1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Yet another build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freaksavior, May 28, 2008.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    me and my brother have been building a system on newegg for a guy he knows and we HAVE decided on this stuff. i am just not 100% sure a 450w psu is enough for it.

    what do you think?

    [​IMG]


    price is $1014

    i added a 550w psu from corsair and it brings it to $1044
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2008
  2. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,698 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    727
    Id get at least a 700watt. OCZ makes some damn good PSU's. Ive personally owned a 600watt model and am currently using a 850.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,058
    The PSU may work, but I prefer having a little more overhead for upgrading. Go with the HX520 or HX620, but the choice is up to you. I would also stay away from Newegg "Open Box" items.
     
  4. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    I would personally get a 550w on that rig. It may run on a 450w, but you do not want to stress the PSU, as its efficiency, heat levels, and quality of power get affected when the PSU get near its max continual wattage rating.

    A 650w wouldn't be bad as well, since you will have more room to expand in the future. :D

    Edit: Seasonic make great PSU's, so I would stick with them. Corsair and PC Power and Cooling PSU's are Seasonics, since those are just rebagged.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I dont see why a 450w wouldnt work? And why open box on the board :(
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That particular psu will power it fine, just don't expect to do a lot of overclcoking. If he's running it stock, or near stock, it will be fine.
     
  7. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    its out of stock atm and oem is fine, i bought oem before.

    i dont want to go crazy here. he isn't oc. if he does may very mild like to 3.0 or something.

    the last pc this guy had was a celery (yes i said that on purpose) 1.8ghz 512mb ddr 20gb hard and on board video. so this will be a HUGE upgrade for him
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Then that psu is plenty for him.

    Personally, I would still go a little higher, just for future upgrade purposes, but for that particular setup, it will be fine.
     
  9. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    i put the hx 550 in it. so its got a little upgrade. and im going to convince my bro so get the board retail. the bad side of oem is no io sheild or cables, or drive cd to get you started :( and its only $15 more
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    HX550 is a nicer choice. As far as the board, it's not OEM, it's open box. That means somebody returned it for some reason. I would definitely try to convince him a new retail boxed mobo is a better deal.
     
  11. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Why 8gb of ram?
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I would say why not? lol.

    Who knows, maybe he does a lot of rendering or Photoshopping?
     
  13. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yeah I guess so, I was just thinking $94 could be spent better elsware......
     
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If he isn't photoshopping or rendering, you're probably right. I would spend it on a better gfx card, personally.
     
  15. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    i thought the same, but my brother wants to do 8gb.

    Thanks for the help guys.

    there shouldn't be a clearnece issue with any of the parts like the reaper heat pipes and the cooler right?
     
  16. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I'd like to recomend better blue LED fans:

    Either thermaltake thunderblade (which i own):

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811999127

    Very nice quiet fans, always run at one speed, much better dba than Link Depot

    OR

    These Coolermaster fans:

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...ge=product_info&cPath=36_69&products_id=22966

    They go from very quiet low speed to a high speed of 2500RPM moving 110CFM of air at 38 dba! Your friend can use that fan controller to tone em down or bring em up


    Also, may be a faster hard drive, like Samsung F1 or WD SE16?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page