• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AM5 boot times improve RADICALLY with memory context restore enabled

Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
2,710 (2.25/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Sunk Cost Fallacy
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock B650E Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 Rev. 7
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 7900 XTX Vapor-X
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 4TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG 27GR93U, LG 27GN950-B
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
@GerKNG is your B650E steel legend having memory context enabled by default?

I just checked and in my BIOS it actually is enabled by default... that's why my boot times are most instantaneous... huh strange, if it causes so many problems, why would AsRock have it on by default? (stock bios when I looked)
enabled by default and i never had any issues with it.
it just works (except with manual overclocking)
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2022
Messages
146 (0.25/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Blytzen
Processor Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock B650E Taichi Lite
Cooling Deepcool LS520 (240mm)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z5 Neo RGB 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800XT Red Dragon (16 gig)
Storage 2TB Crucial P5 Plus SSD, 80TB spinning rust in a NAS
Display(s) Agon 32" `1080p 144hz, Samsung 32" 4k
Case Coolermaster HAF 500
Audio Device(s) Logitech G733 and no speakers (replacements are under consideration)
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G915 TKL tactile
Benchmark Scores Squats and calf raises
I am now concerned to update my BIOS (mostly because of the beta bios's rolling for the 9000 series chips)

I think I need to though (my SSD is still showing as a usb/unpluggable in windows)
 
Joined
May 14, 2024
Messages
14 (1.08/day)
Location
Hungary
Processor Ryzen 7700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B650E-E Gaming Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 w/ offset kit
Memory Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-6000 CL36 @ CL28
Video Card(s) ASUS x Noctua RTX 4080
Storage Samsung 980Pro 2TB NVME + Kingston KC3000 2TB NVME
Display(s) LG OLED 42C3 + Benq GW 2780-1
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR505 /w onboard audio
Power Supply Fractal Design Ion 850W Platinum
Mouse Razer Viper 8K
Keyboard Ventaris K600
It's absolutely shocking am5 was released in this state and the long boot times are still going on. Surely there was a better design solution with memory training?
For the record: two option -

Memory Context Restore (MCR) -> One training and after the result loaded each start
DRAM PowerDown Disable -> you got minus (means better) 1-1.5ns latency in Aida64 memory benchmark.

You cannot use both, because it's can cause hard boot loop or even Windows file loss.
Several firm (like AsRock or MSI) use the MCR enabled by default.
Several other (like ASUS) use the MCR disabled by default.

The background is simple: in the early times there is a Youtuber named BuildZoid (actually hardcore overclocking) and he's guide mentioned the PowerDown disable settings.
Not one and not two person experienced then boot loop or even corrupted Windows files because of this settings used the MCR enabled setting.
The ASUS for example changed the UEFI after that and if you enable the MCR, the PowerDown Enabled (yea, this is the name) jumped disable and vica versa...

I actually use the MCR enabled and Powerdown disable with severe memory tuning (DDR5-6000 CL36 1.35V -> CL28 1.4V) without any issue:
 

Attachments

  • RAM.jpg
    RAM.jpg
    224.9 KB · Views: 43

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,492 (4.70/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
I actually use the MCR enabled and Powerdown disable with severe memory tuning (DDR5-6000 CL36 1.35V -> CL28 1.4V) without any issue:

you got me kind of tempted to do 1.4v and cl28 now, those are only the only two changes I have to make? i just enable EXPO, reboot, then change to 1.40v and the first 36 to 28 and reboot and done? do all the ram tests to make sure its good with no errors, but thats it?

leave everything else stock? my ram is the teamgroup t-power create ram 6000 (in my specs)

this is my ram: its fully stable with expo, i already ran several ram tests

1715752310782.png
 
Joined
May 14, 2024
Messages
14 (1.08/day)
Location
Hungary
Processor Ryzen 7700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B650E-E Gaming Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 w/ offset kit
Memory Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-6000 CL36 @ CL28
Video Card(s) ASUS x Noctua RTX 4080
Storage Samsung 980Pro 2TB NVME + Kingston KC3000 2TB NVME
Display(s) LG OLED 42C3 + Benq GW 2780-1
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR505 /w onboard audio
Power Supply Fractal Design Ion 850W Platinum
Mouse Razer Viper 8K
Keyboard Ventaris K600
you got me kind of tempted to do 1.4v and cl28 now, those are only the only two changes I have to make? i just enable EXPO, reboot, then change to 1.40v and the first 36 to 28 and reboot and done? do all the ram tests to make sure its good with no errors, but thats it?

