1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB][US] socket 478 cooler

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by strick94u, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    I need a swifttech or something bad ass for a socket 478 cpu for my socket 479 project if anyone has one let me know how much
     
  2. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    Somebody has to have something cool laying around
     
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    water or air? i may have something.
     
  4. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    not sure what do you think the T5250 1.5 ghz cpu will be able to do?
     
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    water would be better. a decent air cooler would suffice though. i've seen that chip do 2.15ghz. it's hard to find info on. all i get is "it would be better to upgrade your laptop to a t7300..."

    i've run a TON of mobile chips on desktops and OCed. the old athlon mobile chips were actually better than the desktop chips. i had a 2600+ that OCed like mad(compared to chips out at the time).
     
  6. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    Yup thats how I got the T5250 I changed to a T7300 Air will do I bet But ya know I have a 478 TEC and 320 mean well I was able to get a 2.8 hyper threading up to 3.98 ghz in 2004
    but pulled it off when it started frosting. It scares me :laugh:
    I think I want to use air and there is not much out there.
     
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i have a swiftech 775 TEC block and as long as you have the insulation on the block your ok. my swiftech will actually give you frostbite if you hold your finger on it too long!
     
  8. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    I would have to modifie for a 775 cooler to work in fact I will have to mod a 478 t5250 is shorter yet sits in a 478 cooler config.The board comes with a decent cooler that will fit I will build with that maybe see how high it will go.Ill send you some pics after it gets here see if we can't figure how to modifie it.
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    i have a stock Prescott cooler with a big copper slug at the bottom

    [​IMG]
     
  10. tiys

    tiys New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    373 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    The Keystone State (Pennsylvania)
    I know someone who has a stock cooler, if you could do something with that...

    but sorry, I dont have any 478 coolers :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page