1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB/WFF][US] SD RAM & AGP graphics

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Ripper3, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    [WTB/WFF][UK] SD RAM & AGP graphics

    Recently got myself a PowerMac G4/400 Sawtooth, and I found that the company that used it upgraded the RAM in the lazy way. It came with 64MB SD RAM originally, and they just simply added another 3 sticks of 64MB. The ATi Rage 128 Pro 16MB is still in the AGP slot too, which doesn't support Quartz Extreme or Core Image.

    So, I am looking for some SD RAM. Must be the full-sized 168-pin RAM sticks, and ECC or non-ECC doesn't matter. Density and how many modules are on the stick don't matter either, as long as the stick isn't more than 512MB.
    Graphics card must be AGP 2x compatible, so, it should have two keys in the AGP slot. Anything above a GeForce 2 MX and Radeon AGP supports QE, but I'd prefer a Radeon 9500/9700, or a GeForce 5200/5500, or GeForce 6200. Anything with a reference PCB would be best.

    Short version:
    Looking for SD RAM, 128/256/512MB sticks.
    GeForce 4 Ti4600 / FX5200 Ultra / 6200 (low-profile) AGP / Radeon 9500 (non-Pro/Pro) / Radeon 9700 (Pro preferable)

    I've got a low budget, so anything for free would be brilliant, but I know that's basically not going to happen.
    I don't mind buying from the US, but only if the shipping isn't too expensive.
    I'm not bothered about whether it's got special/dead coolers, or is already flashed for Mac, or if it's still got the stock firmware, I can replace the fan, and I can flash it myself easily enough.
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2008
  2. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Florida, US
    I just game my friend my 9800XT
  3. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    got 2 sticks of 512mb pc100/133 ram lying around somewhere, not sure how much its worth,
    edit- -found em,
    [​IMG]
  4. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    585 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    Hey, I tried selling my X800gto agp to a guy not too long ago, but the deal fell through, if your interested, I can post pics. It comes with everything the origional box came with. It's a Sapphire.

    PS, I also have a bunch of ecc 256mb pc100, and some 256 pc100 and 128mb pc100 all in a shoe box with pentium 3's... ive got all the pics saved on my computer, but its a bunch... so ill get on that.

    pps is an x800 agp2x compatible... im not even sure???
  5. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    @ Scrizz: Shame that, but either way, the XT won't fit into the Sawtooth, they only support 2x, and unless the 9800XT came on a Pro board, it supports 4x and 8x only.

    @ spud: Could you hold onto those for me until about the 1st/2nd of March? I forgot to mention I'll be in Portugal for this next week (Saturday to Saturday). I'm really not sure what they're worth either. Prices of SD RAM are all over the place.

    @ Basard: X800 GTO is tempting, but like the 9800XT, it won't fit in the AGP 2x slot, unfortunately. Wish I had bought one of the newer G4s.
    I might be interested in the RAM though. Again, as above to spud, I'll be away for a week, so please hold it for me, I'll have a look see.
  6. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Wow, I did the same exactly thing as you -- I was given an old Sawtooth as well, and I upgraded it with RAM from this site (StarMicro.net). The site isn't the flashiest, but I've bought many sticks of older RAM and processors from them, and everything's always worked, not to mention that their prices are always loads cheaper than anyone else.

    I also happen to have a 9700 Pro laying around, but I'm hesitant as hell to part with it... ;)
  7. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    585 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
  8. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    will do, i doubt there going anywhere till then, is £20 reasonable?
    had them running in a skt478 board, swapped the board for one that took ddr,
  9. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    @ spud: Yup, £20 is reasonable to me.

    @ mdm-adph: Well use it, or sell it. 9700 Pros may not be selling like hot cakes, but you can sometimes find people, like us, that get older machines that are still capable, and a 9700 Pro complements them pretty well (not to mention, in a Mac, a 9700 Pro is more than enough for some WoW play - without having to shell out for an uber-expensive 6800 or X1900 - which a few Mac owners I know indulge in frequently), and they do sell for a premium sometimes (mostly when there's only one on Ebay at a given time)
    Also, that site has pretty good prices. Funny how expensive older equipment is sometimes.

    @ Basard: I've had a look, I'll have to confirm whether the PowerMac actually does take ECC or not, because actually, now I'm not quite certain.
  10. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Oh, I was hesitant because I'm just waiting to flash it and stick in the Sawtooth, as a matter of fact -- just waiting until I'm sure there's no other need for it anywhere else. Got a flashed 5200 128-bit 256mb in there now -- it's PCI, strangely enough, but it does the trick.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    hey you cant run anything over a 4x agp card in your mac they wont be backwards compatable

    best you will be able to find is a radeon 8X00 series card or ti4X00 series card
  12. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    From what I've read, it can run AGP 8x cards that have backwards-compatibility with AGP 2x slots, for example the 9700 Pro, but basically anything after that is incompatible. The 9700 still has 2 keys in the slot, while the AGP 8x cards only need one key in the slot towards the rear, while AGP 2x uses a key towards the front.
    Really, for all intents and purposes, a ti4600 is probably the most powerful card I'll have a need for in this Mac anyhow, while the Radeon 9200 is also an option, I've read it's slower than the Radeon 7000 in Macs at the very least.

    @ spud: Sending some PM your way.
  13. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    well i have a 256mb chip laying around yours for 5 bucks lol


    also didn't mac AGP cards differ from PC Agp cards?
  14. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Yeah, but they can be flashed.
    ATi graphics cards are more likely to contain a 128k ROM, but a lot of people have been able to shrink the image down to 64k to fit a conventional PC graphics card, but I think it was rare when you needed to do that.
    Nvidias tend to have the smaller 64k ROMs, but I think quite a few can be flashed with a modified ROM, without the need to flash a new 128k ROM chip.
    The only other differences are with Mac graphics cards with ADB ports, which I believe were basically Mac-only DVI ports that supplied power and USB connectivity in one, so the graphics card needed to draw more power. My Sawtooth isn't compatible with those, so I need not worry, especially since most of those cards were not compatible with AGP 2x, which used 3.3V for signalling rather than 1.5V of later AGP versions. Those graphics cards usually had extra connectors just for the power either way, for example, the 6800 Ultra Mac Edition, which was a huge 12" long card, which included the extra power circuitry for the ADB port.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page