1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    Location:
    canada
    New case and tubes only paid 40$ for the case.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sassanou

    Sassanou

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    52 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Hi !

    My new mod in progress at this moment on Cosmos SE case ;)



    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  3. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,735 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,852
    You need to open a separate thread in the correct section for this question(s). Thanks
     
    ypoora1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,139 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Looks nice but you should prop that videocard up before it tears out your PCI-E slot!!!

    You could hang a string from the top of the case to the power connectors or something.

    Did you use a donor for the motherboard tray flip or did you rotate the Cosmos tray?

    Very cool!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2014
    ypoora1 says thanks.
  5. Sassanou

    Sassanou

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    52 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    I rotated the Cosmos tray ;)
     
    Vario says thanks.
  6. ypoora1

    ypoora1

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    145 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    NL
    Got it figured out, no more need to. Also got a Ckrsair AF120 Quiet. I'll post pics soon :D
     
  7. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    [​IMG]

    New bigger desk put together.
     
  8. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,139 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Can I do that with my Cosmos 1000?
     
  9. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,227 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Switzerland
    o_O
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2014
  10. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,227 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Switzerland
  11. neliz

    neliz

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    362 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Netherlands / Taiwan
    updated:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    v12dock, Doc41, cadaveca and 4 others say thanks.
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,636 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    love the gfx neliz, what is it? AMD or Nvidia?
     
  13. neliz

    neliz

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    362 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Netherlands / Taiwan
    R9 290. Wasn't expecting a big upgrade coming from an i7 860, but so far everything is just much smoother/stabler.

    Next step is swapping out my good-old Vertex2 120GB because of the incompatibility issues with Intel 8 series chipsets.

    [​IMG]

    P.S. (work mouse, it sucks for gaming!)
     
  14. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    i so need a camera.

    [​IMG]

    still a wip.

    braided cables
    mod the floor for rad
    paint the ram and grills
    wet the gpu

    lights? idk?
     
    Doc41, Vario, cadaveca and 1 other person say thanks.
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,636 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    haha awesome mousepad totally love the desu msi anime girl ^^
     
    Doc41 says thanks.
  16. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,828 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    Desu? i would say chibi instead, oh well both qualify :roll:

    next change: Greiver is going APU road, i will get next week a A10-7700K, why not a 7850K you would ask, well i got the 7700K for ~80chf it makes it half the price of it and 110chf less than the 7850K

    willing to lower the watts eating rate, i will get rid of the 580 do some IGP bench and later Hybrid CFX with a R7 250 (that leave me with one question i should post in AMD sub-forum but: for Hybrid CFX most review recommend getting a DDR3 variant instead of a DDR5 since the IGP use standard DDR3, is it right?)

    now for "my pc atm" salvaged DC7900 (already in nostalgic hardware club but since he is fully functional under win 7 why not also posting it here :D )
    the 5450 is in just for testing purpose, i found it without HDD but in a total pristine condition: Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16ghz 4gb DDR2 (added 2gb to push it to 6gb) less noisy than the DC7700 (1 fan less) and a surprisingly nice heatsink (for a retail pc ...)
    IMG_20140413_123658.jpg IMG_20140413_123751.jpg IMG_20140413_124250.jpg IMG_1149.JPG
     

    Attached Files:

    Doc41, cadaveca and puma99dk| say thanks.
  17. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,139 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    APU's use the desktop ram so they would use DDR3. Don't bother doing Hybrid CFX, get a Radeon 7850 if you want a nice low power GCN platform. You can run 1080p on high settings, very awesome cards.
     