leave everything else stock? my ram is the teamgroup t-power create ram 6000 (in my specs)

this is my ram: its fully stable with expo, i already ran several ram tests

View attachment 347459

The RAM tuning a bit tricky in AM5 / DDR5...
I suggest you first check your RAM kit at the HWinfo64 memory menu.

The best DRAM kits are made with SK Hynix A-Die, then M-Die.
Then follow a big dip with Samsung B-Die & Micron REV A / REV G.
Another big dip the Samsung D-Die.
The Micron REV B is anti-tuning as far as I know.

If you have A-Die or M-Die, then you can try it.
Foreword: DDR5 RAM settings calculator - make a local copy and you can explore it

Suggestion (and as always: I cannot guarantee anything and can't take any responsibility, just try to help with my personal experience):

-VDD and VDDQ raised to 1.4V
-Timings:
tCL 28
tRCD 36
tRP 36
tRAS 48
tRC 84

The other big thing is the tREFI (Resfresh Rate in ASUS) which can be 49151 or 65535 (the latter is the upper limit az AM5)
The other big thing is the tRFC, this is a hard one, highly depending of the DRAM type:

Hynix A-die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 416

Hynix M-die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 510

Samsung B-Die, Micron REV A, REV G DDR5-6000
tRFC: 832

Samsung D-Die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 864

And if you try anything, first test for a longer period (half a hour minimum) with Aida64 stress test, y-cruncher, TM5 or so.
If you change anything in you UEFI memory settings after the reboot there is a new memory traning phase starting, means longer period of black screen before POST screen.
Be patient and remain calm. :)
If the black screen remain after 4-5 minutes, do a BIOS reset and step back about the changes you made (ie.: if the tRFC 416 wont boot, then try 436 and so on).
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,492 (4.70/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
The RAM tuning a bit tricky in AM5 / DDR5...
I suggest you first check your RAM kit at the HWinfo64 memory menu.

The best DRAM kits are made with SK Hynix A-Die, then M-Die.
Then follow a big dip with Samsung B-Die & Micron REV A / REV G.
Another big dip the Samsung D-Die.
The Micron REV B is anti-tuning as far as I know.

If you have A-Die or M-Die, then you can try it.
Foreword: DDR5 RAM settings calculator - make a local copy and you can explore it

Suggestion (and as always: I cannot guarantee anything and can't take any responsibility, just try to help with my personal experience):

-VDD and VDDQ raised to 1.4V
-Timings:
tCL 28
tRCD 36
tRP 36
tRAS 48
tRC 84

The other big thing is the tREFI (Resfresh Rate in ASUS) which can be 49151 or 65535 (the latter is the upper limit az AM5)
The other big thing is the tRFC, this is a hard one, highly depending of the DRAM type:

Hynix A-die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 416

Hynix M-die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 510

Samsung B-Die, Micron REV A, REV G DDR5-6000
tRFC: 832

Samsung D-Die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 864

And if you try anything, first test for a longer period (half a hour minimum) with Aida64 stress test, y-cruncher, TM5 or so.
If you change anything in you UEFI memory settings after the reboot there is a new memory traning phase starting, means longer period of black screen before POST screen.
Be patient and remain calm. :)
If the black screen remain after 4-5 minutes, do a BIOS reset and step back about the changes you made (ie.: if the tRFC 416 wont boot, then try 436 and so on).

