1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zotac GeForce GT 220 1 GB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2009
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,912 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I wonder why the GT220 with 48sp/8 ROPS/GDDR3 is only as fast, and sometimes slower than the 9500 GT (32sp/8 ROPs/DDR2). Are the current drivers really that horrendous?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    the 9500GT has GDDR3 by default, sometimes DDR2 is used in its place but in this review the 9500GT has DDR2, the results are what I expected from this card though

    its more of a card for a HTPC

    The 9600GT had some feature that affected performance by means of the PCI-E bus speed, does anyoneknow if this card has it, that would be nice.
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,117 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    Interesting, GPU-Z reads it as DDR2, I'm sure it is just a bug, just wanted to point that out.

    @Jstn7477: The 9500GT uses GDDR3 with a default clock of 900MHz, which this card couldn't even overclock to. The memory bandwidth is likely why this card is so close in performance. More Shaders, with less memory bandwidth yeilds similar performance.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,912 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I was also thinking of a memory bandwidth issue. My GeForce 210 is starved for bandwidth by 64bit DDR2, while the 9400 GT has a nice, wide 128bit DDR2 bus for the same amount of shaders (16) and ROPs (4). NV probably just intended these for OEM usage, and hacked down the memory performance to drive down costs and because OEM PC users probably don't look at benchies.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    yes gpuz memory detection on these boards is bugged
     
  7. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
  8. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    as I'm thinking HTPC perhaps bench running Blu-ray movie at 1080p? also the sound capability via HDMI - any loss from sound device please?
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    bd decode sits comfortably below 50% with any movie on any gpu on any recent processor

    the transfer over the pcie bus and over hdmi is uncompressed digital - no quality loss
     
    tonyd223 says thanks.
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    performance per dollar the red team kills this card at $79, mebey at $59 or so.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Performance per watt is excellent. This card has a winning chance as a desktop/workstation winner, so long as price comes down a bit. Great upgrade for an Atom based system.
     
  12. captainskyhawk

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Holy crap you can put these in a netbook
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,405 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,718
    kind of funny that these Cards support DX10.1 when NV stated that they would not support it, guess AMD forced their hand on that one.
     
  14. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    wow thats insane for the watts that is so low! but if watts dont matter for you i would think the 4670 would be a better buy just becasue its cheaper and out performs on most things but for a HTPC this would rock! i mean surrisly it didnt go over like 30watts!? thats crazy
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page