1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Year Long GeForce 6200 Color Problem

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by D2C, Jun 6, 2009.

  1. D2C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Everyone

    I wasn't sure exactly where I should have posted this so .. Your It! :roll:

    I feel that my last hope is with you guys!
    I have a Gateway GM5045E MCE PC. (I Know .. My Bad) :cry:

    It has the Nvidia GeForce 6200 Turbo Cache card. (Integrated)?

    A little over a year ago .. The display colors went south on me.
    (Washed out with the reds showing as almost black).

    The pc sat in a repair shop for 2 months with everything being tried.
    New video card, new and more powerful power unit, new drivers .. etc. etc.
    Nothing ever worked and no solutions were ever given.

    Well, I put the pc in the closet for 6 months and then one day, on a whim, I pulled it out and did a complete destructive re-install.

    It had Beautiful color again after the install .. for about a week.

    I kept using it for a few weeks and .. once in a while the colors would flash back to the correct colors.

    They would only stay 'correct' for a short time then revert to the washed out look. :banghead:

    New cables, different monitors .. all the hardware checks out.

    Heres my newest Dilemma: From right out of the box, I could never get a display when hooking up to the 6200 card.
    It's always had to run through the onboard port.

    Checking in Device Manager, Belarc Advisor and Everest .. according to their stats, I have only a GeForce 6100 in the display Adapter category.
    (I'm guessing that is the Northbridge Chip)? :confused:

    I've tried and I can't load the GeForce 6200 driver and have no clue as to why not? (the video card is still in the pc)

    As an aside: Is there a way to check the video card's "slot" with a multi-meter for power?

    ANY Ideas would be Greatly Appreciated.

    Thanks
    D2C
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2009
  2. D2C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I forgot this ..
    This was always a 2005 Media Center Edition but my system specs now reads as 2002!

    A BIOS problem maybe?

    D2C
  3. D2C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I thought I'd take a shot and put a screen capture of my Device Manager on here to see if anyone sees Anything that could be causing me the problems that I am having.

    Thanks Everyone

    Attached Files:

  4. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Your video card is nVidia 6150 and it is integrated into the motherboard chipset. It uses shared RAM from the system's memory.

    I had a similar problem with a videocard. In my case the reds never came back. Computer display adapters use R (red), G (green) and B (blue) lines to create any color in the RGB spectrum. It seems that the R part is fried. This happens when you connect/disconnect the monitor while the computer and the monitor are on because of the difference of potential.

    So your videocard is partially fried. Unfortunately it is integrated. So you'll need to replace the motherboard.
    D2C says thanks.
  5. mcloughj

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    303 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    In other words buy a new PC! A 6200 won't play much in the line of games nowadays anyway- so cough up €300 and get your self something a little more up to date!
  6. D2C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sihastru

    I was afraid of that.

    That's why I went out and bought this one:
    http://tinyurl.com/qldz68

    Thank You "So Much" .. I guess I can stop fooling around with the other one now.
    A new board would not be worth the cost to fix it, I'd guess.

    A YEAR and I Finally got the answer I was looking for!
    (Well .. Maybe not 'That' answer) LOL
  7. D2C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sihastru

    I was thinking .. (I Know, Dangerous) .. couldn't I just get another 6200 video card?

    Also, I see where you can buy the chipsets online?
    The card itself sits in the pci ex slot and just pulls out and it doesn't look too difficult to replace the chipset?

    Both the card and chipset are cheap.


    Also, what would account for the colors flashing from good to bad sometimes?
    Thanks

    (My wife loves that machine)
  8. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    So you are using a discrete card then. If you can take the card out of the slot, then replace the card. You don't need to replace the motherboard also. I thought you were using the integrated card, since, from the description I found online about the Gateway system.

    So, if there is a separate 6200 card in the system, and the monitor is connected to it. Take it out, put a new one in.
  9. D2C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sihastru

    This is where my confusion comes in.
    From the day I brought the pc home and plugged it in .. I could never plug 'directly' into the GeForce6200 card and get a signal .. never!
    Didn't matter if you turned the onboard off or not.
    From day one, It always had to run from the onboard port.
    I have been told so many different things about the workings of the video that I just don't know what to believe.

    I've been told that the 6200 card which is plugged into the pci ex slot works 'with' the onboard.

    If I disable the onbord, I get the same colors but, the scrolling, mouse movements and magnifier are jerky as hell.

    All of this while still being plugged into the onboard port.
    No matter what .. You can Never get anything when you plug into the GeForce 6200 card's port.

    Other cards have been tried by the now defunct 'techs' at Circuit City (firedog) and they Did get a display through the new cards but the colors were still messed up!

    I don't know if they tried disabling the onboard at the time.
    They didn't seem to know too much after keeping the pc for two months!

    Why would Gateway have a GeForce card in the unit in the first place if you could only run it using the onboard with it?
    Can you see my confusion here? LOL

    BTW: This new pc of mine .. Is Great .. (Even if it is another Gateway).

    Thanks
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,187
    Who ever told you that is probably already being or has been sued for thousands in damages or if they own a business then their probably already bankrupt.

    What youve been told is very hard to believe because 1 - its a gateway. 2 - its an old pc

    Only more upto date systems can do that & thats whats known as 'Hybrid SLi'


    like the guys say - open the case up, if you find you can take the card out then its just a simple case of replacing it with something new. there are plenty of choices to chose from. IF you just use it to watch videos a cheaper HD ready card will more then suffice for your needs.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page