I'm pretty sure I read somewhere mine is M-Die, if I get bored tomorrow I will give this a go and run the ram tests, thanks for your detailed help, very much appreciated.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2022
Messages
25 (0.04/day)
System Name My Gaming Rig
Processor Ryzen 9 7900x
Motherboard MSI B650m Project Zero
Cooling Lian-Li Galahad 360mm AIO White (+8 Lian-Li SL120 White Fans -> 11 in total)
Memory KingBank 64GB (2x32GB) DDR5 6400 CL32
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce RTX 4080 Gigabyte AERO OC
Storage 500GB + 240GB SATA SSD, 1TB (Windows) m.2 Nvme SSD + 2TB (Games) m.2 Nvme SSD
Display(s) Xiaomi MI 34" (34", 3440x1440p, 144Hz, VA), MSI Oculus NXG253R (24.5", 1920x1080p, 360Hz, Fast IPS)
Case CORSAIR 2500D Airflow (White)
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless (White)
Power Supply CoolerMaster V SFX 1100W Platinum (ATX 3.0, PCIe 5.0)
Mouse LogiTech G502 HERO SE
Keyboard Custom Anne Pro 2 60% Keyboard (Gateron Red Switches)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark 1080p EXTREME: 8323 3D Mark Time Spy Score: 26736 (Excellent)
The RAM tuning a bit tricky in AM5 / DDR5...
I suggest you first check your RAM kit at the HWinfo64 memory menu.

The best DRAM kits are made with SK Hynix A-Die, then M-Die.
Then follow a big dip with Samsung B-Die & Micron REV A / REV G.
Another big dip the Samsung D-Die.
The Micron REV B is anti-tuning as far as I know.

If you have A-Die or M-Die, then you can try it.
Foreword: DDR5 RAM settings calculator - make a local copy and you can explore it

Suggestion (and as always: I cannot guarantee anything and can't take any responsibility, just try to help with my personal experience):

-VDD and VDDQ raised to 1.4V
-Timings:
tCL 28
tRCD 36
tRP 36
tRAS 48
tRC 84

The other big thing is the tREFI (Resfresh Rate in ASUS) which can be 49151 or 65535 (the latter is the upper limit az AM5)
The other big thing is the tRFC, this is a hard one, highly depending of the DRAM type:

Hynix A-die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 416

Hynix M-die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 510

Samsung B-Die, Micron REV A, REV G DDR5-6000
tRFC: 832

Samsung D-Die DDR5-6000
tRFC: 864

And if you try anything, first test for a longer period (half a hour minimum) with Aida64 stress test, y-cruncher, TM5 or so.
If you change anything in you UEFI memory settings after the reboot there is a new memory traning phase starting, means longer period of black screen before POST screen.
Be patient and remain calm. :)
If the black screen remain after 4-5 minutes, do a BIOS reset and step back about the changes you made (ie.: if the tRFC 416 wont boot, then try 436 and so on).
Ive been pretty tempted lately to do some tweaking in my ram. I just enabled EXPO and set manually 6000mhz instead of the 6400 of the expo profile (i have 2x32gb and trying to boot with +6000 is probably going to be pretty difficult). My ram is pretty solid, cl32 and SK Hynix A-die, you think i should try these settings?
 
Joined
May 14, 2024
Messages
14 (1.08/day)
Location
Hungary
Processor Ryzen 7700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B650E-E Gaming Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 w/ offset kit
Memory Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-6000 CL36 @ CL28
Video Card(s) ASUS x Noctua RTX 4080
Storage Samsung 980Pro 2TB NVME + Kingston KC3000 2TB NVME
Display(s) LG OLED 42C3 + Benq GW 2780-1
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR505 /w onboard audio
Power Supply Fractal Design Ion 850W Platinum
Mouse Razer Viper 8K
Keyboard Ventaris K600
Ive been pretty tempted lately to do some tweaking in my ram. I just enabled EXPO and set manually 6000mhz instead of the 6400 of the expo profile (i have 2x32gb and trying to boot with +6000 is probably going to be pretty difficult). My ram is pretty solid, cl32 and SK Hynix A-die, you think i should try these settings?
From the AGESA 1.0.0.7b version of BIOS (circa 2023 august) I find the AMD covered the memory handling problems of the Zen4 CPU's and mostly can reach the DDR5-6400 without problem.
Means: I bought an Apacer DDR5-6400 kit, put in my system and choose the RAM own XMP (DOCP in AMD) profile and booted without any problem.
So after you have an updated BIOS, I suggest you can try the DDR5-6400 profile. OFC there is a chance it's won't boot, but at least try it once...

