1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,944 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,215
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,628 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Mexico
    GTX680 iGame N2
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,884 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,110
    you sure? thhat one had heatpipes along one side, and they were straight!
     
  4. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
  5. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,961 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,790
    popswala says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,732 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    New cruncher

    [​IMG]
     
    TRWOV, MT Alex, ThE_MaD_ShOt and 7 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    lol, how redundant is that. With the heatsinks on back side you can't even install it due to rear io and most mb heatsinks lol. good luck

    you'll have to install in like 3rd pcie slot or possibly 4th lol
     
  9. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Or get a pcie extension cord so you can run 2 of those monsters in SLI :p
     
    popswala says thanks.
  10. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I forgot about those lol. you need something like the asus expansion board I guess.
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  11. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,628 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Mexico
    That is the iGame Kuban. The iGame N2 is another monster.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,973 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    It's made by Colorful an nVidia GTX680

    [​IMG]


    It has total of............. wait for it .........................26 heatpipes :eek:

    good luck in trying to SLI this fecker 2 heatpipes and a HS are in the road
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  13. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,973 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    this is the other one

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Those cards are freaking huge! Do they at least run cool?
     
  15. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    485 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
  16. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    While the Z77-UD5 is a well constructed motherboard..... there are a lot of features it does not have compared to the Sniper 3. The Sniper 3 is more of an enthusiast board than the UD5. (Not blasting the UD5 its a great board.) I really thought I might go for the UD5..... it is a great board but in the end I wanted 3 way or possibly 4 way SLI in the future.

    Examples....
    Z77-UD5 PCIe Set up: 1-Card@ x16, 2-Cards@ x8/x8, 3- Cards@ x8/x8/x4 (Last PCIe can only be used for X-fire and is run off the chip set so it's not as responsive and you loose some SATA ports)
    More of a standard BIOS for overclocking
    so on and so on....

    Z77 Sniper 3 PCIe Setup: 1-Card@ x16, 2-Cards@ x16/x16, 3-Cards@ x16/x8/x8, 4-Cards@ x8/x8/x8/x8 (All PCIe runs off the CPU or PLX chip. Plus PCIex1 slots inbetween still have their own bandwidth from the Chip set "No loss of SATA Ports")
    More features for overclocking
    So on and So on...

    Besides I am working on modding out a Corsair 800D right at the moment. This will include new WC tubing color and fans.... which will match my Motherboard better.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    NO.

    [​IMG]

    Crossfire only, sure. Run off of the chipset, completely untrue.

    Also, the UD5H is missing NO Features for overclocking. Every page of the BIOS(except the new 3d interface) is here:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Gigabyte/Z77X-UD5H_WiFi/6.html
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  18. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah you are right edit myself.... I was wrong. I was thinking of the Z68 Motherboards instead of the Z77 motherboards.
    But that still doesn't change the fact that 3 way SLI is not possible on this board.

    I disagree about the overclocking features..... a buddy of mine owns the UD5 and he is missing several setting that I do have. "We compared! As well as I overclocked his board" Now I can not argue which settings they are exactly. I don't own his computer nor do I keep it here for exactly that purpose. (Just to justify me) but there are options in his BIOS he does not have that I do in mine.
    The only other change that I can think of why his BIOS would be different then mine is. He maybe using a older version of the BIOS. If this is the case that could explain why some options are there that are not in his. Example he bought his board back in early may. I bought mine 2 weeks ago and have the latest BIOS. He may be running like a F2 version where I am running the F5.
    I am not saying I am correct 100% for sure..... but I am fairly sure since we just overclocked his board recently. Also just because the pages are the same doesn't mean that the options are the same. For example when comparing the Asus Maximus Extreme IV and Asus P8Z68 V-Pro Gen 3. The Pages are almost identical. But they still do not have all the same settings or options. Or I should better rephrase that..... settings per choice.

