• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1660ti not working consistently

chickenfilla

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
11 (0.12/day)
I’ve recently upgraded my graphics card from a asus r7 250x to a 1660ti, in few games for example mechanic simulator 2018, the fps has greatly increased, however in other games like fortnite, ark and gta, the frame rate has dropped to around 8fps where it was previously around 50. I’ve uninstalled previous amd drivers and installed new nvidia drivers. When installing nvidia drivers I did not choose to install the GeForce experience. Does anyone know how to fix this problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated. (I have a i3-7100 cpu)
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
259 (2.59/day)
Maybe some games are CPU bound or you are running the games at higher settings?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,458 (2.39/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Benchtable
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (-25 Curve Optimizer all Core)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 6900XT Nitro + (2710 Mhz/2100 Fast 375W)
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB (external)
Display(s) LG GN950-B 4K 160Hz
Case Streacom BC1 V2
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Sharkoon Gaming DAC Pro S V2
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Logitech G303 Shroud Edition
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Download DDU and the latest driver.
disconnect from the internet (pull out your lan cable)
hold shift while pressing reboot, press troubleshooting, start options, restart.
when it asks what to do press 4 to boot into safe mode and open DDU.

run the GPU driver uninstall (and select uninstall and do nothing, NOT shutdown or restart.) for Nvidia and AMD.

after that reboot the PC, install the driver and plug your lan cable back in.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
17,848 (3.20/day)
Location
UK\USA
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 2x8GB \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X +Antec P12 fans
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB Sabrent 1TB Rocket
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ LG 43UN700
Case HTPC400 \ Fractal Design Torrent.
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V677 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000\Paradigm P Studio 20, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 650w \ Seasonic Prime TX-750
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Did you uninstall the amd display drivers ? as they need to be removed.

So if he did not will he need to run DDU twice ?, not used it for a while.
 

chickenfilla

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
11 (0.12/day)
Did you uninstall the amd display drivers ? as they need to be removed.

So if he did not will he need to run DDU twice ?, not used it for a while.
I did remove the amd drivers yes

Download DDU and the latest driver.
disconnect from the internet (pull out your lan cable)
hold shift while pressing reboot, press troubleshooting, start options, restart.
when it asks what to do press 4 to boot into safe mode and open DDU.

run the GPU driver uninstall (and select uninstall and do nothing, NOT shutdown or restart.) for Nvidia and AMD.

after that reboot the PC, install the driver and plug your lan cable back in.
I’ve just tried this and it hasn’t worked, thanks for the help though, do you have any other ideas? (Just in case this is helpful on fortnite, whether I’m on high or low settings I’m stuck on 7-8 fps)
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,458 (2.39/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Benchtable
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (-25 Curve Optimizer all Core)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 6900XT Nitro + (2710 Mhz/2100 Fast 375W)
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB (external)
Display(s) LG GN950-B 4K 160Hz
Case Streacom BC1 V2
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Sharkoon Gaming DAC Pro S V2
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Logitech G303 Shroud Edition
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
I did remove the amd drivers yes


I’ve just tried this and it hasn’t worked, thanks for the help though, do you have any other ideas? (Just in case this is helpful on fortnite, whether I’m on high or low settings I’m stuck on 7-8 fps)
beside that you are running a dual core CPU which is beyond obsolete.
i'd reinstall windows.
 

chickenfilla

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
11 (0.12/day)
beside that you are running a dual core CPU which is beyond obsolete.
i'd reinstall windows.
I don’t think the cpu is the problem as games were running fine before and I have not done anything to my cpu. Just wondering how I go about reinstalling windows?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,458 (2.39/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Benchtable
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (-25 Curve Optimizer all Core)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 6900XT Nitro + (2710 Mhz/2100 Fast 375W)
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB (external)
Display(s) LG GN950-B 4K 160Hz
Case Streacom BC1 V2
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Sharkoon Gaming DAC Pro S V2
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Logitech G303 Shroud Edition
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
I don’t think the cpu is the problem as games were running fine before and I have not done anything to my cpu. Just wondering how I go about reinstalling windows?
download the media creation tool from microsoft and install windows to a USB Stick.
save relevant data, boot from the USB Stick and install it.
btw. nvidia has a pretty huge driver overhead when it comes to playing CPU bound games. and you still run a dual core.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
22,575 (4.00/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
How much system ram do you have? can you list your full system specs?
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
259 (2.59/day)
You can try to enable "hardware accelerated gpu scheduling" in windows under Graphic settings, that should help your CPU. Did you check if your video card is clocking to the right speeds while gaming? You should test with an benchmark like Superposition Benchmark and see if your card works at the right speed.