Edit: I have a second AM5 computer (HTPC / file server with Ryzen 8500G) that one use the Apacer kit currently while the desktop computer got back the 64GB DDR5-6000 Fury Beast kit.
 

Attachments

  • 20240215_Apacer_DDR5_6400_3238385088_FCLK_2200Mhz_ECO_PPT110W_CO_1520101515152015_CPU_off_007_...jpg
    20240215_Apacer_DDR5_6400_3238385088_FCLK_2200Mhz_ECO_PPT110W_CO_1520101515152015_CPU_off_007_...jpg
    894.3 KB · Views: 14

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
7,778 (2.39/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D
Motherboard B650E PG-ITX┃X570 Impact
Cooling NH-U12A + T30┃AXP120-x67
Memory 64GB 6400CL32┃32GB 3600CL14
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle┃RTX A2000
Storage 8TB of SSDs┃1TB SN550
Case Caselabs S3┃Lazer3D HT5
Ive been pretty tempted lately to do some tweaking in my ram. I just enabled EXPO and set manually 6000mhz instead of the 6400 of the expo profile (i have 2x32gb and trying to boot with +6000 is probably going to be pretty difficult). My ram is pretty solid, cl32 and SK Hynix A-die, you think i should try these settings?

Don't write it off just because it's 2x32GB. As long as your board and memory controller aren't actual garbage, there's a good chance you can. I don't think dual rank is that much of a problem anymore for AMD.

7800x3d 6400cl32 59.6ns.png
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2022
Messages
25 (0.04/day)
System Name My Gaming Rig
Processor Ryzen 9 7900x
Motherboard MSI B650m Project Zero
Cooling Lian-Li Galahad 360mm AIO White (+8 Lian-Li SL120 White Fans -> 11 in total)
Memory KingBank 64GB (2x32GB) DDR5 6400 CL32
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce RTX 4080 Gigabyte AERO OC
Storage 500GB + 240GB SATA SSD, 1TB (Windows) m.2 Nvme SSD + 2TB (Games) m.2 Nvme SSD
Display(s) Xiaomi MI 34" (34", 3440x1440p, 144Hz, VA), MSI Oculus NXG253R (24.5", 1920x1080p, 360Hz, Fast IPS)
Case CORSAIR 2500D Airflow (White)
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless (White)
Power Supply CoolerMaster V SFX 1100W Platinum (ATX 3.0, PCIe 5.0)
Mouse LogiTech G502 HERO SE
Keyboard Custom Anne Pro 2 60% Keyboard (Gateron Red Switches)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark 1080p EXTREME: 8323 3D Mark Time Spy Score: 26736 (Excellent)
Don't write it off just because it's 2x32GB. As long as your board and memory controller aren't actual garbage, there's a good chance you can. I don't think dual rank is that much of a problem anymore for AMD.

View attachment 347461
okay then, you both convinced me. Im going to try 6400 today when i get home. I have also set MCLK = UCLK, should i set FLCK manually to 2167 or 2200 or just leave it on auto? ill try first to boot on 6400 and then ill try going from cl32 to 28
 
Joined
May 14, 2024
Messages
14 (1.08/day)
Location
Hungary
Processor Ryzen 7700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B650E-E Gaming Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 w/ offset kit
Memory Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-6000 CL36 @ CL28
Video Card(s) ASUS x Noctua RTX 4080
Storage Samsung 980Pro 2TB NVME + Kingston KC3000 2TB NVME
Display(s) LG OLED 42C3 + Benq GW 2780-1
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR505 /w onboard audio
Power Supply Fractal Design Ion 850W Platinum
Mouse Razer Viper 8K
Keyboard Ventaris K600
The FCLK is not attached to the UCLK / MCLK in any way at AM5 / Zen4.
Leave the 2000 Mhz at first, then you can raise that too after the memory run stable.

