1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would a FX-8350 be a upgrade to a 2500k at 4.6ghz?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Caenlen29, May 16, 2013.

  1. Caenlen29

    Caenlen29 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    42 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I am just curious, kind of want an all AMD system since the next gen consoles coming will be running 8 core AMD processors, I figure game ports would run better on a FX-8350 in the future.


    If I were to OC the 8350 to say, 4.3ghz? and leave everything else the same (ram at 16gb and sapphire 7950 at 1200 core) would I see a benefit in current games or future games?
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Current games depending on what you are playing more than likely no. Very specific games show improvements stock vs stock. Future games no one knows, I assume that they will show vast improvements since all next gen consoles are slated to be AMD based, but that could change at any time.

    I would not downgrade/sidegrade to an FX8350 from an overclocked 2600K. Wait for steamroller and hope its better.
     
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    When i put my 8350 and i5 3570k in the same system (different mobos only), they both perform almost identically. 8350 clocked at 4.8, and i5 clocked at 4.4
     
    de.das.dude and Caenlen29 say thanks.
  4. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,389 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    I can confirm -
    my 8350 is clocked at 4.5 GHz (MOBO=Sabertooth 990FX R2)(GPU=7970)
    and the i5-3570K is clocked at 4.4 GHz (MOBO=Maximus GENE V) (GPU=GTX670)
    and both perform almost at same levels (in games and overall - NOT benchmarks)

    This is for my own account - I feel that the AMD system is performing a slight better in games (FarCry 3, Metro 2033, Bioshock Infinite)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Correct, 8350 performs better for me in Metro 2033, havent tried Last Light. Though Starcraft II does lag so bad on the i5 on custom maps so bad.
     
  6. MyTechAddiction

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    79 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    If you want an all AMD system nothing is gonna stop you but If you already have the 2500K then is not really an upgrade.
     
    Caenlen29 says thanks.
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I would wait till next release...
     
  8. Caenlen29

    Caenlen29 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    42 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    i'll stick with my i5-2500k at 4.6ghz then, thanks all. I was just curious.
     
  9. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Why upgrade to a FX 8350 now in the hope that it will run better in the future, particularly with future console game ports (from PS4/Xbox Infinity?), while your overclocked Intel Core i5 2500K is plenty fast for all latest PC games?

    I would just wait and see. You probably won't need to upgrade your CPU and/or GPU 'till the next-gen consoles are released with the real next-gen games. By then you probably want to upgrade to something newer and more powerful, e.g. Intel's Haswell. On the other hand PS4's Jaguar is a lot slower than your Core i5 2500K, the Jaguar is designed for netbooks/-tops in mind after all, though with 8 cores.
     
    Caenlen29 says thanks.
  10. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,563 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    I guess nobody will figure this out until big places decide it's article worthy, but Jaguar isn't really the same as PD. It's low end. It would be like saying we should all use Intel because next gen consoles use an 8 core Atom proc. It's totally irrelevant when the performance is so far eclipsed by desktop parts.
     
    Caenlen29 says thanks.
  11. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I've had all the AMD and Intel processors since the bloomfield 920 D0 stepping and I can 100% assure you that you'll notice no difference moving to a vishera 8350. I've had a 1090T, 920 D0, 2500k, 2600k, 3570k, 3770k, 3930k, fx 6100, fx 8120, and now a fx 8320. For gaming, you're more than good with a 2500k, those are still a very good processor for gaming.

    However. If you're looking to do streaming or anything that will properly utilize more than 4 cores, you will see a decent improvement moving to a 8350.
    Would I recommend doing that right now? Absolutely not. Steamroller is coming! :)
     
    Caenlen29 says thanks.
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    OP said he is staying with 2500k.
     
    Caenlen29 says thanks.
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,924 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,122
    not much difference in gaming. not worth the upgrade.

    unless your 2500K decides to die :p ahve seen a lot of 2500ks biting the dust.
     
  14. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    lucky you. i cannot get my 8350 that high.. at least not stably. im at 4.5Ghz right now. wanna share your bus speed and multiplier? im 215x21.. i got corsair h100 for cooling..
     
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    200x24 1.47v on a H100 with 1866mhz RAM
    LLC set to ultra high and other digi VRM stuff set to high, it was a little bit of fiddling with the options, but i never change the base clock, just the multi.
     
  16. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    hm, i have similar specs with ram. ill give it a try.. oh, and what board?
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    done on an Asus Sabertooth 990FX, and a Crosshair V Formula, your problem may be your board, or just an unlucky chip.
     
  18. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    no im kinda new to this, so i didnt really play around with it too much. i never even touched voltage yet. im at 1.40v..
     
  19. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    stick the voltage to 1.45, that was where I was most successful on clocks, anything above that and temps begin to rise...
    You should get 4.7ish on 1.45, maybe 4.6 if you're not so lucky. Set LLC to ultra. stick with 200 base clock and multi to 23.5 or 23, you're choice.
    My brother sucks at OC'ing, and he got 4.6ghz without knowing what he was doing at 1.45v with my old crosshair and 8350.
     
  20. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    cpu voltage or cpu nb voltage?
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Upgrade? No, not really. Upgrade when you need an upgrade, not because of what might happen in the future.
     
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    VCore (CPU Voltage), by no means NB!
     
  23. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    i think you were right about my board.. i tried sticking with a 200 bus, and changing the multiplier but.. everytime i set it 200x23, save settings, restarts with 215x23 lol. voltage is at 1.448-1.456. but i got it to go 215x22 so 4.73ghz. idles at 28°C


    and i couldnt find LLC anywhere..
     
  24. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Reset the CMOS i guess, LLC is kinda important because of the power control.
    But 4.7 is great :toast:

    hang on there sparky, just checked your board, its power is 4+1, not really made for heavy overclocking, i strongly recommend not pushing too much through the poor board, and try looking to get a 990fx
     
  25. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,571 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,682
    You should start your own thread.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page