1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    CD lots of :respect:
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    CD that 900 is awesome dude. Inspires me for my build im doing in a Antec 900. I mounted the rad to the front too :D
  3. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    when I first got an Antec 900 years ago I took all the bays out and said Dayyyum that could fit a PA120.3...but it couldn't :p

    It will fit any 240 though.
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    yep, I got a koolance 120.2 in mine :rockout:
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ya know what Chicken Patty, im thinking of just going with an AMD setup for pricing and all ill be doing is gaming on the new machine mainly, I mean Core i7 seemed to be a short lifespan due to core i5 release.
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    the six core is coming out supposely soon its still socket 1366 :D.
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    im not really worried about the # of cores on a CPU as its taking software makers so much time to utilize them.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    True, but i meant that we have a bit more life with this socket. At least we can upgrade to something if we want.
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I'm saying I hate it when people externally mount their radiators. I think it ruins the look, but the way he mounted his reservoir and pump externally actually look good and it's unique.
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    By far one of the best looking AMD boards I've seen.

    As far as video cards, I think it depends on your preferences for coolers (quiet, or heat outside the case). AKA narrow it down to the 4870 with better cooling, or the 4890's.

    Cooler get a Xigmatek S-1284 (I think it works well for i7 and Phenoms because of their bigger IHS) and as far as case, post up the ones you're considering.

    I think you could probably find a better choice of PSU. And honestly it's super overpowered for what you have configured. I assume you're looking to the future with that one, right?
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ya and ive never had a antec fail on me. That CPU cooler looks good, other than a TRUE120 or TRIFX14
  13. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yeah and they're a tad cheaper too :) May I suggest this PSU:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194039

    Pricier than the Antec, but this thing is a BEAST and it is hawt sex. I've used Enermax PSU's for a while (on my 3rd or so) and they have been rock solid. Larger diameter fan should mean a quieter PSU under load than the Antec, and I personally think it's just about the greatest looking PSU I've ever seen. Nice beefy MIR on it too.
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
  15. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Ooh Athlon 64 FX chips :)
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    new machine then board/cpu upgrade for old, keep everything else.
  17. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    [​IMG]

    One of the cathodes broke and the inverter/mic is in a crap position. With a cathode at the top and one at the bottom the inverter/mic is in the middle of my case, not easy to put it near a speaker so I need to get some cathode extensions.
  18. GeneralDodo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami
    my PC

    Here it is..
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Sits right beside my desk.

    Specs are in my profile :p
  19. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    mlee49 says thanks.
  20. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    If I could ever figure out how to unlock the multi on the X2 3800+ I have... it could be an FX chip. ;-) I already unlocked the cache... 2x1MB... wonder why they didn't laser cut it... lol.
  21. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
  22. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Yeah I know, they always put the feet out which makes it look like a duck :p
    phanbuey says thanks.
  23. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Heres mine atm,i just need to have a dibble with the cables at the bottom section.
    [​IMG]
  24. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    tigger.. clean your rad!!! lol, thats all i keep looking at, hah! Aside from the dirty rad, nice work on the cable management
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    tigger it looks good but makes me dizzy looks like everything is upside down lol
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (0 members and 6 guests)

Share This Page