In my experience the FCLK mostly cause game instability I used the 2200Mhz without problem in everyday work and several stress test (CB23, Aida64).
Yet in gaming I experience constants drops to the Windows desktop. At 2167Mhz I won't experience any such thing...

Silicon lottery at the best...
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
7,778 (2.39/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D
Motherboard B650E PG-ITX┃X570 Impact
Cooling NH-U12A + T30┃AXP120-x67
Memory 64GB 6400CL32┃32GB 3600CL14
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle┃RTX A2000
Storage 8TB of SSDs┃1TB SN550
Case Caselabs S3┃Lazer3D HT5
okay then, you both convinced me. Im going to try 6400 today when i get home. I have also set MCLK = UCLK, should i set FLCK manually to 2167 or 2200 or just leave it on auto? ill try first to boot on 6400 and then ill try going from cl32 to 28

You will want to go as much as you can beyond 2000 on FCLK as it will make a difference. How far you get only you can find out for yourself. 2167 is no issue for me at any VSOC but so far struggling a bit with 2200.

FCLK has a tricky relationship with VSOC, higher VSOC helps UCLK but hampers fabric stability. So if you can't boot x FCLK, it may not work at any VSOC you throw at it

Stabilize your 6400 UCLK/FCLK first before you worry about CL28. UCLK stability is distinct from but an important part of ram stability now.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2023
Messages
138 (0.50/day)
System Name Favourite toy(s)
Processor Ryzen 5 7600X lapped @ 200MHz PBO boost + 10X & Ryzen 7 7700 @ stock
Motherboard Asrock X670E Steel Legend / Gigabyte B650 Aorus Elite
Cooling Deep Cool AK620 / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill F5-5600J3036D16GX2-FX5 / Corsair Vengeance CMH32GX5M2B5600C36
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT factory overclocked / iGPU
Storage 1 + 2TB T-Force Cardea A440 pro / 2 x Kingston KC3000 1TB
Display(s) Samsung G5 Odyssey / Philips 278E9Q
Case MSI MPG Sekira 100R / Silverstone Redline mATX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1 + Audio Technica -AD500X / Onboard + Creative 2.1 soundbar
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 / Corsair RM750x V2
Mouse MSI Clutch GM20 Elite / CM Reaper
Keyboard Logitech G512 Carbon / MSI G30 Vigor
OP, enabling MCR has been known for over a year & more now to quicken boot times on Zen 4.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
1,522 (0.87/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600X@4.85 CO
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m S2H
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
Memory Patriot Viper 4400cl19 2x8@4000cl16 tight subs
Video Card(s) Asus 3060ti TUF OC
Storage WD blue 1TB nvme
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10 144Hz
Case Corsair D4000 Airflow
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Benchmark Scores CB20 4710@4.7GHz Aida64 50.4ns 4.8GHz+4000cl15 tuned ram SOTTR 1080p low 263fps avg CPU game
I wish AMD would desync MCR from PDM. I can`t see why these 2 features must be linked. PDM introduces extra latency\reduces performance in certain scenarios and is only a sensible feature on notebooks in my opinion.
 

dgianstefani

TPU Proofreader
Staff member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
4,473 (1.91/day)
Location
Swansea, Wales
System Name Silent
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D @ 5.15ghz BCLK OC, TG AM5 High Performance Heatspreader
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X670E-I, chipset fans removed
Cooling Optimus AMD Raw Copper/Plexi, HWLABS Copper 240/40+240/30, D5, 4x Noctua A12x25, Mayhems Ultra Pure
Memory 32 GB Dominator Platinum 6150 MHz 26-36-36-48, 56.6ns AIDA, 2050 FLCK, 160 ns TRFC
Video Card(s) RTX 3080 Ti Founders Edition, Conductonaut Extreme, 18 W/mK MinusPad Extreme, Corsair XG7 Waterblock
Storage Intel Optane DC P1600X 118 GB, Samsung 990 Pro 2 TB
Display(s) 32" 240 Hz 1440p Samsung G7, 31.5" 165 Hz 1440p LG NanoIPS Ultragear
Case Sliger SM570 CNC Aluminium 13-Litre, 3D printed feet, custom front panel with pump/res combo
Audio Device(s) Audeze Maxwell Ultraviolet, Razer Nommo Pro
Power Supply SF750 Plat, transparent full custom cables, Sentinel Pro 1500 Online Double Conversion UPS w/Noctua
Mouse Razer Viper Pro V2 Mercury White w/Tiger Ice Skates & Pulsar Supergrip tape
Keyboard Wooting 60HE+ module, TOFU Redux Burgundy w/brass weight, Prismcaps White & Jellykey, lubed/modded
Software Windows 10 IoT Enterprise LTSC 19053.3803
Benchmark Scores Legendary
I have it off due to manual timings, voltages and subtimings. No issue with long boot times.