Edit: You should post a picture from GPU-Z and you can try to reset your bios maybe that will help. (and check if you have installed your GPU correctly in the slot and the power cable)
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.71/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I don’t think the cpu is the problem as games were running fine before and I have not done anything to my cpu. Just wondering how I go about reinstalling windows?
Ok fill out your system specs, dont assume the cpu is not the problem here

@Tatty_One
 

chickenfilla

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
11 (0.12/day)
How much system ram do you have? can you list your full system specs?
Cpu : i3 7100
Gpu : EVGA 1660to
RAM : 16gb
Motherboard : h110m-r
1tb ssd
Is there anything I’m missing (I don’t know my power supply)

You can try to enable "hardware accelerated gpu scheduling" in windows under Graphic settings, that should help your CPU. Did you check if your video card is clocking to the right speeds while gaming? You should test with an benchmark like Superposition Benchmark and see if your card works at the right speed.

Edit: You should post a picture from GPU-Z and you can try to reset your bios maybe that will help. (and check if you have installed your GPU correctly in the slot and the power cable)
In benchmark my fps ranged from 7 - 7.7 at medium settings, with a max Gpu utilization of 45%. I’ll do the other things later. Thanks
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
259 (2.59/day)
Cpu : i3 7100
Gpu : EVGA 1660to
RAM : 16gb
Motherboard : h110m-r
1tb ssd
Is there anything I’m missing (I don’t know my power supply)


In benchmark my fps ranged from 7 - 7.7 at medium settings, with a max Gpu utilization of 45%. I’ll do the other things later. Thanks
One more thing you might have to check are the temps during benchmark , maybe one of your fans is broken. Good luck
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
22,575 (4.00/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Cpu : i3 7100
Gpu : EVGA 1660to
RAM : 16gb
Motherboard : h110m-r
1tb ssd
Is there anything I’m missing (I don’t know my power supply)


In benchmark my fps ranged from 7 - 7.7 at medium settings, with a max Gpu utilization of 45%. I’ll do the other things later. Thanks

how do you have your ram set up? is it one stick or two?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.71/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Cpu : i3 7100
Gpu : EVGA 1660to
RAM : 16gb
Motherboard : h110m-r
1tb ssd
Is there anything I’m missing (I don’t know my power supply)


In benchmark my fps ranged from 7 - 7.7 at medium settings, with a max Gpu utilization of 45%. I’ll do the other things later. Thanks
Open the case, look at the power supply take a picture of its label, then use hwinfi64 with sensor data for power supply values

And 16GB of ram is too vague.

Look if you really want help here you need to give detailed info.

What cpu cooling, what case, what specific 1660?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
22,575 (4.00/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
770 (4.84/day)
Location
G-City, UK
System Name My first new build
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450M mortar max
Cooling Vetroo V5 Arctic MX4
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200@3600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super OC Ventus
Storage Samsung 870 QVO 1tb x 2, Lexar 256 GB, Western Digital 500 GB nvme
Display(s) 22'' Some p tv
Case Aerocool Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 2019/Edifier M201BT
Power Supply MSI MPG AGF 850 watt gold
Mouse Glorious Model D
Keyboard Dell KB212-B
Software Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multicore 9995 single 1274 7.84 3d mark : Timespy 6180
Is your card new or pre-owned?
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
259 (2.59/day)
Thanks for the suggestions, Gpu reaches 33°c is that high?


1 stick
Not at all, those are idle temps.
Some other problem might be that you are using the gpu insde your CPU instead of the 1660ti, did you check that your games are using the right GPU? Did you connect your monitor to the motherboard video output port or the GPU port?
 
Last edited:

chickenfilla

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
11 (0.12/day)
Open the case, look at the power supply take a picture of its label, then use hwinfi64 with sensor data for power supply values

And 16GB of ram is too vague.

Look if you really want help here you need to give detailed info.

What cpu cooling, what case,
Open the case, look at the power supply take a picture of its label, then use hwinfi64 with sensor data for power supply values

And 16GB of ram is too vague.

Look if you really want help here you need to give detailed info.