  18. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,828 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    oh im not doing it only for lowering the watts bill :D but also for the sake of benching, now i know that a 7850 would give me better results but the price of the 7700K (with the rebate) + the 240/250 will cost me less than a 7850 actually, mind you i have a 760K+ a GTX 580 and i had a R9 270 before the 580 did cost me 89chf less than the R9 and give better result for FPS ingame but eats more watts, so if i can achieve a playable FPS (with minor tweak on the settings) with a 7700K and some DDR3 2133mhz i am happy

    for the 240/250 i will take a LP model so if i decide to take a new GPU later on, i can use it for the DC7900 :D

    now for staying on the to-pics some pics of the Arima dual 940 board that replaced my Master3-133 FA4R
    before
    IMG_1109.JPG
    after
    IMG_1130.JPG IMG_1125.JPG IMG_1134.JPG
    IMG_1124.JPG

    still some work to do on it :roll:

    edit: my question was not about the APU's RAM but the vRAM type of the card since eteknix recommend DDR3 type over DDR5 (at last there is some 2gb model in DDR3):

    "Before you even get started with the Dual Graphics/ Hybrid CrossFire setting up process you first have to select an appropriate graphics card appropriate for your APU. AMD’s recommendations are seen below, however, we’ve chosen to do things slightly different. We paired up the A10-7850K with the Sapphire R7 250 2GB DDR3 graphics card and the A10-7700K with the XFX R7 240 1GB DDR3 passive graphics card, both pictured above. We feel if you’re buying into the A8-7600 you’re unlikely to want to CrossFire discrete graphics as the A8-7600′s main selling point is its low power – adding a discrete graphics card ruins that advantage. All Kaveri APUs will work with any “Oland” based R7 series graphics card meaning in theory you can use the R7 240 (Oland Pro) and R7 250 (Oland XT) with any APU. Note that only Oland GPUs work, the R7 250X is “Cape Verde” and the R7 260(X) are “Bonaire” so will not.

    You may also be thinking, why DDR3 models? Well this is simple. The APU uses system memory, your system memory is DDR3 and its speed determines the graphics memory speed of your APU graphics. If you use DDR3-2000MHz memory then you should use an R7 240 or R7 240 that also uses DDR3 memory of a similar frequency. Using a GDDR5 card will bring no benefit because both cards have to operate at the same frequencies to work as far as I am aware. Therefore if you have 5GHz GDDR5 you are no better off than with 2GHz DDR3 in Dual Graphics. This obviously means that the faster your system memory is, which is effectively the bottleneck in an APU system, the faster your graphics card can run and the better the overall performance is. However, the caveat to this is that APUs are often budget systems so you’re unlikely to have expensive high speed memory, most people will opt for something in the 1600-2133MHz range as this is where it is most affordable."
     
    Mydog, Vario, Doc41 and 1 other person say thanks.
  19. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,139 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    R7 250 is kind of a stinker if its like the r7 240, I was talking with a fellow on here about his build and he was really dissatisfied with the 240 (granted its not a 250 but its close), really don't think you should go this route, plus why not run ddr5, if the hybrid crossfire x doesn't work out then you are handicapped even more than the regular r7 250. If you run ddr5 on the vga and ddr3 in the apu, wouldn't it just run the ddr5 at ddr3 speed anyway?

    get another Athlon x4 760 instead of a apu if you are gonna use a discrete at all, jmho

    edit: also r7 250x is way different than the 250, and way more powerful, maybe run a 250x without hybrid crossfire, i just really think hybrid crossfire is a bad idea
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014
  20. Kovoet

    Kovoet

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Updates to the case
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Plus a back plate added to mu sound card
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    marsey99, Doc41, GreiverBlade and 4 others say thanks.
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,227 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,511
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Just a few changes:


    [​IMG]
     
  22. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,106 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Not saying I don't like it, because I do love a big fan on that heatsink, even more so on an itx board. Does that not defeat the purpose of that cooler over other options? Or are you just using what you had around?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,955 (8.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,241
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Just using what I have around, there's literally no performance to be gained with a better cooler, although at some point I do want to start colour coordinating the system so I'll be getting an MSI Dragon water cooler in the near future.
     
    neliz says thanks.
  24. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,556 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    Tossed in another 780ti?
     
    GreiverBlade and cadaveca say thanks.
  25. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,250 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,002
    And turned the SLI bridge the right way. ;)
     
    GreiverBlade and cadaveca say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page