1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,464 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,700
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    selling 2 290 and getting 1 780? eh? a single 290 is on par with a 780, the only way to be profitable would be selling 2 290 and getting 2 780 or 1 780Ti or wait till the next gen.

    nice rig btw
     
    Gabkicks and GhostRyder say thanks.
  2. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,516 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    agreed, if your gonna sell the two R9s i'd get a single more powerful 780ti, if possible (i know nVidia can be more expensive) and possible the 6GB model
     
    Gabkicks says thanks.
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    A single 780 Ti would be a downgrade
     
    Gabkicks says thanks.
  4. Gabkicks

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    195 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    I have a ASUS gtx 780 DCII OCjust sitting here for no reason already purchased 0_0
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,464 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,700
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    you didn't specify it in the original post, also if you go 2 780 for 2 290 it's a side-grade, CFX has less and less issue and frame pacing isn't a good enough argument anymore for switching, plus the 780 is marginally slower than the 290
    sell your 780 and use the money for something else (IE: like a WC loop for the GPU's) or wait the new gen then sell your 780 + your 2 290.

    testing the Vendeta 2 ... well ... not bad not bad, and huhu retro cable management in a NZXT Nemesis
    IMG_1186.JPG IMG_1191.JPG IMG_1188.JPG IMG_1189.JPG
     
    cadaveca, Doc41 and Gabkicks say thanks.
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,193 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,819
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    its been a while i havent seen any old school case with top psu
     
  7. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,464 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,700
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    there are some new case with top psu in the news ... bahahaha ... (NZXT Nemesis 2004)
     
  8. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    My first attempt into w/c
    [​IMG][/URL]

    Minor modification
    [​IMG]

    Then
    [​IMG]

    Now
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And my new baby(sneak peak)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2014
  9. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,500 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,672
    @springs113 You already know what I think: Looks awesome!!! :toast:
     
    springs113 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325

    porn!
     
  11. Recca29

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    186 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Delhi India
    ha ha ha:roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Location:
    TEXAS
    NIC on my board died :( good thing the brick and mortar down the street carries low profile black ones :)

    [​IMG]

    Also my battle station

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2014
    THE_EGG, HammerON, cadaveca and 2 others say thanks.
  13. karklinskarlis1993

    karklinskarlis1993

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    162 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Tangent Universe
    hello in there, this could be called my workstation.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    yeah, i know the second card has no power connecter plugged in.

    finally got my i7-4790k clocked to the 4.5Ghz/1.230V with stable max 85 degrees when under full load. i guess, i bought bad chip with even worse silicon on it. when i push to the 4.6ghz, it gots cooked up pretty fast when running through prime95 for about 25minutes with approx. 95+ degrees. its getting weird when you realise you got quality water cooling on it. any advices with similiar setup appreciated!
     
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,775 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    Oregon
    What do you mean "Quality water cooling" I have the 4790K with a H100 and can do 4.6 1.3v and its not anywhere close to that temp. I fairly sure it was under 70c on Prime95. Ill double check later. Check your mounting
     
    karklinskarlis1993 says thanks.
  15. karklinskarlis1993

    karklinskarlis1993

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    162 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Tangent Universe
    mine is getting 70c as well for most of the time, but there is some kind of loop of the stresstest, when it comes to the edge and pushes all the power out. for a while, and it gets 90 and above. then it downgrades to more appropriate temperatures.

    i will take a look inside and reattach the cooler from beginning, but i bet i have done anything right. thermal grease is painted all correctly. i will be really thankful if you rerun the prime and share with your sight.
    cheers.
     
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,775 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    Oregon
    Painted? I just use a grain of rice of AS5 in the middle and tighten it up.
     
  17. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    743 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    685
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just moved and most things are still in piles, that includes most of my PC's. So a rare look at all of them in 1 photo. The grey boxes are old machines which I'm planning to do something with at some point. :p

    IMG_0849.JPG
    The 2 black PC's are installed and usable. It's a surprisingly comfortable use experience, as long as I don't have to use the mouse much. :p And Steam in-home streaming works even if the computers are directly connected. :D

    Also installed some filters on my Shoebox PC.
    IMG_0847.JPG
    Looks snazzy, don't they? :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    I've used a few chips and they all do this, before a pass finishes temps fluctuate
     
  19. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,464 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,700
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    next week... sooo my etailer ran out of stock for the H440 (heck i will have to redo my sig...) also no white case available, i settled for a Air 540 Black with a 50% discount (offered by my etailer in compensation)
    as for my mother build, i got a cheap InWin Diva + Blueray drive combo ... i hope she will like it :D

    for the rest it will arrive between next week and the following one (i hope)

    stay tuned for tuna cats'n boys! (weird???)
     
  20. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,151 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,058
    InWin Diva is definitely more female friendly than the Elite 120 you were talking before lol.

    Air 540 isn't quite as nice as 440 IMO but if you got 50% discount thats awesome.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,776 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    The Air 540 is great, it rewards laziness. :p No need for neat cable management in that. My PSU chamber looks like, well, you don't want to know. Awesome that you got 50% off, I do think they are a little overpriced to begin with if I'm honest.
     
    GreiverBlade and Random Murderer say thanks.
  22. ranviper

    ranviper

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    82 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Adirondacks, NY
    Home:
    [​IMG]

    Work:
    [​IMG]
     
    manofthem, Animalpak, Doc41 and 5 others say thanks.
  23. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Are those firecrackers strapped to the bottom of your chair :confused:
     
    Norton, d1nky and THE_EGG say thanks.
  24. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,776 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Hmm well it has been a while since I have posted my pc(s) in this thread. So I have sold off my old Asus G53 and my LanBox (the orange box) and bought a Gigabyte P34G V2 gaming laptop with the money I received from the G53 and lanbox (<- I'll be making a video review of this in about a month's time). I bought the 256GB SSD and 8GB RAM version. I installed my 1TB SSHD drive I had taken out of my old G53 and also bought and extra 8GB RAM while I was at the shop (I know 16GB is overkill but hey they let me have it for half price because of buying the laptop).
    [​IMG]
    Comparison of the thinness with my TAICHI31 I use for uni;
    [​IMG]

    I received a store credit for a broken Asus R9 280X graphics which I then used to buy my new screen, BenQ GW2765HT. I only had to be $80 out of pocket for the screen (wicked special intro price of $489AUD here)!
    [​IMG]
    I also wall mounted ye olde FP241W (tis still an amazing monitor though, 500cd/m^2 :O )
    [​IMG]

    Also I moved the 128GB Agility 4 SSD into my main desktop for installing more games that I would like to have quick loading times. I also taped up the holes underneath the 2 3.5" drives to try to limit the noise that came out of it, which has worked to some success but you can still hear the drives sometimes. I also have the front ceiling fan as an intake now as an experiment for temps.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The Agility 4 is in that cage you can half see behind the rats nest of cables :p
    [​IMG]
     
  25. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    743 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    685
    Location:
    Denmark
    The red and black thing? That's a Buttkicker. To better feel the low frequency sound.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)