM only affects legit buyers.


    On topic, If you have a budget, than Win7 Home Premium x64 is what you want. If your budget is 'unlimited', get Win7 Ultimate x64.
     
  21. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I just purchased Win 7 Ultimate OEM for my rig at home.
    Time to catch up to the rest of you. lol

    First have to get my NAS working to do a backup, though.
     
  22. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    what is that thing that you get many keys for many programs for a yearly subscription again? Tech sommething I believe.. Similar to MSDN
     
  23. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    n-ster says thanks.
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Yea, that's great bang/buck... If I didn't have MSDN, I would be all over that
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,110 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,168
    I'd use Windows 7 Professional, and definitely use the 64-bit version. Even if you only have 2GB of RAM, use the 64-bit version.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page