• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD EPYC Genoa Processors to Feature Up to 12 TB of DDR5 Memory, Maximum Speeds of 5200 MT/s

AleksandarK

Staff member
Joined
Aug 19, 2017
Messages
1,498 (0.86/day)
Just yesterday, thanks to the Linux driver update, we found information stating that AMD's upcoming EPYC Genoa processor generation based on Zen 4 core IP will have a 12-channel memory controller. However, we didn't know how AMD engineered the memory controller of this processor generation and some of its maximum capabilities. However, there is an exciting discovery. According to the report from ComputerBase, with information exclusive to them, AMD will enable up to 12 TB of DDR5 memory spread across 12 memory channels. The processor supports DDR5-5200 memory, but when all 24 memory slots (two per channel) are populated, the DDR5 maximum speed drops to 4000 MT/s.

It is unclear why this is the case, and if any difficulties were designing the controller, so the maximum speed drops when every slot is used. One reassuring thing is that the bandwidth created by 12 memory channels should be sufficient to make up for the lost speed of DDR5 memory reduction.


View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
11,106 (1.84/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Probably on die space for termination since silicon is already at a premium for these chips.

But 12TB of RAM with the on die caches....
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
295 (0.16/day)
Processor i7-4790k 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97 Sniper.G1
Cooling Thermalright HR-02
Memory G.Skill 2400Mhz @ C10
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 580 Aorus
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6
Audio Device(s) SB Recon 3Di
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green HX 550w
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Office Keyboard
Software W10 build 17763
thats a big minecraft server if i ever seen one
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
666 (1.33/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
I don't know what to make of this but one part of the table matches that of Alder Lake surprisingly well, even if it's RDIMM against UDIMM:

1639164612937.png
1639164720160.png
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,994 (0.59/day)
System Name Primary | Secondary | Poweredge r410|Dell XPS
Processor i7 9700k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 |i5 5500U
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3|8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RX 6700xt|GTX 1070 |On-Board|On-Board|
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 50" 4k TV | 27" + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
VR HMD Samsung Odyssey+ | Oculus Quest 2
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
I would really hate if I had to limit myself to 8TB of ram.
 

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
1,844 (2.19/day)
Location
#$topHatingRussians
System Name ARF System
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-core/24-thread 70 MB L2&3 Cache AM4
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI AM4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 Corsair VENGEANCE LPX
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon
Storage XPG GAMMIX S11 Pro PCIe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 512 GB
Display(s) LG 24UD58-B 4K Ultra HD 3840x2160
Case Serioux MAKENNA Middle Tower ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1200
Power Supply Deepcool DQ750ST 750W Gold
Mouse AbconCore A660 Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wave
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64
And so what? :kookoo:

We all know that DDR5 modules are dual-channel limited to half the bandwidth of DDR4, so this "12-channel" MI is actually only 6-channel in reality..
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Messages
270 (0.19/day)
And so what? :kookoo:

We all know that DDR5 modules are dual-channel limited to half the bandwidth of DDR4, so this "12-channel" MI is actually only 6-channel in reality..
Genoa has 12 64-bit DDR5 "channels". With your nomenclature it's 24-channel (12x 32-bit x2).
As expected this is confusing, but it looks like everyone settled on calling the 64-bit (80-bit with ECC) DDR5 module a channel despite it being internally 2 independent 32- or 40-bit channels.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,209 (4.78/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
So 500GB sticks of Ram are a thing?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
1,522 (0.27/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage 960 EVO 500GB OS, 1TB SSD Steam & 2TB WD Blue SSD Storage
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Starts when push power button!!
When I see Genoa, only thing that comes to mind is salami, and maybe a sandwich.

With the DDR5 performance is like the new intel chips, I wonder if it's going to be detrimental to the IPC.................I guess time will tell.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,623 (0.63/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
Serious equipment.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,372 (1.55/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Holy crap. These Epycs are going to be some tech. If Skynet's uprising is going to start it will be with these chips for sure. I would like to have one of those and do some tests. Just to see how it runs things and how much different will it go against a Threadripper.
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,744 (1.08/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor Xeon 1680 v2
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 32 GBs
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB
Display(s) 2x 1080
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 21.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
I seriously want one. Linux ready too. Only 10k for a system you say? Still want one.....
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
6,261 (3.40/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
And so what? :kookoo:

We all know that DDR5 modules are dual-channel limited to half the bandwidth of DDR4, so this "12-channel" MI is actually only 6-channel in reality..
It is plenty clear from the materials provided here that they are not speaking of true 32-bit DDR5-channels, but the aggregate channels found on one DIMM, equivalent to previous DDR standards. "12 channels" here is 12x2x32, not 12x32.
 

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
1,844 (2.19/day)
Location
#$topHatingRussians
System Name ARF System
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-core/24-thread 70 MB L2&3 Cache AM4
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI AM4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 Corsair VENGEANCE LPX
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon
Storage XPG GAMMIX S11 Pro PCIe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 512 GB
Display(s) LG 24UD58-B 4K Ultra HD 3840x2160
Case Serioux MAKENNA Middle Tower ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1200
Power Supply Deepcool DQ750ST 750W Gold
Mouse AbconCore A660 Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wave
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64
1 memory module is 2x32-bit.
24 memory modules are 24x64-bit.

