1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows XP x64

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Darren, May 13, 2007.

  1. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I just installed windows XP x64, for some reason whenever I install an application it gets put in the C:/Program Files (x86) directory instead of the usual C:/Program Files Directory, is this normal behaviour?
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    if its a 32 bit application yes thats normal
  3. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    is xp 64 got as many bug in it as vista or is it as stable as xp 32?????
  4. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    It uses wow64 (what a crap name) as a compatibility layer, so yes that's normal.

    As for its stability, it's as stable as Windows Server 2003 (NT5.2), so yes, it's very stable (from first hand experience).
  5. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Actually, this is the best coincidence, I just got XP x64, and was about to install over my XP 32-bit. Glad to hear first hand that it's stable.
    Anyone know of anything on my system specs that is not supported what-so-ever or that I might have trouble with?
  6. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Not that I can see. When I tried to use Wireless with it (this was back in 2003 when it was in beta testing), I had to use Broadcom drivers because Linksys didn't provide x64 drivers at that point. But aside from that, everything worked out of the box.

    And yes, it was rock solid even then :)
  7. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Brilliant, especially because I'm not interested in using wireless :) wired ftw
    Thanks Atech for the words of wisdom, and I'm glad to hear it's stable, that was my main concern really.
    Anyhow, sorry for hijacking this thread for like, a few posts, but it saved me making a thread

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page