1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

xp pro full. retail,oem ect ?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by hydrive40, Jun 7, 2005.

1. hydrive40 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hey guys I'm new at this so forgive my jargan. I wont to buy the best xp pro full version I guess that I can install as many times as I need to. for I have done a fresh install as hight as 4 times in one year because of viruses,Ect...But I don't wont to have to repay everytime I need to reinstall. I read somewhere to apply for a professional licence or corperate.That you can use it as many times as you like? Plus I think I have pirated copy of pro for now I can't install any active X even with excepting all cookies plus active x prompt. I don't won't to pay alot for xp pro but I do won't to be legal. can anybody help me out. they sell some with a heat sink at walmart at a good price but are they what I 'm looking for. Thanx for your time, Hydrive40

Pent4 1.3 mhz
    40 gig Hd 380 rambus 850
    400 fsb

2. intel igent

intel igent New Member

Thanks Received:
    i have an oem copy of xp pro sp2 that i got with my computer and i have loaded it many times (due to viruses and corrupted files) without problems or paying extra, just have to reactivate, so as long as you have a legitamate copy of the software you can use it as much as you like.

3. Thermopylae_480

Thermopylae_480 New Member

Thanks Received:
    I've never heard of having to pay everytime you install windows :eek: . How odd?

4. wazzledoozle

wazzledoozle New Member

Thanks Received:
    Care to explain how you end up paying each install?

5. Polaris573

Polaris573 Senior Moderator

Thanks Received:
    While wer're on the subject of XP... I have both XP pro and home edition, I havn't noticed much of a difference between the two except for a few extra features. Is pro really worth the extra $50?