If 2 memory modules is 1 channel, then 1 channel is 4x32-bit.

So, for the memory module 1 channel is 32-bit.
While for the motherboard 1 channel is 128-bit.

Does make sense better now? :kookoo:
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
666 (1.33/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
1 memory module is 2x32-bit.
24 memory modules are 24x64-bit.

If 2 memory modules is 1 channel, then 1 channel is 4x32-bit.

So, for the memory module 1 channel is 32-bit.
While for the motherboard 1 channel is 128-bit.

Does make sense better now? :kookoo:
Intel's Ark says Alder Lake has two memory channels, which can only be interpreted as 2x64 bits.

The current most common understanding is that one channel is 64 bits, and one half of that is often called a "subchannel". Very quick googling reveals that Micron, Kingston and MSI call it a subchannel, while Rambus calls it a channel.

128-bits? Not in any case. Motherboards of course support two modules per channel but that doesn't make the channel 128 bits wide; the two modules share the same 64-bit data bus.

When I see Genoa, only thing that comes to mind is salami, and maybe a sandwich.

With the DDR5 performance is like the new intel chips, I wonder if it's going to be detrimental to the IPC.................I guess time will tell.
Had to dig it from the bottom of my brain ... there's a Genoa more closely linked to computers than a sandwich is: https://second.wiki/wiki/genoa_systems
 
Last edited:

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
1,844 (2.19/day)
Location
#$topHatingRussians
System Name ARF System
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-core/24-thread 70 MB L2&3 Cache AM4
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI AM4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 Corsair VENGEANCE LPX
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon
Storage XPG GAMMIX S11 Pro PCIe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 512 GB
Display(s) LG 24UD58-B 4K Ultra HD 3840x2160
Case Serioux MAKENNA Middle Tower ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1200
Power Supply Deepcool DQ750ST 750W Gold
Mouse AbconCore A660 Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wave
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
6,261 (3.40/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
View attachment 228491

New DDR5 SDRAM standard sees performance boost, dual-channel DIMM (techxplore.com)


The servers get 128-bit memory channel.
While the non-servers get 32-bit memory channel..
Still no. It's fascinating to be having the same discussion in two or three separate threads now. Anyhow:

Likely for clarity of communication, it seems that platform holders, motherboard makers and others are using the term "channel" for DDR5 platforms and motherboards to mean "equivalent to previous DDR channels", i.e. the two 32-bit channels you'll find on a DDR5 DIMM are treated as "one". So that if you read about an 8-channel setup from a previous generation and this one you're reading about the same aggregate bandwidth, and not half.

This is technically inaccurate due to DDR5 splitting up the previous 64-bit channels, but other than on a technical level, that simply doesn't matter, and sticking to the technically accurate terminology either presupposes a bunch of knowledge that few people have (even among people making server purchase decisions), or necessitates a clarification that said channels are half width (otherwise they get sued for misleading marketing). Thus the technically accurate terminology is avoided outside of the relatively few scenarios where it makes sense.

What you're saying about 128-bit channels is just mixing up 1/2/3/4DPC layouts with these aggregate 64-bit channels. You can still have nDPC with DDR5, and this ultimately isn't affected by the splitting of the bus interface. Two DIMMs in a daisy-chain or T-topology layout will still have their channel(s) in common, just like previously.
 

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
1,844 (2.19/day)
Location
#$topHatingRussians
System Name ARF System
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-core/24-thread 70 MB L2&3 Cache AM4
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI AM4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 Corsair VENGEANCE LPX
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon
Storage XPG GAMMIX S11 Pro PCIe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 512 GB
Display(s) LG 24UD58-B 4K Ultra HD 3840x2160
Case Serioux MAKENNA Middle Tower ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1200
Power Supply Deepcool DQ750ST 750W Gold
Mouse AbconCore A660 Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wave
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64
So, this means that the notebooks with single DDR5 memory slot populated WON'T be marketed as dual-channel and CPU-Z, for instance, won't report it as dual-channel?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
666 (1.33/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
So, this means that the notebooks with single DDR5 memory slot populated WON'T be marketed as dual-channel and CPU-Z, for instance, won't report it as dual-channel?
We don't know how notebooks will be marketed but we have motherboards' product pages. Asus, Gigabyte and MSI state that it's a dual channel memory architecture, and it isn't any different in boards with only two DDR5 slots like the Asus Z690 Apex. Boards with a single slot don't exist but if they did, the number of channels would be one half compared to existing boards.

To which CPU-Z disagrees.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
6,261 (3.40/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
So, this means that the notebooks with single DDR5 memory slot populated WON'T be marketed as dual-channel and CPU-Z, for instance, won't report it as dual-channel?
They shouldn't no, but of course there's no guarantee. I don't believe they will, though. 4x32-bit LPDDR4X laptops are marked as "dual channel" in Task Manager, and have always been so - likely MS (or Intel, or someone) has decided/agreed that this is far simpler and less confusing, and thus also less likely to render them liable in lawsuits and/or investigations for misleading marketing.
 
Top