1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX Releases Intel G31-based XG31i Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Although Pine, the parent company of XFX, isn't new to making motherboards based on Intel chipsets, it could well be the first time it is using the XFX brand and design to sell an LGA 775 socket motherboard based on an Intel chipset, in this case, the entry-level G31.

    The XG31i is an entry-level motherboard, in the mATX form-factor. It takes care of the essentials, using a single PCI-Express x16, and two PCI slots, dual-channel DDR2 memory supported by two memory slots, onboard Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3100 to provide display output through a single D-Sub connector, and 8-channel audio. Interestingly, the clear CMOS button, and diagnostic LED display is provided on the rear-panel. XFX plans to set a modest price to propagate this motherboard through the entry-level market.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2008
  2. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Thats a nice little motherboard, if its price is right I might use it in my upcoming system. The cmos switch will be useful for overclocking as well.
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    lets hope these nvidia motherboard manufacturers lose their "SLI only mentality" and make Intel motherboard with both CF and SLi capabilities.
  4. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I think G31 chipset is Intel chipset mobo, not NVIDIA.
  5. will

    will

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    455 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Hereford, England
    Looks ok, probably the best looking G31 mobo! Why did they put the 4 pin CPU power socket in the middle of the board tho ffs :banghead: just means there are cables everywhere obstructing the airflow which is even more essential in mATX boards in small cases... Also why only 2 ram slots, most other G31 boards have 4... Unless this is really cheap I dont really see the appeal.
  6. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    is that mATX?
  7. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes.
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Brand dilution at its best :shadedshu
  9. Smith_X New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    which CPU fit for G31? Is it for Atom330 ?? I think my next pc is Atom330. It can handle everything I need.
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No. Atom is not a processor that you "fit" onto a motherboard. It comes "fitted" onto a motherboard. G31 is a general LGA-775 CPU supportive chipset.
    KBD says thanks.
  11. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    wow, didnt know that, that means no upgrade path for Atom board owners :laugh:
  12. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    On my FOXCONN, it's on the upper left of the mobo (upper right if you use that above picture for reference). It works out really well if you're trying to hide cables, not so much if you accidentally did that part last and have to mobo in + the CPU cooler already on. I spent a while, but it got on! XD (...The CPU cooler ended up being backwards and still is, but, for moving no air, this cooler rocks)
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    g31 , ohh, that's quick
  14. SirMango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    109 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    XFX released a board with an Intel chipset? Wow...
  15. faris New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    who fownd error about xfx g31

    i have problime the mobo win you power it start thine stop thine start and conteuwes the problem is normal or problem in mobo and can i fex it

    thank:roll:
  16. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Looks pretty sweet! XFX should make some more motherboards with intel chipsets.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page