If you don't manually set everything it uses the motherboard algorithm to train every time which is what takes a while. EXPO/XMP only holds basic voltages and main timings.

Simple solution is to set things manually, validate with stability testing, and avoid automatic shenanigans. Fast boot plus no instability.

Better performance too.

MCR breaks some tuning settings as mentioned which leaves performance on the table, often results in eventual instability, and uses mobo auto values for memory, so it's at best stable and slow and at worst unstable and slow.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2022
Messages
25 (0.04/day)
System Name My Gaming Rig
Processor Ryzen 9 7900x
Motherboard MSI B650m Project Zero
Cooling Lian-Li Galahad 360mm AIO White (+8 Lian-Li SL120 White Fans -> 11 in total)
Memory KingBank 64GB (2x32GB) DDR5 6400 CL32
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce RTX 4080 Gigabyte AERO OC
Storage 500GB + 240GB SATA SSD, 1TB (Windows) m.2 Nvme SSD + 2TB (Games) m.2 Nvme SSD
Display(s) Xiaomi MI 34" (34", 3440x1440p, 144Hz, VA), MSI Oculus NXG253R (24.5", 1920x1080p, 360Hz, Fast IPS)
Case CORSAIR 2500D Airflow (White)
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless (White)
Power Supply CoolerMaster V SFX 1100W Platinum (ATX 3.0, PCIe 5.0)
Mouse LogiTech G502 HERO SE
Keyboard Custom Anne Pro 2 60% Keyboard (Gateron Red Switches)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark 1080p EXTREME: 8323 3D Mark Time Spy Score: 26736 (Excellent)
You will want to go as much as you can beyond 2000 on FCLK as it will make a difference. How far you get only you can find out for yourself. 2167 is no issue for me at any VSOC but so far struggling a bit with 2200.

FCLK has a tricky relationship with VSOC, higher VSOC helps UCLK but hampers fabric stability. So if you can't boot x FCLK, it may not work at any VSOC you throw at it

Stabilize your 6400 UCLK/FCLK first before you worry about CL28. UCLK stability is distinct from but an important part of ram stability now.
already did, no issues for the moment, it booted first try. Currently 6400 cl32 2x32gb UCLK=MEMCLK, 2000 FCLK

OP, enabling MCR has been known for over a year & more now to quicken boot times on Zen 4.
Yeah yeah i know, but i also read it wasnt really stable in most cases just some months ago, but it seems is fixed for now. I just wanted to show people how much of a difference it can make
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,829 (0.33/day)
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G6
Processor 7700X \\ i7-8565U
Motherboard Asrock X670E PG Lightning
Cooling Noctua DH-15
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB Black 32GB 6000MHz CL36 \\ 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS RoG Strix 1070 Ti \\ Intel UHD Graphics 620
Storage 2x KC3000 2TB, Samsung 970 EVO 512GB \\ OEM 256GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP Z24i external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z533
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB PRO
Software Windows 11 \\ Windows 10
I somehow missed the MCR thing - it might explain random memory BSOD's I have received from time to time (though partially related to BIOS versions).
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
10,094 (5.15/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Holiday Season Budget Computer (HSBC)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7700X
Motherboard MSi PRO B650M-A WiFi
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x 16 GB Corsair Vengeance EXPO DDR5-6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 6500 XT 4 GB
Storage 2 TB Corsair MP600 GS, 2 TB Corsair MP600 R2, 4 + 8 TB Seagate Barracuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell S3422DWG, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Kolink Citadel Mesh black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333 2.1 speakers, AKG Y50 headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G413 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro
Several firm (like AsRock or MSI) use the MCR enabled by default.
Several other (like ASUS) use the MCR disabled by default.
My MSI board has MCR disabled by default.
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,492 (4.70/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
My boot time from shut down to start is around 9 seconds now.