What cpu cooling, what case, what specific 1660?
sorry I don’t know a huge amount about computers as I am new to it and only bought it recently.
I can’t find my power supply in hwinfo64 , my ram is 16gb of ddr4 SDRAM Samsung. It’s speed is 1200MHz. The cpu cooler is a intel e97379-003, I don’t know what case I have and the Gpu is a EVGA GTX 1660 Ti XC

Theres part of your problem.... Youre losing anywhere between 20-35% of performance by just having a single 16GB stick.
Thank you I didn’t know that

You can try to enable "hardware accelerated gpu scheduling" in windows under Graphic settings, that should help your CPU. Did you check if your video card is clocking to the right speeds while gaming? You should test with an benchmark like Superposition Benchmark and see if your card works at the right speed.

Edit: You should post a picture from GPU-Z and you can try to reset your bios maybe that will help. (and check if you have installed your GPU correctly in the slot and the power cable)
I have now enabled hardware accelerated Gpu scheduling, and I just ran a benchmark on 1080p medium, the first time I ran it at 50-90 fps, I then ran it again and got 7 again? Any ideas

Not at all, those are idle temps.
Some other problem might be that you are using the gpu insde your CPU instead of the 1660ti, did you check that your games are using the right GPU? Did you connect your monitor to the motherboard video output port or the GPU port?
I have made sure to disable my cpu Gpu so I assume games are running off of my 1660ti and my monitor is connect to the only possible port

You can try to enable "hardware accelerated gpu scheduling" in windows under Graphic settings, that should help your CPU. Did you check if your video card is clocking to the right speeds while gaming? You should test with an benchmark like Superposition Benchmark and see if your card works at the right speed.

Edit: You should post a picture from GPU-Z and you can try to reset your bios maybe that will help. (and check if you have installed your GPU correctly in the slot and the power cable)
Here’s what Gpu-z says
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 22

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
259 (2.59/day)
I think all motherboards nowdays have an display output , i am not sure what motherboard you have but if you say you disabled it in bios then the problem is somewhere else.
Just in case , check this picture: https://support.cyberpowerpc.com/hc/article_attachments/360028079213/Display_Outputs.jpg , your monitor should be connected to the Video Card.

You should check CPU / GPU usage during some game or benchmark and check the load and frequency on them , your GPU had way too low temp in a benchmark, like it wasnt even used. You should post a picture from CPU-Z and one from GPU-Z so we can have all the info about your computer maybe someone can figure it out , did yo try a bios reset?
 

chickenfilla

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2022
Messages
11 (0.12/day)
W
I think all motherboards nowdays have an display output , i am not sure what motherboard you have but if you say you disabled it in bios then the problem is somewhere else.
Just in case , check this picture: https://support.cyberpowerpc.com/hc/article_attachments/360028079213/Display_Outputs.jpg , your monitor should be connected to the Video Card.

You should check CPU / GPU usage during some game or benchmark and check the load and frequency on them , your GPU had way too low temp in a benchmark. You should post a picture from CPU-Z and one from GPU-Z so we can have all the info about your computer maybe someone can figure it out , did yo try a bios reset?
When the I was getting 7 fps the temperature was 33 but when it worked for one watch through the temperature was up around 70

I think all motherboards nowdays have an display output , i am not sure what motherboard you have but if you say you disabled it in bios then the problem is somewhere else.
Just in case , check this picture: https://support.cyberpowerpc.com/hc/article_attachments/360028079213/Display_Outputs.jpg , your monitor should be connected to the Video Card.

You should check CPU / GPU usage during some game or benchmark and check the load and frequency on them , your GPU had way too low temp in a benchmark, like it wasnt even used. You should post a picture from CPU-Z and one from GPU-Z so we can have all the info about your computer maybe someone can figure it out , did yo try a bios reset?
With the monitor connection I do have that video card slot however my monitors connection cable end is to small to use that slot
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
259 (2.59/day)
Well i think thats the problem , you need an adapter because you are using the onboard GPU. What type of cable does your monitor have and where did you connect it? On the Onboard Graphics output (from the picture)?
Edit: if im right then u need something like this: https://vectro.ro/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/adaptor-dvi-d-241-tata-vga-mama-600x600.jpg , VGA TO DVI ADAPTER , its pretty cheap and then connect your monitor to the video card and not on the Onboard Graphics output.
 
Top