1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WPrime Benchmark

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Chicken Patty, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Kei, if you can do a run at 3.7 GHz, I think you can move up over servermonkey, hes not far ahead of you!
     
    Kei says thanks.
  2. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    :(
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    dude, Kei is almost as fast as you with lower clocks. I noticed your HT Link is just over 1k, why????

    Raise that sucker up to about 1.8-2.0 GHz, im sure your times will improve a lot!!!!
     
  4. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    I know....there are a few 3.9 that are faster than my 4.0...
    as for the ht...i know this! i just try to figure out how to raise it...
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well ckn pat, not without ram that does 1066+ and good air or midrange water I wont get any further. :ohwell: So far the highest I had this chip was at 4043mhz. resulted in a BSOD when attempting to get a prime run (trying to keep ram above 1Ghz).
     
  6. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Yes monkey that was still on the stock cooler. :)

    I also forgot to change the ram setting from unganged back to ganged so there is more speed to be had. I run unganged all day as it's faster over the things I do all day, but for this benchmark ganged proves to be faster for me (you should try that too btw).

    I'm certain that I won't beat monkey because he can just turn the northbridge up and slaughter me anyway :p

    Btw, I got 3.5Ghz stable on 1.456v but that's as low as I can go on the voltage right now for that clock. I didn't have any problems before, but I never tried to find out what voltage is required to make it 100% stable so now I finally know.

    Kei <----is still going to try though :D
     
    servermonkey says thanks.
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    What amazes me the most is a 3 year old CPU ( mainly the Q6600 ) is still giving you Phenom II owner a clear run for the money even though the Phenom II is faster and better it just seems like a huge feet that the Older slower quad core Q6600 is still running strong a testament of just how far Intel has come from the OLD P4 days IMHO . Rock on Q6600 Rock on :rockout:
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  8. Xtant25

    Xtant25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    178 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Tulsa,OK
    Heres Mine E8600 @ 5220MHz On Phase Change 14.781s[​IMG]
     
  9. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    The Q6600 does have some very good performance but the PII is definitely faster as I can beat the guys clocked much higher than I (4Ghz) without being nearly the same clock and with locked settings that cripple me even further.

    The Q6600 is indeed a legend of a processor in my eyes though, it's amazing what it's been able to do over these years.

    I just looked now and I've only got 2 more Q6600 guys ahead of me and they've got mega clocks going.

    1. Core 2 Quad Q6600 4604 MHz - 9.844 (better by 0.451)
    2. Core 2 Quad Q6600 4005 MHz - 10.249 (better by 0.046)

    The first one I'll have to change my system speed another tick and I believe I can get him. The second one I only have to redo my run but this time with ganged memory (made a mistake last time and forgot to change it back) and I'll have him.

    I'm not sure though really if I can quite get that first one due to board limitations with both voltage and max Bus speed I can use. I can't set anything more than 1.50v and I can't go over a 266Mhz bus speed (no matter what chip or multiplier as I've tried several). That means the most I can possibly do is 3.724Ghz but I don't know if I can get enough voltage to make that stable enough to get in some runs. I haven't tried yet at 1.50v so I guess I'll give that a shot and see what happens. :)

    Again, I have to say Intel really did a great job with the Q6600 processor.

    Kei
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  10. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    ganged u say? hmmm
    lemme try .......

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    updated.
     
    Xtant25 says thanks.
  12. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    My almost final run on this board...

    @ monkey

    Humph, it always works that way for me. I even checked just now and it was still better with ganged for Wprime. The only programs that I can think of that run better with ganged are SuperPi and Wprime and that's it on my system.
    =======================================================

    Right then, I ALMOST matched the 15th spot run of 9.844 but I can't get anything more with the available voltage that I have. Since my board won't allow me to go above 1.50v for the processor I can't get a run in past 264Mhz which is 3.696Ghz. I also really wish I had the option to adjust max latency for the ram available in the bios like I've had on some other boards (wonder why ASUS stopped putting it in their boards?).

    Anyway I came sooooo close to breaking the 10 second barrier but alas it's just not to be right now. My final score I can do on this board is....

    10.000 sec :p

    Maybe it IS really time to step up to the M3A79-T afterall...still a damn good showing for the M3A32 MVP Deluxe though and I'm proud of it SB600 and all! :D

    Kei
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  13. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Kei says thanks.
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    that places you fifth AMD, 16th total. :toast: now lets see what servermonkey has up his sleeve for this one :D
     
    Kei says thanks.
  15. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    how the f***
    grrrrrrrrrrrr
     
    Kei says thanks.
  16. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Haha, I know I said that was THE final run for this board but I'm still working at it with one last trick I think might get me the true last run I can get. I'm still not sure though it's a long shot.

    Kei
     
  17. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    :D thanks I keep forgetting to get the newest version. I always keep a copy on a disc/harddrive so that when I do a fresh install I have a copy of everything I need to install that I can actually get. Then I install it and forget about it...everything else is the newest version though I assure you....okay except prolly SuperPi :p

    Kei
     
  18. OCQuadNick New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thought id just go ahead and do a two core bench as well =] WOOT for AMD!!! =O

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :toast:

    updated.
     
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    OCQuadNick you are the the quickest AMD in the dual core league! 10th overall.

    LOoks like Kei and monkey have some catch up to do!
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Nippin' on my heels now huh Kei? Don't you worry I will better my last run. ;)

    @OCQuadNick

    Whats your ram speed and timings in that run?
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
    Kei says thanks.
  22. OCQuadNick New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hmmm this tempting me to take the single core margin =] :D,WOOOT,actually i will ;], will repost in >30 :rockout:,

    Edit: ram speed 800mhz next run im going to up the FSB instead of the multi =[]
     
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    haha, its good I label independently in each category, if not everybody will be pissed.

    you can have the quickest overall, but I still label out the quickest true single core which in this case it is Melvis at the moment, BY FAR! so its like two scoreboards in one.
     
  24. OCQuadNick New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yah, i know =p but here it is =]


    [img=http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/7849/singlecore9404gak2.th.jpg]
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Still got more in her .....

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page