    How much worth these extra settings I claim they have.... are debatable by the person owning the board though of course.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The G1.Sniper series are NOT the high-end clocking boards from Gigabyte. They are the GAMING boards(GIGABYTE G1.Sniper 3 Gaming Motherboard as Gigabyte calls it). The UD7 and SuperOverclock boards are the real OC boards, and they do not exist for Z77 at this time, so the UD5H and The G1.Sniper 3 are the only options. G1.Sniper 3 is for 3 and 4 cards, and has the nice added audio and lan chips and two added SATA ports, and the UD5H doesn't have those, but has FireWire added in the rear I/O. THey both use the same VRM sections for both CPU and memory. BOth have Dual NICs, and both use INtel for one of those LAN ports.

    BIOSes are near identical. There is NO missing feature that the G1.Sniper 3 has that the UD5H does not, except one. The only difference, really, is that the G1.Sniper 3 has slightly better fan control options, but I do not consider that an "overclocking feature", and it's only one extra fan control(for one header).

    You are very right about the multi-GPU options...only 2-card SLi on the UD5H.

    Don't get me wrong though, there's nothing wrong with the G1.Sniper 3, and personally; I like it better than the UD5H, but the UD5H is by no means any worse off for most users(unless you want triple or quad cards, or need teh extra SATA ports). As to the whole bridge chip thing, I do not like them, as they actually lower performance a little bit in some situations, due to added latency of the PLX PEX8487.

    I really had to think about cons for the UD5H. THe G1.Sniper 3 offers more, but it also costs more($60). I think the $60 in added cost is worth it, if you need those features, though.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  20. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Okay my pc ATM with no flash and still no cable management lol

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    TRWOV, MT Alex, Cold Storm and 4 others say thanks.
  21. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    These maybe the options I am referring too. If that is the case then I misspoke. Either way I was not trying to get too technical with it. I was listing out my reasons for choosing the way I did.
    The buddy I refer to is actually coming over tomorrow so that we may update his BIOS for better stability when overclocking. I will review my findings then. If I am wrong I will come back here and admit it.
    But until then I stand by my thoughts. As the saying goes "Your first choice is usually the right choice" and my first choice tells me I remember something bigger then fan controls.

    Do you own both boards? While I don't I own the Sniper and have actually used the UD5.

    As for the PLX Bridge chip..... show me concert proof they lower performance enough to even worry about. The PLX/NF200 issues you speak of are not even enough to be noticed by benchmarks let alone a human brain.
    I would still put the PLX speed against cards going x8/x8 through the CPU. That there actually is performance loss on. (Even if it's just a little a few hundred points)
    This is coming who has been comparing his benchmarks to people who are running X79 systems W/O the PLX chip.
    I would also like to add the direct comparison to GTX 680 SLI vs the GTX 690 (Which uses a PLX chip) and is only about 5% slower because of the clocks.... not the PLX chip

    As I stated by my original post....I said the Z77-UD5 is a great solid board that would do for most everyone. I also said I was considering that board before any other until the sniper released.
    But as you stated the Gigabyte Sniper 3 is better in a good amount of ways.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I do plan on doing a review comparing all the different PCIe implementations, bridge chips, lane switches, all of it, as I have seen a difference. Quantifying that difference, at this point, can only be down to added latency, but it is more than possible something else is at play here.

    I did test x8/x8 vs x16/x16 on Z77 using PLX, and yes, the x16/x16 was a bit slower. But at the same time, x16/x8/x8 is FASTER than x8/x4/x4, so that is where the actual benefit is noticed, IMHO.

    I do have the UD5H here, and did have the G1.Sniper 3, but got rid of it as it didn't suit my needs(and wasn't for review purposes).
     
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,973 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    I would assume having 26 heat-pipes and a fan it should atleast run luke warm as for the monster passive one I'd have to say maybe
     
  24. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    As far as SLI is concerned for these monstrosities I have designed and will implement and market PCIe extension cords for the facility of linking these cards in SLI.

    Jokes. That is overkill on cooling and obtrusively ugly.

    EDIT: I will also design and market a "video card case" to hold these cards after installing extensions off the MoBo and even have holes for watercooling in case we got some crazy enthusiast who wants to watercool them!
     
  25. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    theonedub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page