I have fast boot turned off in BIOS and in power settings of windows 11. it was only slow for me the first boot or two. AsRock must know its stable if they enable it by default... I hope, lmao so far so good so yeah, not had any of the boot time issues others have had and I guess we now know why, in fact I think this board might be the record holder on speed, it is a new re-design mobo so maybe that's why (this mobo just came out in March of this year)

1715814281104.png
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2023
Messages
138 (0.50/day)
System Name Favourite toy(s)
Processor Ryzen 5 7600X lapped @ 200MHz PBO boost + 10X & Ryzen 7 7700 @ stock
Motherboard Asrock X670E Steel Legend / Gigabyte B650 Aorus Elite
Cooling Deep Cool AK620 / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill F5-5600J3036D16GX2-FX5 / Corsair Vengeance CMH32GX5M2B5600C36
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT factory overclocked / iGPU
Storage 1 + 2TB T-Force Cardea A440 pro / 2 x Kingston KC3000 1TB
Display(s) Samsung G5 Odyssey / Philips 278E9Q
Case MSI MPG Sekira 100R / Silverstone Redline mATX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1 + Audio Technica -AD500X / Onboard + Creative 2.1 soundbar
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 / Corsair RM750x V2
Mouse MSI Clutch GM20 Elite / CM Reaper
Keyboard Logitech G512 Carbon / MSI G30 Vigor
My boot time from shut down to start is around 9 seconds now.

I have fast boot turned off in BIOS and in power settings of windows 11. it was only slow for me the first boot or two. AsRock must know its stable if they enable it by default... I hope, lmao so far so good so yeah, not had any of the boot time issues others have had and I guess we now know why, in fact I think this board might be the record holder on speed, it is a new re-design mobo so maybe that's why (this mobo just came out in March of this year)

View attachment 347546
Asrock's range of steel legend boards for AM5 are the best for fast boot with MCR enabled. Your boot times to windows match mine. But agesa versions may play into this. I'm still on 2.00 bios.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
On latest agesa Asus is also very quick currently. MCR and fast startup enabled.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2024-05-16 181901.jpg
    Screenshot 2024-05-16 181901.jpg
    70.9 KB · Views: 34
Joined
Mar 13, 2021
Messages
410 (0.35/day)
Processor AMD 7600x
Motherboard Asrock x670e Steel Legend
Cooling Silver Arrow Extreme IBe Rev B with 2x 120 Gentle Typhoons
Memory 4x16Gb Patriot Viper Non RGB @ 6000 30-36-36-36-40
Video Card(s) XFX 6950XT MERC 319
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 1Tb NVME
Display(s) 3x Dell Ultrasharp U2414h
Case Coolermaster Stacker 832
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower PF3 850 watt
Mouse Logitech G502 (OG)
Keyboard Logitech G512
1715886743950.png


ASrock Steel Legend X670E running 4x16Gb DIMMs with custom timing
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2021
Messages
410 (0.35/day)
Processor AMD 7600x
Motherboard Asrock x670e Steel Legend
Cooling Silver Arrow Extreme IBe Rev B with 2x 120 Gentle Typhoons
Memory 4x16Gb Patriot Viper Non RGB @ 6000 30-36-36-36-40
Video Card(s) XFX 6950XT MERC 319
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 1Tb NVME
Display(s) 3x Dell Ultrasharp U2414h
Case Coolermaster Stacker 832
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower PF3 850 watt
Mouse Logitech G502 (OG)
Keyboard Logitech G512
Asus Prime X670-P WIFI board with UD5-6000 Teamgroup DDR5 Memory 16GBx2.
Missing the last Bios time


Win 11
Task Manager > Startup Apps > Top right hand corner
 
Top